We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it claims”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Star Tavern
Ranked #6 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was our second stay at White Star - 'Titanic' last time and 'Majestic' this time. Rooms are spacious for an old building and extremely comfortable with all the amenities you might expect. It is located near the old centre of Southampton with many restaurants and pubs nearby (including the White Star itself) so expect a little street noise - if you want silent surroundings stay in a country hotel!! Very convenient for the shopping centres and the docks if you are going on a cruise. Dinner and Breakfast were exceptionally good. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Southampton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Love the White Star for food and accommodation. Had a good stay here, nice superior room with great shower! Not great quality sleep though, not the hotel's fault but it is on a busy bar street meaning noise late into the night, and they're doing work on the road, meaning the nise started again early in the morning!

Having said that this is always my favourite place to stay in Southampton. Breakfast really makes it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Was travelling solo. Had a meal here and it was actually quite tasty. Lamb was cooked to perfection.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank WorldOfOrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you very much for posting this review on Trip Advisor.
I am very pleased that you found the Lamb to be tasty and cooked to perfection.
I will be sure to pass on your comments onto Stewart Hellsten our Head Chef. Thank you very much once again, I very much hope that we will welcoming you back to The White Star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We wanted to stay in a small inn with some character and atmosphere before leaving on the QM2 for a trans-Atlantic crossing, and we were not disappointed. The WST is a charming inn with about a dozen rooms on 3 floors above their own lovely pub and restaurant. It's located on Oxford St. just a few blocks from the waterfront, and is within walking distance of the ferry terminal (to the Isle of Wight), the Sea City Museum (great Titanic memorabilia), and the Bargate shopping area. The Oxford St. area has lots of restaurants, including a fantastic Indian restaurant (Rasraj), a wine bar (Simon's) and a brasserie (Oxford Brasserie). It's just across the street from the famous Grapes Pub, where a couple of crew from the Titantic drank too long and missed the ship's sailing. The WST's GM is a great guy named Marc Wilson, and he did everything he could to make our 4-night stay a wonderful experience. We dined three times in their restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner), and found the food excellent and a good value. The Inn's decor decor is very nice, the beds are comfortable and they have free wi-fi (which works better in some rooms that others, but you can always go to the lounge and use it there). There are, however, a few small negatives: our rooms had no air conditioning (but did have a table fan); Oxford St. can be very busy and loud late at night (especially on weekends); and there is no elevator (but staff will gladly carry your luggage up and down for you). So try to get a room that is not facing onto to Oxford St,, and that is on the 2nd or 3rd fl -- that way you can open your windows without hearing too much street noise. But overall, this is a great little place to stay and we would certainly return for another stay.

Room Tip: It's worth the price to get a larger room, preferably on a higher floor. Try to get a south faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commodoredavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night, before departing on a transatlantic cruise on Cunard's Queen Mary 2. We chose the White Star Tavern based on location, as well as photos and menus on their website. We were not disappointed.

The Tavern is on Oxford Street, an up and coming area near the waterfront. We went out an walked around a little, but mostly just enjoyed the Tavern. We had a wonderful, leisurely pub lunch here, and also enjoyed a truly lovely dinner. My husband had a perfect venison, and I had a very satifying, upscale beef and ale pie.

Check-in for accommodations is on the second floor. A concierge checks you in and helps carry luggage to your room. Our room was furnished in a handsome, contemporary design. The bathroom was new and very nicely appointed.

In the morning, we were a short cab ride away from the pier and the QM2. The concierge made the reservation for us and notified us when the car was waiting. It all was very smooth.

We were very pleased with our selection, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunawayBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you so much for posting this review on the Trip Advisor web site.
Like so many of our recent reviews, it is pleasing to read that you found The White Star to be a perfect venue, prior to boarding the Queen Mary 2.
Thank you once again for spending time to pass on your thoughts and we hope to see you again in the near future for your next visit to The White Star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked one of the Upper Deck rooms at the White Star Tavern before joining our cruise. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.30 so we left our bags & headed out for a wander round the town.
We parked in the large public car park a few minutes away although there were some spaces available on Oxford Street.
We didn't eat in the hotel but had good pre & post-dinner drinks.
The bed was comfortable but the room was rather noisy particularly with the 3 Queens announcing their arrival into Southampton and the fire-alarm going off at 6.30am. We got to the Assembly point but there was no-one else outside & no sign of any hotel staff. It wasn't mentioned in the morning until I asked when checking out - apparently someone had tried to disconnect the smoke alarm in their room triggering the alarms.
Breakfast was busy, it seemed popular with non-residents and the staff seemed rather stretched. A light-bulb had broken in one sitting area but the broken glass was left on the floor & for some time after I'd mentioned it, people were still being told to sit anywhere. The Eggs Benedict was very good.

Whilst we were in the queue to check in for our cruise, I had a phone call from the White Star, I'd left behind a small bag containing some jewellery which they posted to my home address, it arrived home before we did.

Room Tip: Both Upper Deck rooms are on the front of the hotel - take ear-plugs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjaunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for passing on your constructive feedback, following your one night stay at The White Star, prior to your cruise departure from Southampton.
Having read your comments regarding the fire evacuation, I have ensured that our procedures have been evaluated, so to ensure that our guests are met at the Assembly point, as should have been the case on this occassion.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and that your small bag was returned to you in the correct manner.
I feel that despite the fire evacuation, your stay was positive and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My partner and I were invited to a surprise birthday party of a dear friend who originated from Southampton so we needed accommodation. This was one of two places suggested to us and it was a great choice. Perfectly central. Meter parking outside or long stay a short distance. Comfortable room with a very comfortable bed. Downside...it is city centre so friday/weekend nights are a little noisy but what would you expect? We had been partying so this wasn't an issue. All staff without exception were friendly and attentive which is not found in larger chain hotels. Finally...If you like a full English breakfast....Awesome!! (And that coming from a Yorkshireman is a compliment!!!) Well done and thanks to the hotel staff for a relaxing short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

I am so pleased that your visit to The White Star for the suprise birthday party of your friend was memorable for so many reasons.
You commented on the quality of the Full English Breakfast, being so good, we will be sure as to take this as a compliment, especially as I have personally had many excellent breakfasts in Yorkshire myself !
We will be most happy to welcome you back to The White Star on your next visit to the South Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,914 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#6 of 25 in Southampton
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Star Tavern

Address: 28 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £93 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Star Tavern 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Star Tavern is an award-winning pub, restaurant and hotel in Southampton, offering a true taste of Hampshire hospitality. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, it’s held two AA rosettes since 2010 - the only Southampton restaurant to do so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The White Star Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Star Tavern Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing