We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cottage in a pretty garden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lovely little cottage in a pretty garden”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed with Christine in the garden cottage on our first night of our second driving tour around the UK.from Australia
It was a perfect stop over after arriving from France, Christine made us very welcome and served a lovely breakfast in the pergola to enable us to enjoy the morning sunshine, very enjoyable..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    28
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
92
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

An excellent bed and breakfast reasonably priced and a small treasure tucked away just round the corner from the cathedral. the welcome was friendly and helpful, I was given fresh milk for the tea making facilities and served breakfast in the delightful garden. Not much more you coula ask for really. Thank you Christine

Room Tip: An excellent bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed while away on business and felt very welcome by the owner into the family home. Quirky little place and cracking location! I was in the room in the house, but would definitely opt for the garden room next time. Breakfast was a lovely home cooked English breakfast, fresh coffee, jams and marmalades, with also choices of cereals. I think parking can be arranged with the owner, but I didn't have a car with me so best to check.
Winchester is the prettiest of locations and there is so much to do. The location of this place gives you the perfect location to explore.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank disco_munro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handcross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I stayed with Christine and Gareth for a night before attempting to ride the South Downs Way. I don't think we could have chosen a more perfect place. The accommodation is unusual being a garden room designed and constructed by Gareth from reclaimed materials and is very comfortable. Cathedral Cottage is no more than 200 yards from King Alfred's Statue, the official start of the South Downs Way.
We wanted to start our journey at about 5.30 am and Christine arose at 4.30 to prepare a carb laden breakfast for us. Our bicycles were securely kept for the night and Gareth managed to rearrange the cars in the street to make a space for our car which stayed for 36 hours.
I would, without reservation, recommend Cathedral Cottage for a stay in Winchester.
Thank you Christine and Gareth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a one nights stay at this B & B to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the garden view room which was spacious and bright, with TV, fridge and en-suite. The view of the garden was beautiful for this time of year and very quiet. Ideal location for town centre with only a few minutes walk to the cathedral. We would highly recommend this place and would definitely go back. Christine was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in this b and b for one night as we were going to a concert at Winchester Cathedral. The location was excellent- right in the centre of town, about 2 minutes from the Cathedral. The room was spacious, clean and bright. Looking out from the room you have a view of Christine's beautiful garden, which gives you the feeling of being quite secluded. The breakfast was delicious and Christine was a pleasant and friendly host. I would definitely recommend the Cathedral Cottage B and B!

Room Tip: Go for the garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference at The Cathedral. We had a lovely stay and were made to feel very welcome and looked after. We stayed in the garden room, the accommadation was very clean, it was nice to have fresh milk in the fridge for making cups of tea and coffee. Christine cooked a fantastic breakfast and was also helpful in providing us with a map and giving us some ideas of where to go to in the town. Lovely house in a beautiful setting. Would definately recommend it and would go back if I find myself in Winchester again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Colebrook Street, Winchester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast is located in the centre of historic Winchester. Within easy reach of great restaurants, pubs, local attractions, university, train station, bus station, shops and river walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cathedral Cottage Hotel Winchester
Cathedral Cottage b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing