We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolvesey View B & B
Ranked #37 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Corinth, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Special”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Wolvesey View was a wonderful place to stay while we visited Winchester. Our host, John, was a wonderful help with directions, suggestions, and even taking the time to walk and talk with us about the city he loves. Breakfasts were a great treat and included good conversation as well as good food. Our room - The Blue Room - was comfortable and cozy and quiet. Located on a quiet dead end, we were only a few minutes walk from the center and the cathedral. Wolvesey View and John made us feel very much at home. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    31
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
26
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My sister and I spent three nights at Wolvesley View in April 2012 and found it to be a comfortable, warm and friendly place to stay. John is an expert on Winchester, was our guide for a day (no charge), recommended restaurants, and cooks a great breakfast! We stayed in the blue room, which was comfortabe and roomy with lots of books. John's home looks out over the ruins of Wolvesley Castle and the walk to those ruins, the Catherdral and the beautiful town center took only minutes. I would recommend staying at this B&B to anyone who enjoys a comfortable, homey atmostphere and a friendly host who is enthusiastic about the town in which he lives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSHWethersfieldCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

John, who runs the Wintonian, is a friendly host. The B&B is ideally situated for exploring Winchester. The accommodation is warm and homely. John also cooks a delightful breakfast and has always accommodated my veggie and wheat free diet. The Wintonian is not glamorous or luxurious, but it is good value for money in an expensive city, and the relaxed nature of the place makes it an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights after reading reviews on here.. We were not disappointed as it proved to be a welcoming place to stay. John is clearly enjoying his role as host and is very approachable for any tips for sights and restaurants. Very close to centre and the parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLookaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We recently stayed at Wolvesey View and the stay was fantastic. John made us feel very welcome and couldnt do enough to help! The breakfast was amazing and the location of the property is close the pubs and nightlife in Winchester, yet has a really great view of the back of the Cathedral........... Highly recommended and very competitively priced.......!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have stayed with John on several occasions and, whenever we visit Winchester, he is the first person we contact for overnight accommodation. He is always warm and friendly and his breakfasts are both excellent and sociable. The location is perfect - almost everything is within walking distance and the added bonus is parking. I would recommend this place to anyone, whether on business or pleasure, and we will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It was the second time I stayed with John. As last time he made us feel very welcome. His breakfasts are delicious and his rooms are characterful and comfortable. A wonderful collection of books to browse too. Thanks for a pleasant stay, will come again if I'm down that way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#9 of 53 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saskia's B&B
Saskia's B&B
#19 of 53 in Winchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolvesey View B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolvesey View B & B

Property: Wolvesey View B & B
Address: 10 Colebrook Place, Winchester SO23 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique guest house in the perfect English city!In the very quiet heart of England’s most historic and beautiful city, John Holder’s homely, warm and welcoming B&B has lovely rooms, a garden and is near fine ancient pubs and restaurants. Enjoy great conversation over relaxed breakfasts. Free parking. The perfect spot to relax away from traffic, enjoy gentle strolls around the cathedral and river Itchen. 1 hour from Heathrow, London, Portsmouth, Stonehenge, Oxford. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing