We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Indian Food”

Gandhi Indian Cuisine
Ranked #23 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cracking Indian Food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Food always seems to be to a high standard. Service excellent. Tables a little cramped, they could do with expanding because the resturant seems to be full everytime we go there, plus people waiting for tables. Good sign I guess.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    112
    33
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Tip top again.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visited on a horrible rainy night in Winchester with some colleagues. Five of us really loved the food on offer. Great service and it seems that a little work has been carried out on the inside of the premises since my last review - bright inside and very welcoming. Good quality table linen and the set-up gets 5/5. I can't remember what 'prawn' starter I had (recommended by the owner) but it was excellent - went for the lamb shank as I did last time & what a great choice! Will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced tasteless food”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

They may have changed their chef here as my first visit was a success, but a year later and what was delivered to the table can only be described as bland, tasteless slop and considering this is the most expensive Indian restaurant in Winchester they fall well short on the value for money stakes.

The main I ordered was the popular Chicken Tikka Massala, but it was simply tasteless, but then it was to be expected as the Prawn Pure starter was equally lacking in the spice stakes.

We spent the entire meal being stared at by the staff as it was not busy and when asked how the food was I stated with a dissapointed expression, "It's OK", which to any restaurateur would be an indication things were not right, but it was simply ignored.

To top it all the seating was so cramped I was literally squezed in between table and seat which was far from relaxing.

This is a genuine case of a reputation of past good cuisine resting an it's laurels and letting standards slip.

We will not be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Proper food, attentive staff but a little hap hazard on booking times”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Busy and fun restaurant, plenty of people waiting for tables and it took a while for our booking to turn into a table, drinks offered and not an issue. Food was quick and very good. Excellent value.
Well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hursley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sticks out from the rest!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It’s the exceptional food and service at Gandhi that always makes it stick out from the other restaurants in Winchester! Ronnie and his staff are impeccably courteous and attentive, and at all times will make you feel very looked after, whatever the occasion! Over the years so many happy memories of eating here have been had with family, friends, work colleagues and even on my own! Visiting here, whether it’s eating in the restaurant or taking out a meal, it never fails to make me leaving very happy indeed! It’s always popular so if you decide to go make sure you book - you’ll have some wonderful food and a great time at this excellent restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetiepie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi Indian Cuisine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Gandhi Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing