We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class your Hotel as Boutique and you have to excel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Star Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Star Tavern
Ranked #9 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Class your Hotel as Boutique and you have to excel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I booked the White Star Tavern for a one night stay on business. I try to use small independent companies wherever possible and this hotel is a lovely and comfortable stay. The bed and pillows were just right for a good nights sleep and room was decorated in muted colours with a modern bathroom suite and walk in shower. All in all a pleasant hotel and I would not detract from that.

However if you market yourself as boutique and your adjoining pub as Gastro you set a certain expectation of excellence which is my opinion wasn't quite there. Whilst pleasant the room was small, the complimentary soap, shampoo and body wash was of a non descript variety and the in house hairdryer was the small white push button affair you get in motorway travel hotels which is about as much use as a gnat fart if you are woman with long hair.

My room (no.10) looked over the flat roof of the kitchens below with the added noise of the commercial plant on the roof merrily humming away, and at about 10.30pm I was startled whilst drifting off by the emptying of bottles from the bar below into the recycling bin. Which is fair enough...you are over a pub after all. The rooms decor was tired with a hairline crack in the bathroom tiles floor, scuffs on the paintwork, sealant in the bathroom coming away, nothing gross but it does need a spruce.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and breakfast in the bar was lovely. Fresh filter coffee, grapefruit juice and an omelette, quite expensive and if I was to be critical my omelette was slightly overcooked, but obviously quality ingredients and none of the homogenised rubbish you get in chain hotels.

All in all good but not excellent, must try harder to be classed as Boutique and find that certain 'je ne sais quoi'.

Room Tip: Don't have room 10 if you want a view of something other than the back of a pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afletcher30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    122
    48
    23
    6
See reviews for
39
184
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the white star for 2 nights both of which were great.
The rooms are modern and spacious with lovely bathrooms.
The manger Mark was very good and made sure we were well looked after every morning at breakfast, which really did make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an early birthday weekend in Southampton with a very good friend. Our room was spacious and bright with a plush bed and lovely en-suite bathroom, and, with the weather, we were very grateful for the fan in the room too! We also made use of the quiet roof-deck for a little light reading in the early-evening sunshine. The staff were all friendly and accomodating, doing their best to make our stay a pleasant one - which it really was. The food was delicious and, when I made a small request for a fruit-salad 'to go' on Sunday morning we ended up with a tasty and refreshing snack to nibble as we lounged on the grass in the close-by Queen's Park. All in all it was a beautifully memorable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The White Star exhibits quite a range: from a lovely, new, large bathroom with my room (the Whirlwind / 12), a fine room, to tired stairs in the maze of corridors and doors from the ground floor. A large group of us ate there as well: the ambiance is encouraging but somehow the food is about OK and the service needs some work. Breakfast took an age to arrive - and stating that 'we cook everything from fresh so it may take some time' is not really OK when all you've ordered is toast and berries/yoghurt....

The staff try hard and the bedrooms are good; with just a touch more on the service side, this place would live up to its very welcoming ambiance

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-family-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our party of three took two rooms, a Middle Deck and Lower Deck, for a one night stay prior to a cruise. Both rooms were lovely, updated and clean. The staff at the bar assisted us immediately when we arrived from Heathrow, and within minutes we were checked in at the upstairs desk by the manager. He seemed to always be at the desk, both that day and the next morning, when we had questions, and was very courteous and helpful. We were on the top floor, and heard very little noise from the pub, even though it was a Friday night. The tea kettle, assortment of teas, and biscuits was much appreciated at 2AM, when I found myself wide awake (the bed was very comfortable, it was only jet lag following a 10 hour overnight flight). The free WiFi was strong, with enough bandwidth in my room to Skype with family back home.

The full English breakfast the next morning was the best I've ever had. It was part of our "stay and cruise" rate, and added even more value to our stay. I'm very happy I didn't opt for one of the large American style chain hotels by the docks - the White Star made our short stay in Southampton memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txmats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We needed a hotel in Southampton for an overnight trip to meet up with friends coming in on the Queen Mary 2 and picked this as a likely spot. It turned out to be an excellent choice, very friendly, comfortable rooms and a first rate restaurant. (plus there are lots of other eating options nearby) It's extremely convenient for the Gate 4 where the cruise ships dock. Car parking is OK with on-street parking close to the hotel - two hour limit but unlimited / free between 18:00 and 08:00. Don't tempt fate by overstaying your parking space though - we saw a parking warden busily ticketing at 5:00pm on a Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very smart designer hotel, clean comfortable excellent standard throughout and tea and coffee making facilities to die for with individual cafetiere and ground coffee ! Very comfortable bed and excellent shower in stylish bathroom. Staff very helpful and accommodating and food to die for best breakfast have had in a hotel for a very long time thoroughly recommend the drop scones and maple syrup and bacon! Only downside is noise from rooms above with squeaky floors etc and water flow but is to be expected in a building of this age and design which is as it would have originally been, and not too disturbing, overall a very pleasant stay and a recommended city centre location.

Room Tip: All nice but if you want to avoid hearing others as for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your posted review on the Trip Advisor website.
It was good to read that your overall experience matched expectations and that you are happy to recommend The White Star both for location and facilities.

We very much forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Star Tavern

Property: The White Star Tavern
Address: 28 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Star Tavern 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Star offers a unique mix in the city centre of Southampton, with an award winning restaurant and rooms and accommodation. Our boutique style rooms have been awarded 5 stars and our restaurant boasts 2 AA Rosettes for food and dining, plus our vibrant and animated bar offers the very best drinks and cocktails. The relaxed and informal ethos sits well amongst the cosmopolitan and colourful Oxford Street location. Food is cooked with care and skill, using fresh locally sourced ingredients to produce classic modern British dishes. Diners can choose to eat in the contemporary restaurant or spacious bar area, or even alfresco in good weather. Style and quality extend upstairs to each of the 13 individually styled luxury guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The White Star Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Star Tavern Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing