We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, but nice atmosphere”
Review of The Cowherds

The Cowherds
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cowherds is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Cowherds in Southampton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. Well behaved dogs are welcome in the tiled section of our pub. Choose from casual and formal dining Monday to Friday, same menu.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“OK food, but nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Always difficult to find a decent pub lunch in Southampton - there seems to be nothing in between a full restaurant and the horrible food court at West Quay, so it is worth getting out of the city and going up the Avenue. The Cowherds is a nice pub, and our food was tasty - we had roast beef sandwich, but not very big. I don't had a large appetite luckily, but I can imagine some people would be disappointed. We had to wait a while after its delivery to see if we were being offered sauces - it became obvious that we weren't, so had to ask. A bit more staff training needed, as the staff weren't the most helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    349
    216
    137
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hit and miss over three visits in July 2014”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

First visit (early evening) with four of us was really good, even though one of the group had to wait a short while longer for their main course. The waitress was very friendly and very helpful which helped. Second visit (late afternoon) with just two of us was a let-down all-round. However, the third visit (late afternoon again with just two people) was a better experience, but still not up to early evening scratch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BedfordMeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great New surroundings same poor customer service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am disappointed again with the Cowherds, food has improved, surroundings are great but the tables were not clean, nor were the ladies toilets. Along time to get served even though fairly quiet, no attention to detail as far as the customers are concerned.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harp K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire england
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“FAMILY MEAL ON A WEEKEND BREAK”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we initially stumbled on this as the hotel we were staying at didn't provide an evening meal and having the family dog with us we needed somewhere to eat outside luckily it was a warm weekend
The pub was packed as we had expected due to the nice weather and its fabulous location next the huge common but we were served pretty quickly
the food is a tad overpriced for what you get but we had delicious meals and therefore cannot complain , we even went back for lunch the next day
certainly would recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliefoxglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staff training is not a high priority”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

3 of us ate here on a Friday evening. It was quite busy, but they seemed well staffed. When we were sat at our table, it hadn't been wiped properly from the guests before. Not a good start.

Menus were dumped on our table, and drinks order was taken. The waitress had a vague idea what ales were on draft, but couldn't tell us anything about them - this is basic knowledge I think, especially when there are only 2 on offer.

15 mins later our waitress comes back to take our food order - but still no sign of our drinks.

When the food arrives, one of our party doesn't have any cutlery or napkin, we also wanted to order more drinks, and we had previously asked for water, no sign of that either.

We'd also asked for a replacement veg on one of our meals, that had been ignored.

No one is really around to help, and one of us still has no cutlery, and we haven't been offered sauces - essential with what we'd ordered!

We ask a different waitress for sauces, but no sooner had the word 'sauce' left our mouths, she snapped back very rudely at us that a different waitress would bring them over.

No such luck, we kept asking, and they finally arrived, shortly after we finally had more cutlery too.

Next job was getting our drinks. This again took more time than needed, but we eventually got them. The water probably arrived half an hour after we asked for it initially.

Once finished, the plates took ages to clear. Nothing worse than sitting with dirty plates in front of you for 15mins+.

All in all, the service is pants - no idea what they're doing. As for the rudeness of one of the other waitresses, it's fair to say she can't be earning many tips with an attitude like that!!

Felt like we'd done half the work that evening.

Won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pubgoer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cowherds also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cowherds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing