We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brymer House

Brymer House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brymer House
Ranked #21 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I and two friends have just returned from three nights at Brymer House.

Fizzy and Guy are so welcoming and do everything to make your stay perfect.

A good filling breakfast to start the day and whilst one of the bedrooms is on the small side, there is a lovely lounge specially for the guests.

I agree with one of the other reviews that you won't find Ikea furniture there it is very tastefully furnished and in keeping with the property.

Would not stay anywhere else if visiting the Winchester area again as they provide you with a parking permit and it is about a 10 minute walk into Winchester, no need to use the car.

My only recommendation is to book and have some time there with Fizzy and Guy, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 815Evertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Brymer house couple of months back for a weekend in Winchester.
What a lovely house! Every detail is thought through and it really did feel like home. You won't find ikea furniture there - every single piece must have been collected by owners over the years and gives the house very authentic period feel. Of course it comes with minor downsides such as double taps, low shower pressure and squeaky floors but it's ok. There only a couple of rooms so it is not noisy.
Location is a bit of a walk from City centre but manageable (about 10-15 min) and we were provided with free parking pass for the duration of our stay.
The breakfast was not large but beautifully made. Again, cutlery and tableware is so gorgeous.
Would highly recommend if you are looking for something unique with plenty of charachter.

Room Tip: Wickham Arms for a dinner. Don't waite your time visiting the college - it's an hour long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataljaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at this place due to the good reviews on tripadvisor and am delighted to say that it lived up to the hype. Guy and Fizzie made us feel very welcome and were helpful. Had a great nights sleep and a filling breakfast. Situated close to the city center so only a short stones throw from all the tourist sites. Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We needed to make an overnight stop near Winchester and managed to find this delightful B&B. We had a really warm welcome. The room wasn't huge but there was a lovely lounge for us to use and the whole place was delightful.
We also enjoyed exploring the water meadows and had a stroll in to the town centre.
Breakfas was delicious.
Thank you Fizzy and Guy for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandSExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiguillon, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Situated in a quiet street some 10 minutes walk from the centre of Winchester, Guy and Fizzy's guest house is a haven of quiet charm. Fizzy greeted us warmly and installed us in the twin-bed room overlooking the rear garden. Although of a modest size, it was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was nicely appointed with a good shower and lovely towels. The guest side of the house is nicely furnished and the silver, books and glassware give the house the feel of a gracious home of the 19th century. The full English Breakfast was impeccable with blueberries and raspberries providing a thoughtful touch. Tea and coffee were served in silver pots and Fizzy's attention to detail was particularly appreciated. Guy and Fizzy were impeccable hosts and deserve enormous thanks and full marks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We loved staying with Guy and Fizzy. Our room was wonderful and spacious and the Eggs Benedict at breakfast was to die for. You can walk to town two ways. Both are delightful. One is along the Waterway in front of Winchester College, the other through a delightful part of town. Do stay here. You will not be sorry! Guy and Fizzy are lovely people and very helpful.

Room Tip: Super Romantic B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My sister and I were going to a family party and I arrived late but because Fizzy had sent me such a brilliant map in the post I didnt get lost! We shared a very pretty twin room, with an en suite bathroom and super comfortable beds. It was so quiet we slept well and in the morning had a delicious breakfast with thick yougurt and fruit, poached eggs and homemade marmalade, all beautifully served on pretty china. Fizzy gave me a permit for the car and was welcoming and friendly and so helpful, finding florists telephone numbers and drawing yet another map for us to get out of Winchester. Although it was a short stay we did enjoy it and felt we had had a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brymer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brymer House

Property: Brymer House
Address: 29/30 St. Faiths Road | St. Cross, Winchester SO23 9QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing