We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King Alfred
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$61
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
110
70
8
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
70
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcity centreparking permitroad parkinglovely traditional pubcomfortable bedthe en suite bathroomincluded in the room ratecorner houseroom fridgegreat accommodationvery nice place to staycooked breakfastshort walkpowerful showerpielovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This pub is set in a quiet residential part of Winchester, is an excellent place to stay. The staff are all very welcoming. There is a good selection of food, which is all well-cooked. My good-sized room was comfortable and had all the amenities I could possibly need, with free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had lunch to start that was very nice The room was a nice size, The pub its self was about 20 mins away from the town. Very friendly staff and they knew about the local area. The night was very noisy with the traffic in the distance but that's not really there fault, I didn't rate the full English breakfast that well im afraid, will defo stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having had a great stay at the King Alfred before I had no hesitation in booking three separate short stays during my recent visit back to England to visit friends and family. The accommodation, staff and food were the usual good standard but the Wi-Fi internet now via The Cloud was totally useless. I was unable to access it in my room and had to use in the garden, sitting on the stairs or in the bar. This of course was only possible when the pub was closed or if it was quiet. I needed the internet to contact my partner in New Zealand who wasn't well so it was very important. The staff have been aware of the problem for several months but don't tell you until you complain. Anyone wanting to use the Wi-Fi internet for business or contacts should perhaps stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting a friend in Winchester - most of the accommodation was booked and generally stay in the Royal. (Not anymore though) This pub was welcoming, friendly and had that really homely feel, the room was clean, spacious and the windows had been left open to keep the freshness on what was a clammy day. We were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff who was good company and fun. The breakfast was very nice and pretty filling - the lady serving genuinely cared which makes a change from these big impersonal hotels. Will definitely go again - the manager Ben knows how to run a good ship.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3 and plenty of room for pub accommodation
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWindowBlindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently used this Accommodation for 1 night only, originally booked because it was the only one in Winchester that allowed checking in at Midday.
So Glad we found it, it is perfect for a short break, the rooms are well equipped & very clean.
Comfy Bed, good shower & despite being above a pub it is remarkably quiet.
Added bonus of a Parking permit being provided, we parked right outside the pub & it cost nothing.
The Full English Breakfast was superb, after Breakfast we ambled into Winchester through the park & up the river, it was a lovely little walk.
We returned to the King Alfred for some lunch & were not disappointed it was great & not expensive.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the King Alfred to others.
We will probably go back there again sometime.
Geoff M

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews