We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Sunday roast in Southampton”
Review of Ceno

Ceno
Ranked #18 of 887 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: CENO is a stylish and contemporary restaurant where the food comes first. Our aim is simple - to create innovative and delicious dishes that capture the imagination and tastebuds alike. To view our menus please visit our website.
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Consistently very good food, lunch or Sunday roast always exceptional quality, great service, it's not the cheapest food in Southampton but you don't mind paying for a Sunday roast that is probably the best I've eaten out.

1  Thank SouthamptonAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Ceno, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SouthamptonAlex

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely review!

I've mentioned in previous responses how important consistency is to us, so your comments regarding the food and service were very much appreciated!

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the restaurant again soon.

Thanks again!

Warm regards

Jamie Gahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 356 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Have visited several times and every time the food is wonderful.

Try the Mongolian lamb.

The steak I have had a few times and it was not great.

The dessert sampler is a must. 6 small samples of the desserts on offer! I would go just for this!

Sometimes the service is not the best but not always!

Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Ceno, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Becky A

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review, it was great to read that you've always enjoyed the food when dining with us!

I was, however, sorry to read that our Rib Eye Steak seemed to be inconsistent. Our Head Chef does invest a great deal of time in the sourcing of our ingredients, and consistently reviews the quality of produce to ensure our dishes are always of the highest quality, and therefore guest feedback will always be the most important tool to allow us to achieve this.

Thanks again, and I hope to be able to welcome you to the restaurant again soon.

Warm regards

Jamie Gahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a fantastic lunch today with the family today! The food was amazing, great atmosphere, staff were very attentive and I would highly recommend a visit! Vikki Bailey & Dave Price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Ceno, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Vikki and Dave

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review, you were all an absolute pleasure to have and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your lunch with us!

I hope to be able to welcome you to the restaurant again soon!

Warm regards

Jamie Gahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The food in here is lovely. Would be nice if there was more choice for vegetarians. Portion sizes sometimes on the small side. Nice decor inside and lovely to sit outside on a sunny day. Staff always very friendly and welcoming!

Thank Tine1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Ceno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Tine1980

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was great to read your comments regarding the food and staff, and with the sun now starting to make a regular appearance you can hopefully make more use of our outside terrace!

With a Spring/Summer menu we do tend to focus on offering a lighter style of dishes, however we are consistently reviewing our food and drink offering in order to ensure we are providing guests with the best experience we can, and as such, feedback such as this is vital.

Thank you again for posting your review (our front of house team were very grateful for your comments), and I hope to be able to welcome you to the restaurant again soon!

Warm regards

Jamie Gahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great service, nice atmosphere and a fantastic menu choice for all three courses - some interesting dishes and absolutely everything was delicious! What a treat! Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joiobywyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Ceno, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear joiobywyd

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review!

Food, service and atmosphere are 3 elements of a restaurant experience that we have always believed are key to a guests enjoyment, so it was a great testament to the team here that these were noted in your review!

Our Head Chef and kitchen brigade were all delighted with the positive feedback regarding the menu choices and quality, and have all asked me to pass on their thanks!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon.

Warm regards

Jamie Gahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceno also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Ceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing