We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Mango Thai Tapas, Ocean Village
Ranked #144 of 969 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Description: Family-owned and run, Mango Thai Tapas celebrates its 10 year anniversary in 2017! With three Mangos in Southampton, each with their own identity, here on Canute Road is the Shangri-La of Bangkok. With its lively atmosphere and cocktail culture, enjoy drinking as much as the eating with an entirely Thai Tapas menu. Once you've enjoyed tasting and sharing dishes, continue your night and head downstairs. The Basement, with a capacity of over 150 people, plays host to a stellar calendar of live entertainment including: Tuesday Stand Up in The Basement comedy nights, Thursday late night jam sessions, and party DJs Friday and Saturdays.
Restaurant details
Description: Family-owned and run, Mango Thai Tapas celebrates its 10 year anniversary in 2017! With three Mangos in Southampton, each with their own identity, here on Canute Road is the Shangri-La of Bangkok. With its lively atmosphere and cocktail culture, enjoy drinking as much as the eating with an entirely Thai Tapas menu. Once you've enjoyed tasting and sharing dishes, continue your night and head downstairs. The Basement, with a capacity of over 150 people, plays host to a stellar calendar of live entertainment including: Tuesday Stand Up in The Basement comedy nights, Thursday late night jam sessions, and party DJs Friday and Saturdays.
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Really good, exciting and vibrant place to eat, reasonably priced for what you receive, I just dig this place and the whole eating experience. Recommended

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank DuncanG831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Took my mum here for tapas- it was the best! 5 dishes was enough for us both, maybe even too much.

However not being able to book a table is a problem, tried to return with my boyfriend and got turned away....

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Jdothatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The bar manager was the main host flairing and making some amazing cocktails .
Food was incredible however we went there on a saturday and the downstairs DJ was possibly the worse dj i have ever heard and i Dj a few nightspots in london and across the southcoast .

10/10 bar service
10/10 food
1/10 music

That bar manager doesnt get paid enough he needs a raise .

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Tattoojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Area Manager at Mango Thai Tapas, Ocean Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

HI Jeff,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service, but sorry you didn't enjoy the DJ - our house DJ had a very rare night off celebrating her 30th birthday the Saturday night you visited. So, we really hope you will come and try us for another night out as our Saturday club night Boutique (soul • funk • disco • rock'n'roll) is really great fun, and the music is always Soul Train worthy - we promise we'll make that 1/10 a 10/10! Come and visit us on a Thursday night too - Spike (your bar manager/tender) hosts our (very cool & jazzy) Mango Jam Night from 10 pm :)

Tamsin Mango

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We are a veggie family and my daughter has the added problem of needing to follow a gluten free diet. We often eat at Mango in the city centre where there is a dedicated gf menu. They do not have such a menu here and on the face of it very little choice for her. However when we asked and explained her needs the staff were helpful and there were options for her. The only other problem was that one waitress tried to tell us that one of the curries was veggie despite saying that it contained fish sauce!! The food we finally opted for was really good.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VeggieLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Imagine the scenario - we had a works Christmas do at a venue up the road, at 11 we get told the bar is closing and we have to get out.

Helpfully the barman recommends this place, no one in the team has heard of it or exactly where it is, but +20 slightly tipsy group make the trek down to Mango in the hope it will still be open..

We manage to get in and get drinks at the bar, by all accounts it looks like a normal bar upstairs but nothing to write home about.

One of guys in the group mentions that there is more room in the basement, so like sheep we follow him down-stairs.

Then the reveal !!!! Amazing live music from various local artists which (from memory) each did about a 30min set before a swift change over to the next.. There is a large bar at the back of the venue to save going back up-stairs.

Hope to be back very soon, keep doing what your doing :-)

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank paulbrown1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Thai Tapas, Ocean Village also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mango Thai Tapas, Ocean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing