We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King Alfred
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$108
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$69
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
110
70
8
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
70
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcity centreparking permitroad parkinglovely traditional pubcomfortable bedthe en suite bathroomincluded in the room ratecorner houseroom fridgegreat accommodationvery nice place to staycooked breakfastshort walkpowerful showerpielovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Like many of the reviews, I mirror the fact that the staff here are really friendly both in terms of the accommodation service and the bar/restaurant staff. Good selection of food and ales at reasonable prices. I also found the location ideal - very close to the train station and city centre, yet still felt like peaceful suburbia.

If you're looking for an overnight stay in Winchester then this place offers far better value for money than the holiday inn and is in a far more desirable location. For a 4* hotel, £65 for the night is what I call excellent value for money. My only criticism was the fact I was greeted to a cold room as the window had been left open without the heater on. However, once the room heated up all was well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexsouthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for one night and we were very impressed by the warm welcome by the staff. The room was spacious and clean. We ate there on the night time and the beef and stilton pie was to die for.Breakfast the next morning was adequate and reasonable at only £5. The availability of Marmite was greatly appreciated. At £90 for a room with breakfast it was expensive but we would probably come back here if we were in the area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight and had a late lunch in the restaurant. The food and service were excellent, in fact my white bait starter was so large it could have served as a main. All three of our meals were so filling no one could manage a desert. Our room was similarly first class, lots of space, well fitted out and with a great sized ensuite and shower. Plenty of tea and coffee making materials and several comfy armchairs. Good service followed in the bar in the evening with a good selection of varied drinks available. The following mornings breakfast was also of good quality as was the service. The parking permit included in the booking price was also very welcome and we managed to park almost opposite the pub and below our room. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming, all helping in making it a relaxed and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigeyedpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Don't bother with travel lodge or premier inns or expensive hotels, room is lovely, I'm fussy and this is the nicest room and the cheapest I've stayed in! Lovely furniture, decent flat screen, tea coffee facilities, bathroom is a bit posh! Very helpful and laid back staff and even the locals offered me a parking spot on their drive if no spaces available, the room came with a parking permit!!! To be honest Winchester is expensive to stay in but not if you stay here, take a look for yourself, I checked it out first and it was just as I saw on the Internet some 80 miles away!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jansalwayslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was an ideal place for us to stay on our first visit to Winchester as it was close to the city but far enough away for we oldies not to suffer the ebullience of younger party goers in the wee small hours. The staff are great and very amusing (Leon and Ben) and it was just a delight. The room and en suite were perfect, breakfast yummy, parking permit appreciated, cannot comment on other meals as did not eat there hence four and not five score.

Will certainly return to the King Alfred when visiting the city again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Christine_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews