We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would always choose the WHITE STAR in Southampton.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Star Tavern
Ranked #6 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I found this hotel after reading a review by hotel guru Fiona Duncan of the Sunday Telegraph. She had stayed here and also at the De Vere harbour in Southampton which got a scathing review. So my choice of an hotel in Southampton was made easy by reading that.All the previous GOOD reviews are more or less correct .The complaining guests who have petty matters to complain about like hitting heads on shelves, uncomfortable beds, sour milk in fridge, no water in fridge, keys don't work etc should NOT stay here-they would be more comfortable at Jury's or the de Vere! (what horrible places). This place is down to earth personal and a beautifully appointed small hotel in a happening area. Rooms are immaculate- no lies on their web site and the price reflects the high standard of the room. The only critiscism I have is that I didn't see any Do Not Disturb signs for the room door and also on the weekends breakfast isn't served until 9 am ( we had to leave on Saturday morning at 8.30 am without the pleasure of a sumptuous breakfast we had had the day before and which we were looking forward to.) We had dinner in the large restaurant downstairs and the food was tasty and the service excellent. In fact all the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite, courteous and helpful. We stayed here in January so am not too sure about the noise during the summer months when life moves out on to the streets. And with no air conditioning in the summer it may be hot, sticky and noisy when the windows are open. But winter-no trouble-rooms almost too warm and the window was difficult to keep open for fresh air.
I will definitely stay there again if I am in Southampton

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank condortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed here on a Saturday night last weekend. Room 12. Managed to park just outside on a pay and display. A trendy pub with rooms above. It's in a good part of Southampton with lots of restaurants and cafes in the same road. Our room was very nice and staff were helpful. This is a good venue to stay if you are in Southampton. Nicer places to stay for a special weekend away. Breakfast in the bar in the morning. Recommend the eggs benedict.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The hotel was as the other reviews had said. It was very comfortable and apparantly had been upgraded the day before to a 5* and 2 Rosettes for the food.
Could not fault the staff on when we arrived and the room was clean and just like the pictures. However although my husband is in the industry and told the manager the room was hot due to the fridge burning out and being faulty (causing the milk to be off and contents warm) we were informed that we must have shut the wardrobe door to cause it! The bar in the evening was busy and 'happening' but it put us off dining there as that was not the kind of restaurant atmosphere we enjoy (within the pub). The Oxford down the street was excellent, to be recommended. The breakfast was Ok but not worth the expense, the room are noisy but it its to be expected as none are double glazed and the Street was heaving with lots of other good restaurants and bars down there.
I've come to the conclusion that it has to be men that design and choose the bedroom fittments in these renovated hotels, the shower had only a 'rainshower style' fixed head which is no good if you don't want to wash your hair and the fan was useless in the bathroom. no available plugs for your gadgets. The room was far too hot due to the faulty fridge.
We would not stay again as it was very expensive (at least 50% above the average) for both food and drinks and did not think it was worth the extra. The area was what we wanted as we only had the 1 night in Southampton and it was central and had lots going on.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The room and the staff were v.good, as was the location. But no air-con meant that we needed the windows open and having the windows open meant that it was unacceptably noisy. We were there for the boat show in Sept.Thurs, Friday, Saturday night. Beautiful room - everything the other reviews say but you can't get past the lack of air conditioning - combined with the street noise. I would recommend this hotel in the winter months but ,unless they put in air-con, I would not advise that you stay there if you wish to sleep before 1.30am and get up at 5.30 when the bin men arrive. A shame because evertything else is spot on.

Because the reception is remote and not staffed not easy to get quick service - we waited 25mins to check out despite both asking the staff and then phoning down to reception. Once you had the staff's attention - they were very nice.

I have marked this hotel down on the basis of the lack of air-con combined with the noise. Precisely because of the location in a busy street it should have been a must at the design stage.
We asked the staff and they said that it was because the building was listed they were not allowed air conditioning, however my partner is a building contractor and his response was that you can always get round this - it is just more costly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

room was very nice, decorated well, very comfortable and a nice shower room. the staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant and bar is of a high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDS1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed one night at the White Tavern in August 2009, before our cruise departure from Southampton. The staff was kind and helpfull and the (superior) room was spacious and clean. The bed and pillow were not very comfortable, but all in all we thought it was very charming hotel.

This small hotel with only 13 rooms is actually a pub/restaurant with hotel rooms. We were stunned when the taxidriver left us in a crowded pub with our luggage. Shortly after we were greeted by the friendly hotelmanager who gave us our keys.

We had a lovely dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. In the immediate area are many restaurants and pubs. As we stayed there on a Friday night, you can imagine the noise coming from outside, especially since we had a room at the front of the hotel. If you like peace and quiet, this is not your hotel! If you like to go out and love lifely surroundings, this is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Great escape in a failry uninspiring city. Staff very helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable. All the necessary amenties for a city stopover. Got a good deal. Enjoyed dinner and breakfast. No problems with noise on a Monday night

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Star Tavern

Address: 28 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £84 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Star Tavern 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Star Tavern is an award-winning pub, restaurant and hotel in Southampton, offering a true taste of Hampshire hospitality. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, it’s held two AA rosettes since 2010 - the only Southampton restaurant to do so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The White Star Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Star Tavern Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing