We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service review”
Review of Mrs. P. Patton

Mrs. P. Patton
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mrs. P. Patton
Ranked #38 of 47 Winchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Unfortunately we won't find out how this B&B actually was as I would not try to book here again. It seems that unless they have your booking secured they don't really bother with any customer service. I emailed my enquiry to them and received a one line reply with no "dear xxx, regards etc". When I remarked about it I was told that they sent many replies that day already (to other people) and I should be happy I got one. I don't think is an appropriate answer for someone who works in the service industry, it's a shame as it looked like a nice place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JJ82476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

A very comfortable bed and breakfast, located within walking distance from the centre of Winchester. We booked into the twin room which was very comfortable, with great beds, sink and everything you would want in your room. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a great breakfast in the conservatory.

Our hosts were very friendly and provided information on local attractions and travel times to nearby places of interest. The gardens are spectacular. Didn't hear the trains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay enormously. We were warmly welcomed and shown around the facilities which include shared bathroom and shower room both with toilet and a (firm) feather bed. The house in general and the room in particular are furnished with lovely pieces and feels very homey and cosy. There are thoughtful touches with everything provided from a wide range of hot drinks options in the room to Private Eye books in the bathroom.

The owners are equally charming and were very kind and chatty. The breakfast was particularly lovely, served in the conservatory with great views out to a great garden, the food was very nice and the owner knew just when to serve us and chat to us and when to be discreet.

We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to people who want to avoid a typical bland hotel experience.

On the practical side the house is very conveniently located and parking was no problem with the owners able to lend us a permit to park just outside.

In reply to a previous reviewer, this is clearly a home (that's what B&Bs are!) and I feel that it is therefore courteous to ring before ca. 9:30pm to make a reservation. I called during the afternoon and felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from staying at Mrs Pattons and wish we were still there! What a wonderful B & B, Penny and Ian are fantastic hosts and the location was perfect, the walk down into the city only takes around 15 minutes and is a very easy walk. We stayed at the back of the house in the twin room which was very comfortable, when we booked we did have our reservations about having to share the bathroom/shower room down the hall but as there are only two guest rooms this was no problem at all. The bathroom has a large corner bath and WC and the shower room also has a WC. As said in previous reviews breakfast is served in the conservatory where you can enjoy a full english breakfast,homemade bread and homemade preserves with fruit from the allotment. The garden was wonderful and the wisteria on the wall at the front of the house looks amazing this time of year. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Only a couple of rooms in this family home two storey b & b. we stayed in the twin room. cosy and nice comfortable beds. quaint country style furnishings, Sink in room. no ensuite. two separate bathrooms down the hall. 1 with shower toilet. 1 with bath toilet. Just like staying at grandma's house. very friendly and helpful owners. arranged wine glasses for us and a key to the breakfast room to sit and have an after dinner drink, as the owners were going out for the evening. would give it a five star except for the railway line at the back of the property and the steps up to the rooms. I don't recall hearing the trains during the night but did hear them in the morning but it was time to get up for breakfast anyway. booked this b & b because of the good price. About a 5-10 minute walk to the main shopping/eat street/pubs. limited parking but we parked on the road with no problem. breakfast was fine. usual b & b fare. would recommend this place to other travellers. as i said the main reason for choosing this place was the price and was happy with our choice.

Room Tip: take the twin room. the two beds are (were) pushed together anyway giving a double bed appearance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

On a recent driving tour around the UK in March, we had not pre-booked any hotels as our plans were very open so we usually booked our accomodation the previous night of our intended stay. On this particular night we were staying in Stamford and needed a place to stay in Winchester. According to Tripadvisor this B&B had good reviews so I rang them from our hotel room. It was 10:00pm and I asked the gentlemen answering the phone if they had any vacancies for 1 night. The response was a rude “no we do not” and “this was rather late in the evening to be ringing and very inconsiderate of you”. Whoops, sorry, I thought they were in the 'hospitality' industry, obviously not! So obviously we didn't stay there and probably never will. Maybe they should do a course in basic Phone Courtesy 101?

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank greybeard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I've just returned from a weekend at this lovely b&B. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly and the house is beautiful and comfortable, with lots of special little extra touches in the room to make it really relaxing. In the morning there was a delicious breakfast in a conservatory that would be at home in Kew Gardens, with a lemon tree and trailing bouganvillia. I hope I get the chance to stay here again, as everything about this b&b is great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,899 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs. P. Patton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs. P. Patton

Address: 12 Christchurch Road, Winchester SO23 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing