We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely evening out with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of dock o' the bay

dock o' the bay
Ranked #42 of 832 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: dock o' the bay is a restaurant and bar with great food and service in a fun relaxed atmosphere. It's been open 13 years and in this time we've had so much fun and looked after so many lovely people. We have a huge amount of regular customers and these range from living just around the corner to in completely different towns, cities and even countries and we always welcome new visitors. TripAdvisor has been an incredible help to us over the past few years and long may it continue! Come and see us and see what you think...
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely evening out with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Having visited previously for a very good value Sunday lunch, we went again with two friends on a quiet evening last week.

I had mussels (traditional marinieres style) to start and received a generous portion, mussels cooked well, (plump and juicy) and seasoned just right! (I've had them elswhere when they have been overcooked and far too salty.)

Followed by a very nicely presented pork belly with melting tender meat and a perfect crackling.

The other 3 diners all enjoyed their dishes which included fish cakes, lamb shank, fish fillet, and two different yummy choc deserts.

We were served by Bridget who turned out to be the owner, and she was very welcoming and helpful.

The bill for 4 including drinks was about £70 as I recall, very good value.

The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The only thing I would change about Dock O the Bay is the great big shark mural!

Definitely will be returning.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BassChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    136
    38
    23
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I visited this restaurant based on the very positive reviews it has and was disappointed. We went for lunch and was surprised to find a full car park but only 3 tables taken when we got inside. The lunch menu is varied and the food ok but not sonething to shout about sadly. At best, it was a good Witherspoon type food but more expensive. The staff were friendly enough and the atmosphere inside okay but unfortunately lacking attention in the cleanliness stakes - dirty tables, menus, windows etc. I certainly won't be going back. Shame.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgeracer41, Owner at dock o' the bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
hi there,
i'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us. we are just a small family owned restaurant and care a lot about eveyone who walks in our door and the food they eat and the way they are treated...it means so much to us all.
our lunch menu has items on it that are quicker to cook as people are in more of a rush at lunchtimes but we still take the same care and the ingredients are all fresh and cooked to order in pans and the oven.
with regards to the car park...it drives us absolutely mad that the car park is full some days! out of the whole team of staff we have one car!! and we pay a lot of money so our customers can park there but the opticians next door fill it with staff and customers some times....i know exactly how you felt!
i don't know why the table was dirty it sounds very unlike our usual standard but the windows can get a daily battering from the huge winds that blow down the avenue and if it had been raining a lot as it was last week we end up cleaning the windows every day!
i'm glad the staff were friendly as they are a lovely team of people and i would be very sad if you had said the service wasn't up to our standard.
i hope you will come and try us again as the other reviews are very much what we aim to achieve with everyone,
thankyou for taking the time to write a review,
bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A real find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Visited on 22nd Feb. Nice to find the very convenient car park to the rear, so we'll forgive the mega pot holes in the drive. (Apparently awaiting the landlords attention).

Nice friendly staff creating a pleasant atmosphere. The consistently high Trip Advisor ratings are well deserved. We had three courses, all of which were well prepared using good ingredients and beautifully presented.

It was nice to find that the menu included dishes that didn't feature garlic. Not everybody likes it and some of us are allergic to it.

This was the first time we'd visited, it won't be the last!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
1 review
“Great place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We visited Dock o the Bay in Feb to celebrate my son's 21st who is at Uni in southampton. These guys have really nailed the concept of customer service. Arriving at 7.30 they hade made a great effort decorating the table and putting balloons up. We were given a great welcome, and started off the evening with a bottle of very reasonably priced champagne.
The menu is simple ( too many restaurants of this type try to create works of art rather than excellent meals) and the food is beautifully cooked and presented.
For a party of 8, we spent about thirty quid a head, which was a bargain considering we had three courses, beers and wine and champagne.
A special word for the all the staff, who are warm, welcoming and cheerful all evening. A great evening.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank trfc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food but limited atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We went there as neither of us could be bothered to cook, I was very hungry and it came up high on Trip Advisor. The food was brilliant although the portions were rather small. So we had to stop at Tesco Express on the way home to buy Cheesecake where we saw a homeless man stand on his dog.

By the way we got a 20% off voucher off of the website and there doesn't seem to be any reason you can't use this everytime you go. So do that.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frednboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed dock o' the bay also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to dock o' the bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing