We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good for a short break.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I have recently had a four night break with my Probus club at the Holiday Inn, Winchester. The situation is very central for local attractions, ie Salisbury, Beaullieu motor museum, New Forest etc. The hotel is very clean and airy and the staff are all polite and efficient. Our room was very spacious but we had no view. We were looking out straight onto a wall with windows just a few yards away. It may have been a hotel annex. However the maid kept it spotless. The breakfast was the best meal for us. It was really appetising. A great choice of food. The evening meal was adequate but nothing special. There was a choice of a meat, fish or vegetarian courses. I just wish this hotel had been within walking distance of the odd pub or the city centre because the drinks prices were astronomically high, especially to us northerners, £4.40 for a pint of lager and £4.20 for a pint of bass. Having said all this we had a good time and felt that we were well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigcar0lpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you craigcarolpalmer for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate that for dinner the choices are limited however this was agreed by the organisers with the team.

It is great that you managed to see so much of Winchester and Hampshire on your visit, having lived in Yorkshire, I hope you agree although very different from Yorkshire, equally beautiful!

Thank you again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    367
    109
    28
    15
See reviews for
266
323
44
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Right away from the City Centre so big tick in the box for external quietness. Lots of spaces in the large car park.

The hotel has a modern design, and maybe rather antiseptic in the public areas. Certainly plenty of room in the hotel lobby, but all the action is on the lower ground floor where the bar and restaurant can be found.

Again, all very corporate around a bustling central bar and it's the first time I've seen little TV screens on bar pumps. When we stayed, a large, but civilised, Christmas do was taking place in one of the function rooms. All well-contained and wouldn't have known it was going on save for the separators across the bar area.

We were actually booked into the Executive Room on the first floor, which is located off the beaten track in a staff access area. So internal quietness pretty much guaranteed too. A very impressive room once inside. Long but certainly not thin, with plenty of square footage. Everything that you could want e.g. minibar, safe, hot beverage facilities, 2 flat screen TV's, ample storage space and flat tops. dining table and chairs, ironing board, easy to operate room temperature, and plenty of seats. Only oddity was the tiny wardrobe with 7 coat hangers and one dressing gown
.
The duvet covered bed was amply comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless and a had a huge shower compartment which was efficient with simple controls
.
Slept very well indeed overnight, and not disturbed in the slightest.

Down to breakfast in the bar/restaurant area next morning. Hot and cold buffet seemed reasonably well stocked and ably maintained. Tea and coffee is delivered in flasks, but if you ask for a specialty tea you'll get a pot and teabags - hot tip!

But the overriding memory will be the staff - what a happy, jolly lot they were. Mostly young, but all seemed genuinely friendly and focussed. From Reception to the bar staff, to the restaurant team to the room servicers - all so keen and happy to engage. Not one grumpy disinterested misery spotted anywhere!

I'd certainly be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Executive room 333 highly recommended - it's big, quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmParkRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
WOW, Thank you so much ElmParkRoyal,

What a fabulous review! We are very lucky with our suite, which is a beautiful room.
I just wanted to say thank you for your lovely comments regarding our team. I am so proud of them for always being upbeat, polite, professional, especially when we are so busy, knowing how important it is that each guest has a lovely stay. I have passed on your delightful comments to them all.

Many thanks again and I hope we see you back here soon.

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here for a meeting and the stay was perfect. I had forgotten my gloves in the lobby, on my return home realised I had left them I phoned the hotel and left a message for someone to contact me back. I had a guy I think called Mr Richardson the reception manager and he could not do more to help me and put them straight into the post for me. great guy!!!

room was big, clean and staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much Massimo B for your lovely comments!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay including your meeting and that we were able to return your gloves. I have passed on your comments to our reception manager who said he was delighted to help!

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent a weekend break at this hotel and it surpassed all our expectations . We came to meet up with family to see the Christmas markets? Don't be put off by the outside, it really does not do this hotel justice. The staff are so efficient and really friendly. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the rooms were brilliant. The only downside to the room was that there was no instruction on how to set/reset the air con/heating control on the wall.

We had an evening meal in with our deal and it was excellent. Beautifully served and presented and quick service too. Lovely ambience in the restaurant and the waiting staff were so nice . Nothing was any trouble to them. We would love to return and perhaps visit the space centre and planetarium which is right next door.

The breakfast was superb and the choices were amazing. Lovely fresh fruit and yogurts, cooked breakfast with any choice of eggs as to how you wanted them cooked, poached, fried, scrambled, you name it . We even had pancakes to follow and they were freshly cooked and delicious. Lovely fresh pastries too if you could find room!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanterburyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
CanterburyBridge,

You have given us a huge reputation to live up to!! Thank you. I am delighted that you had such a fabulous weekend and enjoyed our restaurant, which we are very proud of.

We Look forward to seeing you on your return

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booking through email was super easy. We arrived late evening and check in was fast so kids didn't have to wait longer than necessary. Our room was great considering there were 5 of us and there was still enough room in the family room. Breakfast spread was delicious. Very near to Winchester town. Free wifi was a bonus. Staff very friendly and efficient. Left my cardigan behind and when I called up, Amy found it and arranged for it to be shipped internationally back to me. Can't beat that!
Not sure about the green light in the bathroom and the extra bed wasn't ready when we got to the room but overall a fabulous stay. My kids loved staying there too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much. I have passed on your fabulous review to the team to share.
I hope you all had a safe journey home.


Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We held our Christmas party at the hotel. The staff were brilliant and service was great, the food was lovely - great quality and a great night was had by all. Would definitely come back for another Christmas do.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen_j_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
helen_i_8

Thank you for such a wonderful review!! I am delighted that we have started your xmas celebrations with such a bang! Enjoy the rest of your Christmas.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a very large hotel, with a spacious lobby and public rooms, which was easy to find on the outskirts of Winchester, with plentiful parking. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, my room was well appointed; a good size with everything I needed, including thank goodness real soap in the bathroom. My only gripe was the £3 charge added to the cost of a sandwich for room service and the fact the only option on offer at breakfast is a full English breakfast. I only wanted a juice, a coffee and a slice of toast and we agreed on a price of £8. If I stay here again I will give breakfast a miss and call in at a service station on route for a pack of sandwiches if I am likely to need room service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastlight54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you eastlight 54 for your comments.

I have noted your comments regarding breakfast and room service and will be looking into these with the team.

We look forward to seeing you back here in the future.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,221 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing