We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food poor crackers......”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #14 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Split over two floors with balconies, a secret courtyard, a small private meeting room and a great bar, our newly refurbished restaurant is full of cosy corners and fabulous character. Now open from 8.30Am every day (9.30Am on Sundays) for breakfast, coffee & pastries, lunch, afternoon tea, drinks and dinner, there is a perfect spot for everyone. With all the exciting changes we are pleased to be able to say that you can expect the same delicious food and friendly staff as we continue to bring you simple, seasonal French fare cooked with heart, and served with real warmth.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food poor crackers......”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Enjoyed a super lunch here on Saturday, food excellent , service very good, never felt rushed, just right. Lovely selection of cheese for the grand finish. You can tell these people do it right with a great deal of thought going into all aspects of your meal. The only let down, is the crackers and bread that arrives with your cheese, just very uninspiring, and I can't believe that Raymond would be pleased with it. Otherwise fabulous and well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nazareth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    314
    130
    54
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A special treat - lovely setting”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed a meal for two people - hadn't booked but restaurant accommodated us & we enjoyed our meal and the ambiance immensely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eaten here numerous times”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a solid no frills restaurant. It is consistently good and the food is of a high standard. The wine list is good and while this place won't win awards, it is reliable and never puts out a bad plate of food in my experience. It is one of the more reasonably priced restaurants in Winchester and has a good set menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Herbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food at a goos price, honest!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived in Winchester on Friday for the weekend and wanted somewhere to eat, and this restaurant was recommended. It was very busy but we still managed to get a table up stairs. The ground floor seemed to have the better atmosphere but what I liked upstairs was being able to see the pass and watch the chef's at work. The food was excellent and the set menu was good value for money without skimping on the quality. They were also very helpful when my partner wanted something slightly off menu. Wine was reasonably priced and the house wine was of a food standard. A good night out at a reasonable price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Marks, Hants, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dependable French Cuisine”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We eat regularly at Brasserie Blanc Winchester and, as usual, the experience was excellent. Service was impeccable and the quality of cooking good. The new summer menu was creative and followed the norm of traditional French cuisine, modified slightly to be less cream rich.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FBranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing