We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North West UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Posh Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for one night in their suite room with a baby. Chose the suite so we could have a meal/ evening in the room whilst our daughter slept quietly. This worked well the room was huge and strangly overlooks the main reception. Everything was as described including extras which is relaxing. Booked early and paid a fair price x room service good and staff helpful. Only slight problem was no black out curtains and bedroom has large windows that overlook front door ( but we had emergency black out we take away when traveling with our baby so used that) no sound despite being over reception and very nice bathroom sitting area and large bed x would recommend for something a bit special if your need to stay in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Mrs EEEEE,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The suite is as popular as ever with our guests for the space as you mentioned. I am thrilled that you found our team so helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    364
    108
    28
    13
See reviews for
263
319
43
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel looks good and has a lot of modern features with a free car park. However at check-in I was treated to sullen faces and arrogance beyond belief. Apparently - according to the guy behind the desk "this is not a Holiday Inn. Look around you, we are much better than a Holiday Inn" and "we don't recognise the platinum rewards system because we aren't a regular Holiday Inn and you don't get the Priority Club package here." He was showing off to a trainee and trying to make us look stupid, which is hardly the way any guest should be treated. In the rooms, the sink is so high I need a step to reach it and the bath is one that slopes so that you can't anchor yourself in position and just sink under the water - very dangerous. We will never go back there again.

Room Tip: If you are short don't have a bath and make sure you take a step so you reach the sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RainbowThanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2011. The hotel was very new and had a great feel to it. Staff were lovely and really helpful. Our family room was very large and the bathroom was luxurious. The buffet breakfast was great. We were there on an advance booking deal and the value for money was tremendous. The only fault with it for us was that we were traveling by train and it was quite difficult to get to the hotel as the bus service to it from the train station finished at 7pm. Having said this - a short taxi ride to the hotel was as cheap for our family as catching the bus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Vicki095,

We were thrilled to have you and your family at the hotel! I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team regarding how helpful you found them all.

Delighted you enjoyed the breakfast buffet which is excellent value.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stay in a lot of hotels both in theUK and abroad and I have to say that the quality of the customer service in the UK is a below par at times. The front desk staff were fine, it was the bar and restuarant staff that let this hotel down considerably. I was made to stand and wait at the bar while the girl there made a phone call, then wandered slowly off to get something leaving the bar with no staff. She returned 5 minutes later to serve me! Yes she apologised, but on a busy evening do you really leave a bar unattended to go and get someone else crisps!

The second issue was breakfast. I had the audacity of coming down for breakfast at 9:10 when it finished at 9:30. I was put at a table in a completely separate section of the dinning room and told the buffet was over there. That was it, no good morning, nothing.

The breakfast, well I was disgusted and it would seem I wasnt the only one as I heard someone who had the cheek to come even later at me complaining as well. There was nothing left. I had the choice of cereal, or toast, or bacon or sausages and some grapefruit. Everything else had been cleaned out with lots of empty bowls and plates left where the food should have been and as it was late it wasnt topped up. If you say that breakfast is served until 9:30 then you have everything available until 9:30, maybe not in vast quantities but at least give your guests some choice.

Finally, why are modern hotels built so that you cannot open windows in the bedroom but have to put on air conditioning if you want to cool the room. Yes there are times when air con is lovely, but I would much prefer to have some fresh air when I am sleeping.

I normally like staying in Holiday Inn's as there are certain things like the choice of pillows that appeal to me and while in essence this is a nice hotel and the rooms are finished to an excellent standard, I will not be hurrying back as you can have all the appearances right, but if your staff dont know how to deal with customers than you will always fail to make a good impression.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Irish_gremlin,

I was very disappointed to read your comments on your recent stay. We as a hotel pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, which I am sorry to say you did not receive on this occasion. I will be dealing with the relevant team matters and assure you that this will be dealt with.

If you wish to contact me directly siobhan.thomasson@hiwinchester.co.uk

thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I would agree with the positive remarks that others have made. The hotel may look austere from the exterior pictures but the rooms are spacious clean and very comfortable and reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Booked through the Priority Club which meant two hours complimentary internet access. My one quibble concerns the booking. I was sure that the website search gave me B&B rates but the hotel said it was B only and I did not feel inclined to quibble. The distance out of Winchester is no problem as the country road into the city is quick and straight.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomingPigeon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear HomingPigeon49,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always great to read and pass on to the team.

When booking via the Holiday Inn website the first rate it always shows is a room only rate, the second rate is a Bed and Breakfast rate. If you would prefer we have our in house reservations team who will always be happy to help.

Many Thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I know how hard it is to find a good hotel with service to match, but this one has it.

I stayed 3 times in July 2011, six nights in total.

At each check-in I was welcomed as a Priority Club Platinum member and given a complimentary upgrade to an executive room (unlike Holiday Inn Reading M4 Junction 10 where staff refuse to upgrade guests to executive rooms). Reception staff are efficient, friendly and serve with a smile.

Rooms are spotless with comfortable beds and good sound proofing. The TV's have flat screens, 24 hour internet and all movies can be purchased for £15. Bathroom towels are thicker than other Holiday Inn hotels.

I rarely eat dinner in hotels because of the poor value but here I had an excellent two course meal with a draft German beer for around £27, not too bad :-)

Housekeepers often annoy me by shouting in the corridors and slamming doors, but not here. They work quietly and do an excellent job.

The only possible grumble for leisure travellers is the location of the hotel, around 3 miles outside the city, but this did not bother me as I was staying on business and I prefer quiet hotels anyway.

If only all Holiday Inn's were like this......

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Lucky_Oxford,

What a fabulous review, thank you. The team work extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay which you have had on your numerous visits. I know it is not always possible to upgrade all of our Platinum memebrs and we try with our sleep packages to ensure that you are recognised as a valued customer.

We have taked note of our customer reviews and have changed our menu style, whilst keeping to local fresh produce and am delighted that you have enjoyed this.

Although 18 months old we constantly strive to manitain the same high standards from day one including cleanliness.

Thank you again for your comments, it was a pleasure to pass this to all team members especially housekeeping!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I've travelled for business and have stayed at a lot of hotels world wide and really object to having to pay for internet access and all the hassles that go with it. So Holiday Inn gets a big thumbs down as it's a rip off to pay extra for such a service which is common place to be FREE. I'll be staying at the pubs/B&B's in Alresford down the road from now on.

Hotel is new - just Very dissorganized - yes they tried to double charge me for breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamLBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear AdamLBowden,

Thank you for your recent review, which I was disappointed to read. We actually offer half an hours complimantary wi fi for all our guests and additional wi fi benefits for our priority club members. The price for further wi fi is very competitive as we appreciate that more and more of our guests continue to work after they have checked in.

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing