We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The King Alfred

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King Alfred
Ranked #13 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a lovely find. The location being a short walk to the center of town, but quiet; the room was clean, spacious and quiet; the breakfast and the hosts were great. No worries for being over a pub; quiet and nice neighbourhood. Parking was easy. Ben is a great manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    62
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
77
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a great find. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Good clean facilities, nice comfortable beds, well equipped rooms and great powerful hot shower.

Food was great in the pub restaurant and breakfast was cooked to order and very reasonably priced, all served by lovely staff.

Parking was easy, right outside the pub, in a quiet residential area. We walked in and out of the centre of town easily.

You need to be able to do stairs here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I left a review on 30th Nov 2012 and it was unfavourable due to the fact we were double-booked and management were less than helpful or friendly. They stood by their "free room" offer to make this up to us and we must say that everything was absolutely fantastic - they really have redeemed themselves and our stay was excellent. Well done the new management!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Like many of the reviews, I mirror the fact that the staff here are really friendly both in terms of the accommodation service and the bar/restaurant staff. Good selection of food and ales at reasonable prices. I also found the location ideal - very close to the train station and city centre, yet still felt like peaceful suburbia.

If you're looking for an overnight stay in Winchester then this place offers far better value for money than the holiday inn and is in a far more desirable location. For a 4* hotel, £65 for the night is what I call excellent value for money. My only criticism was the fact I was greeted to a cold room as the window had been left open without the heater on. However, once the room heated up all was well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsouthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for one night and we were very impressed by the warm welcome by the staff. The room was spacious and clean. We ate there on the night time and the beef and stilton pie was to die for.Breakfast the next morning was adequate and reasonable at only £5. The availability of Marmite was greatly appreciated. At £90 for a room with breakfast it was expensive but we would probably come back here if we were in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight and had a late lunch in the restaurant. The food and service were excellent, in fact my white bait starter was so large it could have served as a main. All three of our meals were so filling no one could manage a desert. Our room was similarly first class, lots of space, well fitted out and with a great sized ensuite and shower. Plenty of tea and coffee making materials and several comfy armchairs. Good service followed in the bar in the evening with a good selection of varied drinks available. The following mornings breakfast was also of good quality as was the service. The parking permit included in the booking price was also very welcome and we managed to park almost opposite the pub and below our room. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming, all helping in making it a relaxed and memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigeyedpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Don't bother with travel lodge or premier inns or expensive hotels, room is lovely, I'm fussy and this is the nicest room and the cheapest I've stayed in! Lovely furniture, decent flat screen, tea coffee facilities, bathroom is a bit posh! Very helpful and laid back staff and even the locals offered me a parking spot on their drive if no spaces available, the room came with a parking permit!!! To be honest Winchester is expensive to stay in but not if you stay here, take a look for yourself, I checked it out first and it was just as I saw on the Internet some 80 miles away!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansalwayslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Alfred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Alfred

Property: The King Alfred
Address: 11 Saxon Road, Winchester SO23 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The King Alfred 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at The King Alfred offers you everything you would expect from a boutique hotel but in a cosy, relaxed pub setting - great beds and linen, a classic pub menu just cooked really well and super friendly staff many of whom have lived in Winchester forever so would happily chat to you about what to see and where to go! Our location is ideal for both leisure and business guests. Tucked away in the friendly Winchester suburb of Hyde, we are about a 15 minute stroll from the city centre with its historic cathedral and diverse collection of independent and high street shops. We can offer convenient , free parking outside the pub with the use of one of our permits. Or if you are travelling by train we are just a short taxi ride or a 10 minute walk from the station. Accessed via a private entrance so you can come and go as you please, we have four double rooms and one twin all with en-suite showers, TVs and tea and coffee making facilities. Downstairs in the bar you'll discover cosy corners and eclectic treasures. Grab a drink, settle in and let us do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King Alfred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King Alfred Pub Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing