We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Star Tavern
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$75
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
229
149
66
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
149
66
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetdinner downstairslively barnarrow stairsstreet noisepub with roomsboutique hotelrestaurants and barsno elevatorfresh milkmini barcomfy bedocean villagetop floorlarge roomqueen maryno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Being a "tavern" I assumed it would be very basic but the quality of the rooms was high. Also, being Christmas week and with a large noisy gastro pub below I expected it to be noisy when trying to sleep but I had no problems. The room was nice and modern and if you want to be near Oxford St area it is a good location. Service was friendly. Quite expensive though for a tavern style hotel, maybe it was just the time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIDAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your very positive review of The White Star, Southampton.

I was delighted to read that you felt the service to be friendly and that your stay exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we will see you soon, for a memorable return to us on the South Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Just had an amazing dining experience! Thoroughly enjoyed a very meaty duck spring roll followed by the chestnut crusted cod loin with a side of watercress and spiced nuts! Wow- wish I lived nearer! Five star food at realistic prices!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review following your visit to the restaurant at The White Star.

Your headline certainly attracted my attention, we do receive some very good feedback on both the Duck Spring Roll and Chestnut Crusted Cod Loin and I am pleased that you found this the case.

Many Thanks' again for spending the time in sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We were in Southampton for the boat show and struggled to get in anywhere on the Friday night. After several calls we got a late table here.
It was packed so expectations were not that high.

The selection on the menu was good and there were a few things no longer available. We both had different starters which were very good and both had the plaice as a main course - absolutely delicious - very fresh!!

All in all we were very happy with the evening - good atmosphere and good value.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Charming little place over a pub/restaurant in Southampton. We originally found the place online as we needed a place to stay the night before joining a cruise. On arrival the service was impeccable. We had been warned by their web site that they have no lift, which worried us as we knew we would have lots of luggage for our cruise. Or fears were assuaged though, as they arranged to bring the luggage upstairs for you (and bring it down on departure).

The rooms are comfortable and for the price range are what you would expect. Very clean throughout and has all the facilities you expect.

On our arrival back to Southampton, we had booked to stay a night before leaving the next day. The cruise ship kicks you out early, so we arrived at the a White Star early in the morning. I know this is not always possible, but they went out of their way to try to get us into our room early, which they managed to do.

We also ate here for breakfast both before and after our cruise and were very pleased with the quality of the food on both occasions. We had dinner during one of our stays and were very, very pleased with the food and reasonable prices.

Will recommend them to friends or anyone wanting a nice little place to stay in Southampton. We plan to stay again for our cruise next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatleslady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The bedrooms were nicely appointed and comfortable but it was very hot and the room had only a floor mounted fan, no air-conditioning. The window catches were broken so it was difficult to keep the windows open to let in fresh air. Supper and breakfast are both very good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jersey_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews