We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel had a very different feel to it, the restaurant appeared to be below ground level, but then you realise that the back of the hotel is a level below when you go down there.The rooms were very spacious as was the whole hotel, all staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you RogerK for a fabulous review!

It is great when our guests take time out to review us, we really do appreciate it.

Thanks again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    367
    109
    28
    14
See reviews for
264
322
44
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Quiet location only 5 mins from Winchester, wonderful service the staff as a whole could not be better. A special thank you to the wonderful lady running the bar whose great sense of humour made our trip. Food was first class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
WOW!

Thank you so much karenj for your fab review!

I have passed on your comments to the bar team and know how much they appreciate such lovely feedback.

I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel has excellent free parking and feels very new. It has a huge bright lobby and plenty of seating there This overlooks the restaurant area on a lower floor. The staff were all cheerful, friendly and welcoming - and both checkin and checkout were rapid and efficient. Our room was on the lobby floor and so was easy to access. It was much larger than average and was bright and very well equipped with the usual very comfortable Holiday Inn beds and pillows. Storage space for clothes was reasonable and there was a good desk and very comfortable chair. The bathroom was excellent and the over-bath shower was wonderful and powerful. There was plenty of in-room coffee and good choice of programmes on the TV. We had an excellent night's sleep with good blackout curtains and absolutely no noise. Overall this was an excellent hotel - only slightly marked down as it is a few miles from the city in a green field site and so you are rather isolated and cannot get to restaurants or the city without a car. However if you want a good night's sleep and a very good hotel with excellent staff and are content to eat at the hotel restaurant, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you Will S for your kind comments after your recent stay.

It was fabulous to read that apart from location you had a great stay. We are 2.4 miles from the city which also gives us such a peaceful location.

A special thank you for being our 500th reviewer! We really do appreciate all our feedback and work hard on what we can improve.

Thank you again and I hope if you are in the area to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHEND-ON-SEA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at this HI for two nights with my and daughter on a visit to Peppa Pig World. The hotel is very modern and smart with an excellent welcome from reception staff. The rooms although not huge are comfortable with good ac and most features you need. Our arrival was early evening, so we headed straight to the restaurant, where a short wait was needed, I therefore went to the bar, where four staff were working, but with only myself and one other, I still had to wait five minutes to be served. We were soon seated and our order taken, on arrival my wife's order had been taken incorrectly, the Manager was soon at the table to apologise for the problem, but it still took ten plus minutes to turn out a rare sirloin steak, even then it was minus the mushroom, after a further ten minutes , half a mushroom appeared. We were offered a free round of drinks. Breakfast was good, with the exception of no fried eggs, if they were available, there was nothing to say they were.
On our return from Peppa Pig, we were informed we would have to move to another room as the door lock had broken, we moved to an Exec room. Dinner went to plan and were given another free round of drinks and starters. Food in the restaurant is excellent, and worth a visit. After reading all this, you could be put off, but please don't be, this is an excellent hotel with all the staff trying very hard, I do feel the training is lacking in some areas, but all issues were dealt with, without a need to complain, and that is something I do not hesitate to do, if needed. Without the issues, I would have given five stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much Lindty for your comments on your recent stay.

It is great to see that generally you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our food. I am working with our manager on the issues you encountered. The bar have just recruited some new team members, so we will be focusing on customer care and service with them.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had 2 nights here before a cruise out of Southampton. Hotel is only a couple of years old, just out of Winchester. Plenty of parking and reception excellent. Rooms and restaurant for all meals excellent. Beds and furnishings very comfortable. One of the best HI's I have stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much Lesmary for such a wonderful review!

I am delighted it was such a comfortable stay, and hope it made a relaxing start to your cruise.

Thank you again, we really do appreciate the time our guests take to review their stay.

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had high hopes for this hotel although only a stopover on a trip to the south east for a family funeral. I had booked three rooms. The reception area was very impressive as was the welcome by the staff, acknowledging my IHG status and assuring me there would do anything to make our stay comfortable .......

Please note that all the points here were raised during the stay. I do get irritated by Hoteliers responses below the review as the best course of action is always to fix it during the stay rather than repetitive platitudes afterwards.

Rooms on the -1 floor level. My heart sank when we were told to take the lift down from recpetion. We skirted the dining room and walked to the very end of the corridor. Our room looked like a basement room and was small. The foldaway bed was tiny with an inadequate mattress, no duvet and a hole in the blanket. I phoned reception and asked if an upgrade was available to a double double. Yes it was, but only for an additional £30. I was hoping for this as a gesture but was told that this was not possible as the rooms available (3) could still be sold - it was 7.30pm!

Wifi - non existent in these rooms - especially 102. James came down and could see my phone would not pick up the hotels network. He said he would reset it for our room, this made no difference whatsosever. The room is obviously too far away from the router. I was unable to work online. I also pointed out our disappointment to James, the lack of duvet and the poor foldaway bed. I was told there might be a new foldaway bed with a thicker mattress but he wasn't sure as they could be in use elsewhere in the hotel. Problem again not solved.

Restaurant - lovely waitress, overpriced a la carte with the smallest fish portion I have ever seen in my life. Breakfast was perefectly fine except for terrible coffee.

This hotel, once it starts losing its gloss, is not much more than a Premier Inn but prices itself as a Hilton. It is really an H I Express. And when the push came to shove the customer service was ineffectual.

Room Tip: Dont get an -1 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickihof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Nickihof,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay which I was so sorry to read was such a disappointment.

All of our rooms, except our family rooms are exactly the same size, rather you have a room on our lower ground floor or indeed the top floor. They always look a little smaller with an extra bed in. Generally our guest find our rooms to be of a good size. Housekeeping have been completing an audit of all extra beds and bedding. It was not acceptable that it was not up to standard and am sorry that is how you found it.

Generally our Wi-Fi is good but on this occasion was not up to standard. Again I must apologise.

As you will see from here it is not often we get it wrong or fail to put it right for our customers and I do take these matters very seriously and am putting in place steps for this not to happen again.

Thank you again for your comments

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there on Saturday night and found staff really cheerful and friendly - both on arrival and departure. Excellent value for money - great room, lovely bar and good location. Only criticism is the heating in the room. It was freezing when we arrived and became too hot during the night. We were told to contact reception next time as they can control it from there!

Room Tip: just contact reception if you have trouble with the temperature in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much Stoep for your fantastic comments!

I am very pleased you had such a fabulous stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

All the bedrooms do have air con controls which you can set your own room at your own temperature, but we can also do this from reception, so whichever is easier for you. I have taken on board your comments, and we are currently updating all the instructions for the use of air con in the rooms so I do hope this will address the issue you encountered.

Many thanks again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,719 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
776 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing