We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Star Tavern
Ranked #11 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Upon arrival at this hotel I was aware of the lack of parking in the area outside the hotel and was directed straight away to the local car park where i was able to park for around £8 for 24 hours.

The hotel was brilliant and the room was amazing. The bathroom was espcially nice with a walk in shower and roll top bath, the bed was really comfy and the promise of egyptian cotton linen was also upheld.

The hotel is also a bar in the trendy district of Oxford Street and has a wealth of eateries around it, however the if the other meals are half as good as the breakfast then leaving the hotel would not be necessary.

All in all a very good experiene that i would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    131
    53
    27
    8
See reviews for
43
197
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ely
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Went to Cowes week and stayed here, just over from the ferry but in the heart of an area with a real buzz. Very friendly staff who accomodated our every need even though it seemed to be run from the bar area. Very impressed that nothing was too much trouble. Good home cooked high quality food, lovely clean and comfortable rooms.Definately recommend to everyone but not young families. 10/10 for me. I only marked down on sleep quality as if you had a young family the bar didn't shut till midnight so you might find it noisy up to then. If you stay up till the bar closes, you don't have a problem. :-) Thanks to all the staff for their efforts. Appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schumiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I had a fantastic stay at the White Star and could not have possibly had better service. I had special circumstances on the day with a late business meeting cropping up. As I was staying in the Hotel, they very kindly made all efforts possible to make sure I was comfortable and able to take part in the meeting.

The room itself was simply amazing, fantastic beds that really really gave you a great nights sleep. The rooms had everything you could need, hairdryer, fridge, amazingly large shower with complimentary toiletries.

The food in the restuarant is fantastic. It definitely deserves it's double rosette rating.

I will definitely come back to the White Star, simply a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_K001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

booked through skiddle who stated that our room rate would normally be £159 but saving of £40. Only 2 rooms advertised as near that price, so were expecting large room with bath and walk in shower. Were dismayed therefore to find ourselves in a very compact room on top floor. When we discussed this with manager JO he did his utmost to sort out our disappointment, and we ended up in the 3 bed apartment on top floor with complimentary breakfast. He could not have been more pleasant, helpful and passionate, this is a prime exampleof what customer service should be, thank you. Skiddle need to watch their over inflated prices, implying you then secure a bargain when actually you don't at all. Not even sure that is legal?!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Absolutely amazing hotel. This was the second time we had visited the White Star and it holds sentimental value as this is where we spent the night after getting engaged! The service is fantastic, even getting money off our stay on our special night. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very luxurious. The only thing that is a very slight fault is that it is not overly clear where we check in. You do so at the bar downstairs, as the rooms are above the restaurant/bar. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and we have really enjoyed our stay both times at this hotel. We will definitely be returning and more than likely spending many more nights at the White Star Tavern! :) Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_chris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This pub with rooms has all the attributes for a great business operation. It really only suffers from a few problems in the areas of detail. Towel in nice modern bathroom was dirty with hair dye and other undesirable stains, our particular shower was weak. We had a dinner booked for 8pm to find a cabaret act was playing loudly and my family couldn't hear ourselves talking and had to leave to the Indian restaurant down the road, missing the 2 AA rosette dining. These problems are easy to iron out I feel, and as a result didn't bother to make a fuss. Other than these school boy errors, the rooms are modern, nicely detailed and have basic needs cared for. Noise from revellers and more so from street cleaning services are frequent and noisy, although our windows were open to be fair due to the humidity. The bar is lively and the staff are friendly and chatty, the bar mixes in with the restaurant area which causes the cabaret to interfere with those diners who actually want to talk over their meal. Outside seating is a plus. Parking outside is metered to just 2 hours. Public parking available short block away. Haven't tried breakfast as this piece was written before 9am start for the Saturday. All in all, if they can sort out the problems and add a couple more staff and I'd recommend the place, we managed to get our rooms for £70 a room which should have been double. Would have been disappointed If we'd paid top price for the problems we'd encountered.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electroartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

From the moment I walked in the doors of the White Star I knew we found a gem. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely. The food in the tavern is excellent. Our waitress for dinner (lovely young lady from Hungary) was a pleasure to be served by. The desserts are decadent. Breakfast each morning was perfect and served by lovely wait staff, always taking extra care in making sure everything was ok. The staff seem to take pride in providing excellent customer service. Whenever I left or re-entered the hotel any staff I met were always friendly and asked if there was anything I needed. On a couple of occassions I requested ice for the room and an ironing board, both were delivered in lightning speed. Joey and his staff go above and beyond. Of all the places I have stayed this is one place I want to return to.

Patti
Canada

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patti44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Star Tavern

Property: The White Star Tavern
Address: 28 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Star Tavern 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Star Tavern is an award-winning pub, restaurant and hotel in Southampton, offering a true taste of Hampshire hospitality. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, it’s held two AA rosettes since 2010 - the only Southampton restaurant to do so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Star Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Star Tavern Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing