We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food & Service”
Review of Bangkok Brasserie - CLOSED

Bangkok Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of HARDENS Top 10 Thai Restaurants in the UK The distinctive flavours of Thai cuisine with hints of fresh coriander, fish sauce and lemon grass are the result of a special national talent for blending a great variety of spices and herbs. The sauces are light, the flavours subtle and elusive - the reason why Thai food has become one of the most popular dining experiences in the world today. This taste sensation, along with the world renowned Thai hospitality, is now available in Winchester.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went on a Monday lunchtime and the restaurant was quite quiet. The service was very attentive but not overly so. The food was absolutely delicious but not as spicy as we expected and not as spicy as we would have liked. We will definitely be returning to check it out in the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    126
    46
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai cusine in Winchester”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Father's Day lunch yesterday with our 2 kids aged 21 and 11 and it was superb. The restaurant is located in central Winchester which gives an opportunity to walk off lunch if you've over indulged! We're ardent fans of Thai food and I have to say that the standard of the food here was very good. Everything was piping hot and obviously freshly prepared and the flavours were perfect. The restaurant itself is pleasantly furnished with smartly dressed staff who are attentive but not to the point of being annoying.

Plenty of choice on the menu and drinks are reasonably priced. The bill was £100 for the 4 of us which was a little on the expensive side for lunch but the standard of the food warranted it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Thai Cuisine and very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent food. Very reasonably priced. Nice location. Friendly staff. Child friendly. Absolutely loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bangkok Brasserie - A Jewel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited this restaurant for lunch yesterday. I do not know Winchester. It was just a meeting place to have lunch with Dad. I found the restaurant on Trip Advisor and it came highly recommended. Well it was superb. Fantastic value for money lunch menu and the food exquisite. The wine list was a little on the pricey side but they have to make their money somewhere and the wine was good. I wish I lived nearer to this place. A really pleasant environment and the Thai Green Curry best I have ever tasted. Well worth a visit and please open one in Reading soon!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Friendly Experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Three friends and I lunched at the BB following a recommendation and the reviews in TA. We chose from the express lunch menu and all went for different items. Thai food in the UK can be pretty dire but the BB came up with a some good food over all three courses. The service was excellent; the charming young lady ensured we had a great meal and was friendly without being over bearing.
It would have been a five but the 'Thai Dim Sum' I had was exactly the same as the 'warehouse' Chinese style my (Chinese) family buy. The bill was very reasonable and the restaurant is very smart and clean - shame I couldn't give 4.5 stars. I will certainly visit again when in Winchester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Brasserie also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Kings Worthy, Winchester
Twyford, Winchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing