We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed and breakfast I would recommend.”

29 Christchurch Road
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Christchurch Road
Ranked #21 of 52 Winchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is one of the nicest B&B's I have ever stayed in. My mother and I stayed for 3 nights so that we could visit the Christmas market in Winchester. Mrs. Fetherstone Dilke was very welcoming and helpful, and a very charming host. The rooms are extremely tastefully furnished, warm, and spotlessly clean, as was the en suite bathroom. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked with plenty of choice. It was very handy having the free parking right outside. The beds are very comfortable and the street is quiet, so no problem sleeping. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for 29 Christchurch Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our host mrs. Fetherston-Dilke made us feel welcome right at arrival. Parking was free in front of the best B&B in Winchester. We had a proper room with a good clean ensuite. On the landing we found a wall full of books with the best of English literature.
The B&B is perfectly situatuated just 10 minutes walk from downtown Winchester. We received handfull tips what to see and what to avoid. Perfectly breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade jam and yoghurt. From Winchester we could drive out into the beautiful county Hampshire. Big tip: visite all the places where Jane Austen lived and worked. She is buried in Winchester Cathedral. Well worth a visit for a few days and enjoy a good nights sleep in 29 Christchurch Road Winchester

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brocktorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011


This bed and breakfast had clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms with a delicious breakfast but nothing is worth the poor service we received from the proprietor. After arriving from a 9 hour flight with two hours of sleep, she welcomed us by talking down the entire time and asking far too many questions about our itinerary while insulting our laid-back travel plans. I could not understand how anyone would care so much about our plans. Being helpful is fine, not being rude. She even went as far as to call me unorganized and talk down to my travel companions. She asked, "Where are you staying in London?" After telling her the location and not knowing where it was she says, "Hmf... London is filled with 7 million people... You'll have to do better than that." Very poor people skills to the point where all we wanted to do was jump out the window in the middle of the night to escape interrogation and harassment the next day. We lost sleep the next night even though we only had two hours of sleep after a long plane ride. Not a good welcome to town.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelgurumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This a lovely Regency style private house, very well furnished and with an elegant air. Both the bedroom and its associated ensuite were of good quality and very warm and comfortable. There are all the usual modern conveniences in the bedroom.
Breakfast was good and well presented and cooked.
It is located within walking distance of Winchester city centre it is a quiet area, and there was nothing to suggest we were within the town itself.
It is slightly inconvenient there is no private parking; this is outside on the street but it is a quiet neighbourhood and gave no cause for concern.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaselshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia F, Owner at 29 Christchurch Road, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bleumagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.9 mi away
Just a B
Just a B
#23 of 52 in Winchester
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hannah's
Hannah's
#1 of 52 in Winchester
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
No.5 Bridge Street
No.5 Bridge Street
#2 of 7 in Winchester
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#6 of 52 in Winchester
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Christchurch Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Christchurch Road

Address: 29 Christchurch Road, Winchester SO23 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Hotel Class:3 star — 29 Christchurch Road 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing