We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok Brasserie - A Jewel”
Review of Bangkok Brasserie - CLOSED

Bangkok Brasserie
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: One of HARDENS Top 10 Thai Restaurants in the UK The distinctive flavours of Thai cuisine with hints of fresh coriander, fish sauce and lemon grass are the result of a special national talent for blending a great variety of spices and herbs. The sauces are light, the flavours subtle and elusive - the reason why Thai food has become one of the most popular dining experiences in the world today. This taste sensation, along with the world renowned Thai hospitality, is now available in Winchester.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bangkok Brasserie - A Jewel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited this restaurant for lunch yesterday. I do not know Winchester. It was just a meeting place to have lunch with Dad. I found the restaurant on Trip Advisor and it came highly recommended. Well it was superb. Fantastic value for money lunch menu and the food exquisite. The wine list was a little on the pricey side but they have to make their money somewhere and the wine was good. I wish I lived nearer to this place. A really pleasant environment and the Thai Green Curry best I have ever tasted. Well worth a visit and please open one in Reading soon!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    126
    46
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly Experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Three friends and I lunched at the BB following a recommendation and the reviews in TA. We chose from the express lunch menu and all went for different items. Thai food in the UK can be pretty dire but the BB came up with a some good food over all three courses. The service was excellent; the charming young lady ensured we had a great meal and was friendly without being over bearing.
It would have been a five but the 'Thai Dim Sum' I had was exactly the same as the 'warehouse' Chinese style my (Chinese) family buy. The bill was very reasonable and the restaurant is very smart and clean - shame I couldn't give 4.5 stars. I will certainly visit again when in Winchester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Being from Thailand myself and living there for many years, I feel that this restaurant has succeeded in Thai cuisine. I could tell everything was homemade and was not westernised. Overall a lovely atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty Thai!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

1st visit, we aren't Thai experts but wanted to give it a try. Hubby doesn't like too spicy, I do! We started with Thai crackers and sweet chilli sauce, yummy! I then had sweet corn fritters, very more ish. We moved onto Thai green chicken curry and vegetable masa an both with sticky rice. Very good, fresh, tasty, spicy but not drowned in sauce. We finished with jasmine tea. It was very good. We will be back and will take some discerning foodie friends who have never been completely satisfied with Thai food restaurants. I feel confident they will like this one! Would recommend booking even on a week night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 846Tina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not sure its the best meal ever had in a restaurant, but certainly very good. best place in Winchester for a very tasty and reasonably priced lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Brasserie also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 
Kings Worthy, Winchester
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing