We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly chatty host & excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolvesey View B & B
Ranked #37 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly chatty host & excellent location”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Mom and I stayed here in Sept 2011 after we had a bad experience at a nearby B&B.I couldnt remember the name of this lovely home from home B&B,hence the lateness of the review. We had lovely long chats with John at the breakfast table! John was so friendly and gave us a cup of tea on our arrival..nice touch.Room was clean and overlooked the Ruins and a section of the Cathedral in its grounds. Shared bathroom but clean and sharing proved not a problem.A minute or two walk from the High Street,so fantastic location.John even helped carry Mom's suitcase to the bus stop. A sweet guy!We loved our stay and after our upsetting experience at nearby B&B,John made us feel welcome and at home, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    31
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
26
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After more than 3 months we did a 3rd trip to John who is running Wolvesey View B&B in the heart of Winchester. Due to real troubles within our family we had to take Julia back from Lainston House Hotel to Germany. And it was clear for us that we all would like to stay with John again. He made us not only welcome as friends, he made it possible that Julia could stay, too, for one night at very short notice only. The facilities in the summer are even better than in the winter season, as you do have a beautiful view over historical Winchester. The place is very quite and just 5 min away form the city center. Maybe it was because we missed it so much but it was our impression that the breakfast in the mornings was much better than before. What can be weighed against money is John's warm and freindly company - you can talk about nearly everything in a very relaxed way. For me personally it is sure that I will come back again within the next 12 months or so. If you are in the area - try it at least once. Romanus

Room Tip: most beautiful room for 1 or 2 people is the blue room with really nice furniture. All rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed at the Wolvesey View whilst my wife was in Winchester Hospital.John (the host)makes you feel so welcome.Clean rooms with lovely views,3 minutes walk to the town centre,lovely riverside pub a minute away.John likes a good chat and nothing seems too much trouble.Good full english too!

Room Tip: Ask John for the double room that overlooks the playing field
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was on a visit to Winchester's open day so this was the first time I had been truly away from home on my own and I have never felt more welcome. John was more than just a host he felt like a friend. The room was beautiful, with a great oriental theme running through out. Bed was EXTREMLY comfy and the set up was brilliant with a little radio and T.V. Bathroom was beautifully decorated and felt clean and simple. I really enjoyed the fact that downstairs the sofas were so cosy and it felt so homely that we sat an watched the football.
Yes it was more of a home but that is what a B & B is so it saddens me to see such horrible negative reviews on here. When considering this place I honestly feel you should go and please ignore the rather ignorant rants from the other raters, the obviously misunderstood the different between 'Hotel' and 'B&B'.
No problems with cleanliness and the cats were adorable. Would love to go again.
Lovely host, lovely house, lovely time.

Room Tip: Blue room was lovely and cosy, with beautiful garden view. Nice and sunny during the late morning. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I had a pleasant stay and was made to feel very welcome by an excellent, good humoured host in John, it's very small and modest in terms of facilities but perfectly clean and was ideal for a room on a budget for one person. Parking is perhaps relatively tight but not a really a problem, in terms of location it's a 5 minute walk into the town centre - whilst still being in a very quiet area.

The shared bathroom was fine with a decent shower, breakfast was great and overall the atmosphere was really friendly and relaxed - I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNashGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stopped in the Yellow Room which has an impressive view over the castle (virtually next door). The house is close to the weird and the river and within a few minutes easy walk of the centre of Winchester. John is an excellent snd welcoming host taking the time to talk but not at all intrusive. Good breakfast with decent quality ingredients - no 'plastic' sausages here!.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeast_Said
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

John was very welcoming when we arrived and gave us a cup of tea which made us feel at home. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the various books that we found. We arrived early in the day and we were able to use our room to get changed before going on to a wedding which was great. The location was perfect for such a short day and we were easily able to stroll into central Winchester. We would definitely stay here again if we come to Winchester in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#9 of 53 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saskia's B&B
Saskia's B&B
#19 of 53 in Winchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolvesey View B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolvesey View B & B

Property: Wolvesey View B & B
Address: 10 Colebrook Place, Winchester SO23 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique guest house in the perfect English city!In the very quiet heart of England’s most historic and beautiful city, John Holder’s homely, warm and welcoming B&B has lovely rooms, a garden and is near fine ancient pubs and restaurants. Enjoy great conversation over relaxed breakfasts. Free parking. The perfect spot to relax away from traffic, enjoy gentle strolls around the cathedral and river Itchen. 1 hour from Heathrow, London, Portsmouth, Stonehenge, Oxford. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing