We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service; food is reasonable value”

The Empress of Blandings
Reserve with OpenTable
The Empress of Blandings is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 847 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service; food is reasonable value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We forgot Paultons was near here and booked an early dinner on a Bank Holiday. It was heaving with kids and the staff were struggling. However, we had several apologies and a round of drinks to help along the wait for the food. The meals were all fine and the staff did a great job in difficult circumstances. Wish they did real coffee but otherwise all OK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCDTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    170
    70
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed a great lunch here. The menu is varied and the staff are very friendly. Situated on the edge of the forest this is great for a lunch and then a stroll.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I visited here a few months ago and the food was ok but last night I was blown away by how nice my meal was. The staff were very friendly and the quality of food was really high.

I had Bubble and squeak for starters and the fish shop platter and it was fantastic.

We will visit again soon.

Ps. Had no change so apologies for the lack of tip!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank theboycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great pub restaurant good food halls Woodhouse, serve some great bitters would definitely recommend to friends and family

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benjamin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was a little concerned that The Empress of Blandings might have been a bit "posh" for my husband and I but I shouldn't have been concerned. The staff were lovely and friendly (possibly a little to attentive, we were asked 4 times if our mail meals were ok!) The food was hot and very tasty and their was plenty of it! My husband had the Harrisa Chicken and I had the gammon both of which were excellent. Desert was good too! When we stopped it was still quite early on Sunday evening so reasonably quiet but we did wait quite a while for our mains but that wasn't a problem for us as we had been travelling for quite sometime and it was nice to relax with a drink. We will definitely stop again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Empress of Blandings also viewed

 
Cadnam, New Forest
 

Been to The Empress of Blandings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing