We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with a great a host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolvesey View B & B
Ranked #37 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B with a great a host”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed one night at the B&B. John was a lovely guy who was very accommodating and could have not done anything more.

I would go back and would recommend it to friends.

In Winchester and want a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextravellingbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    31
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
26
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wolvesey View this past August as we were touring the south of England. Though we arrived early, the owner, John, was still kind enough to let us in, make us tea, allow us to leave our bags, and spend time chatting with us. We then spent a lovely day in Winchester, touring around, and returned to a comfortable room. The next morning, we had a lovely breakfast, and were joined by the owner's two adorable cats. We had a delightful expereince, and were very pleased with our stay.

A few things: The owner has cats. They are family to him, and my husband and I understand this, as we have cats at home and they're family to us. However, if you are allergic, or don't deeply love animals, this may not be the place for you. Secondly, the Wolvesey View is John's private home, so please don't go expecting the sanitized hotel experience. Embrace the fact that he has china, and books, and all the other things that make a house a home, rather than a cold, impersonal hotel. If you can't, stay elsewhere. Third, chat with John. He loves having guests, and is NOT in the business just to make money. He's a fascinating guy, and worth getting to know.

Room Tip: Room was a touch stuffy, but that's to be expected for England in August! We probably should hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I can appreciate the experience that Jade D had however I joined friends who had stayed for the four previous nights and found John the owner very friendly and accommodating. You are very much invited in to John's home if you stay here, John is a very thoughtful host.
Winchester is a lovely town and Wolvesey View is only a two minute walk from the river (or more specifically a pub beside the river) and not too much further to everything else Winchester town has to offer.
Our room was very clean and had a wonderful view of the college cricket pitch. The weather was lovely and with the window open there was nothing to be heard except bird song in the morning. Our tea pack wasn't fully stocked but it wasn't an issue nipping to the kitchen to make a coffee.
We had a simple bacon and egg breakfast then toast and marmalade with cafetiere coffee despite being offered a lot more.
We all had a perfectly pleasant stay and we would/will all return however I can appreciate that this B&B might not suit everybody.

Room Tip: The yellow room overlooking the cricket pitch is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I'm a student and even I would never stay in this place again. The first night I ended up sleeping in the library on a day bed, Impressed much? No!

There was books every where in the library, cables running all over the floor, newspapers stuffed away and just crap all over the place. The carpet was filthy.

The second night I was in the Chinese room which was much better with a double bed, however the room again needed a good dusting. I could draw pictures on the bedside tables.

The tea facilities weren't changed before I went into this room as there was a tea bag in the pot still from the previous occupant.

All rooms share one bathroom, no e suites in this house.

English breakfast was skimpy and well the place is just filthy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Although we have not had much experience staying in B and B's in England and cannot make a fair comparison to others,however, we appreciate clean and simple accommodation, a comfortable setting in a central location. On all these points,the Wolvesey View B and B met the mark. We stayed in a family " yellow " room which was located in the front of the house with a fine view of the historical Wolvesey ruins.This was appreciated since any hike of the ruins was not possible as the entrance was closed in the winter months.
The bathroom, although shared, was clean and there were nice touches with good quality soaps and body wash and ample towels which were clean, etc.
The host, John Holder, has a wealth of knowledge about Winchester and it's history and has published books and guides on Winchester. He shows concern and caring for his guests and for us, this was appreciated. The breakfasts were fine and he offered to get us champagne glasses so that we could sip champagne in our room before our departure back to Canada. I have read all the reviews, both positive and negative about this B and B, and can safely say that for us, John was a fine host. I can understand that some guests may value their personal space and John's eagerness to engage may be violating their personal space - this is something John could be more mindful of. We did not have any issues with the two cats who were in the breakfast area and they were well behaved. Winchester is a beautiful spot and found no fault with the lodgings. Our stay was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Wolvesley Court is a rather quiet place right in the middle of Winchester. It is about 5 minutes walk to the city centre. The major tourist sites are within 5 to 10 minutes walk (at most). The rooms are nice and cosy and there is plenty of hot water, which seems to be a privilege in the UK rather than standard. They cook a great breakfast. The owner has cats, which is an additional plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Wolvesley is in a very convenient location for shopping and sightseeing in Winchester. We were given a very warm welcome. There are no rooms with ensuite although the shared bathroom is in close proximity to all rooms. The yellow room, which overlooks Wolvesley Castle, is very basic with no extras. The single beds are very small and not very comfortable. The whole place needs a general tidy up and dust to improve its appearance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonsilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 53 in Winchester
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#2 of 53 in Winchester
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
31 Queens Road - Winchester
31 Queens Road - Winchester
#26 of 53 in Winchester
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolvesey View B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolvesey View B & B

Property: Wolvesey View B & B
Address: 10 Colebrook Place, Winchester SO23 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique guest house in the perfect English city!In the very quiet heart of England’s most historic and beautiful city, John Holder’s homely, warm and welcoming B&B has lovely rooms, a garden and is near fine ancient pubs and restaurants. Enjoy great conversation over relaxed breakfasts. Free parking. The perfect spot to relax away from traffic, enjoy gentle strolls around the cathedral and river Itchen. 1 hour from Heathrow, London, Portsmouth, Stonehenge, Oxford. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing