We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best!”
Review of Kam's Palace

Kam's Palace
Ranked #263 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$27 - US$36
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the best!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely building & nice looking restaurant.....that is the only good things going for this place. Good choice of food on offer, but very expensive & not the best tasting. Staff appear rude & tend to hurry you. Doesn't appear to be very clean & has hygiene issues!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiebear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    75
    52
    42
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic shellfish”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have been going to Kams for about 3 times a month for a approx 5 Years.
I think I have had every meal on the menu, even most of the alterntive menu reserverd for Chinese customers. We have always had good food and Tom (head waiter) makes our evening fun.
We have been sampling new dishes from the new chef over the last few weeks.
Last Saterday the new menu was in operation, we tried all new dishes and we absolutely blown away with the flavours and presentation, Tom recommend lobster in dry fried black been, garlic and onion. It was so moorish we ate every little bit, even sucking the crispy coating on the shell, best food always taster using your hands.
Looking forward to new dishes, soon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just like Hong Kong”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have been coming here since 1997 (after 30 years spent working in Hong Kong) and we have never had a bad meal. We only ever have dim sum and various noodles etc and therefore cannot comment on the various set meals. We have often been here with friends and family and have even arranged visits by large groups of members of a car club that we belong to. The consensus of opinion has always been that the food is very good a great value for money.
We have also always found the staff to be helpful,friendly and the service to be very good, even in busy times. One of the more longer serving waiters, Tom, was recently promoted to the position of manager and his cheerful, hardworking attitude has done much to ensure that a meal there is a pleasant and enjoyable experience.
Having a dedicated experienced "dim sum" cook ensures that there are always numerous Chinese customers enjoying the food - particularly on Sunday lunchtimes when it is very busy. I believe this confirms the authenticity of the food.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for good dim sum.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hygiene!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have been going to Kam's since it first opened and ate there a couple of weeks ago. Whilst the food was good, the metal stream baskets the dim sum were served in were just caked in dirt around the edge on the inside. None of the dim sum were touching the sides so to avoid any hassle I kind of just tried to ignore it and put it out my mind.
Having gone home and checked online for their scores on the doors hygiene rating I could see that they had a rating of ZERO (which is seriously bad!). Explains why they never shown it on the door. It has now since been updated to a rating of 3 (since Feb 2014) which is slightly better but far from good.
Looks like they have been prosecuted a couple of times for VERY poor hygiene and until they reach a rating of 5 i doubt i would ever go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is awful”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Have been going here for 10 years service has got worse even Hoover round you while you are eating. Just so rude. No more got more choice now at whiteley

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kam's Palace also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kam's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing