We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Notice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Mead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Short Notice”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I













































I had to stay in Winchester area at short notice and was really pleased with the selection I made from the T A site.Clean tidy compact en suite double. Great location lovely views pub down the road cant fault the place.Best breakfast I,ve had in a long time. Perfect, no hesitation in recommending Little Mead.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladiator44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    19
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
63
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here as we had a dinner arranged close by. From the moment you stepped through the door you feel a warm and friendly atmosphere. décor from a personal life lived with interesting bits and bobs on the walls and shelves around the rooms. The owners are extremely helpful, hospitable and are interested in the running and success of there business.
We had a wonderful breakfast at a communal dining table where you can converse with others who are also staying.
we will definitely stay again should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMead771, Owner at Little Mead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are so glad that our guests enjoyed their stay, which was all to brief for us! Even better we managed to reunite them with a pair of pyjama trousers which were accidentally left behind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This B&B is a lovely house in the little village of Sparsholt, roughly a 15-minute drive west of Winchester. The house is large, with three bedrooms available and the rest of the house still feeling a lot like a family home. The couple who run it are very friendly and helpful, and their dogs are also very friendly (but well-behaved)! We found it to be a lovely peaceful retreat for a weekend break, enjoying views of the village from our room and a good chat with other guests over breakfast each morning. (We met one other traveller who stays there regularly on her way to visit family, and if I had a reason to return to the area I would try to stay there again too.) We also ate in The Plough two evenings in a row and were very happy with the food and service there.

Room Tip: Garden room has lots of light from windows on two sides, and plenty of space for a twin room. Do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skittledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place offering 3 bedrooms. My room was a reasonable size with a private ensuite shower room. A lovely view over the extensive and well kept gardens. Tea making facilities and tv with all freeview channels are provided, as is free wifi.

The bed was a little soft for my liking but comfortable enough.

Breakfast was freshly cooked, with a good selection of quality produce.

The ownerscwere friendly, warm and welcoming. The place had a very homely feel.

My only issue were the other guests. The children were running around, banging doors and shouting. My room door was tried on a number of occassions. I had to lock it as I didn't appreciate people half walking in & out again. I wouldn't mind but no apologies. These people showed a disregard for me as another guest. A real shame as I could imagine the place normally being very tranquil.

This does not effect my opinion of the b&b. A lovely little place tucked away in a quiet village,

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMead771, Owner at Little Mead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We are so sorry to read that our guest was disturbed by children from an adjoining room. As the reviewer surmises, the peace and tranquility, which normally prevail, are qualities, which we want our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

We encourage our guests to raise problems with us as soon as they arise. In this way we can ensure that they are immediately remedied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Hofgastein, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The couple, who run the B&B are very nice and make you feel right at home. They were very helpful with our plans for dinner and sightseeing. Very nice garden and great location in a quiet little village near Winchester. Nice room and great breakfast.

Room Tip: We, two girls, chose the Garden Twin Room, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights whilst undertaking a course at the Sparsholt College, literally just down the road. Excellent service from the warm welcome on arrival to the individually cooked breakfast each morning. Beautiful garden and comfortable room with all amenities. Couldn't fault the service given by this friendly couple and happy dogs! The local pub was just a short walk away for superb food and ambience. Would highly recommend this B & B to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The picture of the back tells little about the superb garden and great rural setting of this most attractive home,where the welcome is first class.The two dogs are real characters but well disciplined and friendly beasts,happy to receive attention, but no trouble.The beds in the twin room were absolutely superb for a good nights sleep and breakfast cooked to order as we enjoyed talking with our hosts .Unfortunatelt The Plough suffered a relapse on our visit,but our hosts were quick to speak up on our behalf ,and an apology ,coupled with a donation to charity resulted;all this was just remarkable and emphasises how the couple genuinely care about and for their guests.We would definitely return,and its a wonderful location to explore Wichester and environs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMead771, Owner at Little Mead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
The lapse at the Plough was most unusual and it says a lot for the quality of their management that they dealt so comprehensively with our complaint. We are so glad that this experience did not deter from our visitors' enjoyment of their stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Mead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Mead Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little Mead Bed and Breakfast
Address: Little Mead Home Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester SO21 2NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Mead Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a tree-lined lane in the village of Sparsholt near Winchester, this lovely family run Bed and Breakfast overlooks the Parish Church. Local attractions include walks in the extensive woodlands and some of the best fly fishing in the world on the River Test. Stonehenge and Portsmouth are just 45 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Little Mead Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing