We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities, clean and fresh and very high standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Winchester Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facilities, clean and fresh and very high standards.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was relaxing and everything 'worked', from the shower to the ordering of taxis and the bike ride to the feeling of privacy, despite being close to other lodges.

I would definitely recommend the lodges to others and I plan to return again another time!

Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This accommodation was a beautiful and spacious log cabin style lodge. It was well equipped with everything including dishwasher and washing machine in kitchen to free wifi and free sat in two of the rooms. The location is great for visiting Southampton/Portsmouth/Poole and of course the new forest. We paid extra for a lodge with a hot tub but we made use of it every day so it was well worth the money. This accommodation has set the bar high for any self catering accommodation we wish to book in future we will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We choose South Winchester lodges as we were looking for a self catering holiday in that area to visit local attractions with our toddler. The location of the lodge was excellent being only a short drive from the places we wanted to visit. The lodge itself was very comfortable and exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean, well equipped and quite luxurious with an outdoor hot tub! The breakfast provided was lovely and the staff were friendly and approachable without invading your privacy. We also took advantage of the available caterers which just added to the luxury! I would definitely recommend this holiday to others traveling with young children. It really did cater for all our needs. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were a group of four, who stayed at lodge number 10. We were originally bringing 2 young dogs, but decided against it in the end - so glad we didn't take them, as they would have wrecked the lovely lodge.

What a wonderful place. Lovely setting. Couldn't have wished for anything more - well except for warmer weather, but this is England in February/March.

Truly spotless on arrival and kitted out with everything you could possibly want.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Moogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This is our third trip to South Winchester lodges. And they never fail to please. Which is
Morning ,recommendation in itself. Each visit has always been a long weekend stay in the winter, at a discount rate. However this year has been somewhat dampened by the fact that I waited for the special early bird offer to appear in December and promptly booked my lodge at a discount of 20%. However I did not notice that the 20% reduction had not been made at the payment. Not realising until the time of our break. So I contacted them to query this. I received a reply that the offer had not been on when I made my booking even though I clearly remember booking through the early bird offer. There word against mine I lose! although I'm sure they could check back to see that the offer had been added to the website when I booked.Hence I was charged £100 more than I expected. Which after 3 loyal visits has put us off returning.as we feel slightly ripped off. So if booking take care with the website and make sure any discounts are deducted at the time of payment.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grubs490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterLodges, Owner at South Winchester Lodges, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
This matter has already been discussed with the guest and the matter resolved.

No offers were running on online bookings when this guest choose to book therefore discounts cannot be added retrospectively a month later when the guest raised this issue. This was explained to the guest and they responded with the following.

"Thanks very much for checking. Our mistake then! I hope the weather holds out for us as we always enjoy our time at the lodges."

This booking was made online and not direct with us over the phone. Therefore it is up to the guest to agree to the quote and make payment at the time of booking. No contact was made directly with us until a month later when the guest was due to check in. As with buying airline tickets etc if you choose to book online it is the responsibility of the guest to make that booking and accept the price quoted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just spent the New Year 2013 at South Winchester Lodges, on arrival we were delighted with the two lodges we had booked. We found them to be very spacious, light and airy. All the rooms were huge not what we were expecting for a lodge! The kitchens were incredibly well stocked with cooking utensils, plates, cutlery and pans. I cooked a full roast dinner for eight people on New Years Day with everything I needed.

We also had very wet and windy weather over our stay but found the lodges to be very warm and soundproofed from outside.

They were also immaculately clean and tidy. The furniture and decor was tasteful and good condition.

The hot tubs were also lovely, clean, warm and very well maintained.

We will definitely stay again we had a lovely break thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in lodges 10 and 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My daughters booked us a 3 bedroom lodge between Christmas and New Year as a treat for my 60th birthday and it was wonderful. As there were 6 of us and 3 children we filled it to capacity but it still seemed spacious. We were in number 14 which was well located and didn't feel at all overlooked. It was well furnished with enough seating for us all, a large dining table and comfortable beds. Everything was beautifully clean and well maintained. The kitchen was very well equipped with plenty of crockery and equipment including a good oven and dish washer - which was unusually quiet so we were able to use it at anytime even though it was in an open plan area. We were also provided with cots and an extra put you up bed. The location is quiet and relaxing but is also within easy reach of Winchester - the guide book provided gives details of walks in the area and there is a large supermarket just up the road. Even in the cold weather we sat out on the furnished terrace area to appreciate the location and facilities! We would not hesitate to book again - maybe in the summer when we could use the big barbecue and go on the walks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhylP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,048 reviews
2.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Winchester Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Winchester Lodges

Property: South Winchester Lodges
Address: The Green | South Winchester Golf Club, Winchester SO22 5SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Winchester Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Winchester Lodges are set in the centre of the beautiful rolling downlands of South Winchester Golf Course. Located just three miles from the historic city of Winchester, we offer flexible breaks in one of our award winning, five star Norwegian lodges.Whether it be for a golfing break, home relocation, special occasion or a family holiday, our 3 and 2 bed, 2 bathroom self catering lodges will suit the occasion perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your South Winchester Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing