We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in a nice setting!”
Review of The Cowherds

The Cowherds
Ranked #140 of 864 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Cowherds in Southampton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. Well behaved dogs are welcome in the tiled section of our pub. Choose from casual and formal dining Monday to Friday, same menu.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice setting!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We managed to sit at a table outside the front, which is rare because it's usually so busy! My partner ordered from the lunchtime value menu which was affordably priced. I decided to spend a little more and have a boar and chorizo burger, which was about £10.95, but SO lovely!! As it was a weekday, there wasn't much of a wait for food so that was another bonus. And this pub is situated right next to the common, so we went for a walk afterwards! I'd definitely recommend this if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    355
    219
    138
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An old pub”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rustic-looking old building, a little out of the town center, but still within walking distance and on a bus route if you are not a walker. Restaurant is under-staffed, food is average but plentiful. Toilets (when working) not kept very clean. A typical pub!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely country style pub”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were staying in a local hotel within walking distance. Our table was pre booked which I would advise as it was busy. The service was good and the meal fairly good. The pub itself is a lovely old building with a good atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Con42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Such a shame. This pub used to have lovely food with great service. Now? The food is unrecognisable compared to a few years ago. If you are accustomed to boring pub meals this may be ok but this pub is in such a good location they are missing a trick. Strangely easy to get a last minute table on a Saturday night, filthy cutlery and clearly a chef with very little talent if any. Also the toilets smell awfully bad. The only positive was a very helpful waitress. A new chef and a manager who cares about the place and it could be back to its former glory.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, the food and service is poor”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went for a meal with hubby even though I had had poor experiences before. The coffee was Luke warm, had to take back. Then I had to buy a separate shot of coffee because mine was so weak. The food has very little effort put into it. Reheated get it out quick sought of food. Seriously you will have a much more pleasant value for money meal if you go to the Hawthorns cafe located to the left of the cowherds, just over the grass. You have to have cash though as they do not take cards. I much prefer the hawthorns.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houseoftherisingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cowherds also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cowherds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing