We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Star Tavern
Ranked #8 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The bedrooms were nicely appointed and comfortable but it was very hot and the room had only a floor mounted fan, no air-conditioning. The window catches were broken so it was difficult to keep the windows open to let in fresh air. Supper and breakfast are both very good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jersey_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    125
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
40
187
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at the Bar and were taken upstairs to the main reception area. The stairway is very narrow and not very welcoming and if you were staying for longer than the weekend you would be hard pushed to get your suitcase up the stairs.
I had been called at 10.00am on the day of my arrival to tell me the superior room I had booked was not available and that I would have to be downsized - didn’t really have much option in the circumstances!
The room was very clean but also very small. The gentleman told us there was complimentary fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge but everything else was chargeable - no problem, pretty standard. There was no fridge in the room, so consequently no fresh milk! We could not open the drawer in the wardrobe properly because the wardrobe door could not open up because the bedside cabinet was too deep. The dressing table / drawers where the TV was sited was so narrow there was just no room to put anything , it might be an idea to fix the TV to the wall to free up some space. There was a tea tray in the wardrobe but why were there only 2 fruit teas and 2 earl grey tea bags that is so mean!?
The bathroom was a fair size with a good size walk in shower. Toiletries were standard, towels were fluffy and I love the fact that there were tissues and face flannels. Just a personal thing! There was a box on the wall for sanitary bags but no bags in it!
At 2.30am on the Saturday morning we were woken by someone opening our bedroom door - very unnerving as you can imagine. There are two points to be raised from this, the first being that more tight control needs to be in place over the booking information as it was actually the duty manager using a room to sleep in but no-one had moved us from the room we couldn’t have and also there are no locks on the bedroom doors so that intruders cannot gain access. It was very scary!!
I find it interesting to note that not many seemed fit to mention on Trip Advisor that there was a lot of noise from the bar at weekends, the music stops at midnight but the noise carries on until 1-2pm. In the winter it probably is not a problem but the room was so warm that we needed the window open just to be able to sleep in comfort which of course meant that we had a late night but not out of choice!
We had breakfast included as part of our package but it was not made clear to us what we could or couldn’t have from the menu.
To sum up - the hotel was in the right location but it just wasn't the right place for us. They are trading on being boutique and modern which they have succeeded in but at a cost I think to the more experienced traveller.
Would I stay here again - no but not because it was bad but just because it didn’t have any factor that would want me want to return.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor away from the bnoise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roleb5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Dined here on several occasions, visited recently for the launch of the Autumn menu and as always, food was fantastic. I even feel its continuing to step up each time. The meat on all our meals was cooked to perfection, i personally had the very generous portion of pork belly, and the meat fell apart nicely. Also had chorizo sausage rolls and devilled whitebait from the tapas menu, which were both delicious. Not one plate went back with anything on it! Also have a great variety of drinks available, i opted for a mojito instead of a pudding, and that was also flawless. Taken out a loyalty card as i feel i need to visit more regularly. The difference for paying an extra £5 to upgrade from pub food to something of this calibre is a no brainer. There are many things i have tried for the first time at the White Star, including the whitebait, but i feel confident whatever i order is going to taste brilliant. Might jump in at the deep end next time and go for something completely new!
I've never stayed here for the hotel kind of things, as i live local to southampton, but if the quality and service is anywhere near to the standard of the bar and restaurant, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay there but met a group of friends for lunch. We walked from the Cunard cruise ship terminal in about 15 minutes.
The room is upscale country chic. Very nice. The service and food were excellent. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

A table for 20 and what a great service. I was nervous they could manage this size of party and also offer their full menu. I should not have, it was impeccably managed and the food and service was without fault. Thanks for making this such a memorable occasion. BOOK IT!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked for 8 people for a family Sunday lunch as we couldnt get into their Otterbourne pub and was surprised to find the restaurant tables relatively empty. Initially all good, service attentive, first course delivered, twice asked how meal was but then.... Table was left unleared for too long after the first course, I had to request the dessert menu, I also had to request a drinks refresh - which didnt turn up till after we had finished the meal. When I raised this with the deliverer, she just blanked me. In all great food but poor customer service for the second half for reasons i didnt understand or have explained to me. Would be reticent about going back to be honest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaahh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was a lovely hotel, staff were very friendly! I wouldn't say the bedroom was 5* but was clean and modern. We stayed on a Saturday night so was very noisy and we were directly above the bar, but as we were a young couple this didn't bother us. We had breakfast which was made to our request and was delicious! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Star Tavern

Property: The White Star Tavern
Address: 28 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Star Tavern 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Star offers a unique mix in the city centre of Southampton, with an award winning restaurant and rooms and accommodation. Our boutique style rooms have been awarded 5 stars and our restaurant boasts 2 AA Rosettes for food and dining, plus our vibrant and animated bar offers the very best drinks and cocktails. The relaxed and informal ethos sits well amongst the cosmopolitan and colourful Oxford Street location. Food is cooked with care and skill, using fresh locally sourced ingredients to produce classic modern British dishes. Diners can choose to eat in the contemporary restaurant or spacious bar area, or even alfresco in good weather. Style and quality extend upstairs to each of the 13 individually styled luxury guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The White Star Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Star Tavern Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing