We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub but average accommodation”
Review of The Running Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Running Horse
Ranked #11 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice pub but average accommodation”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Its a good looking pub situated in the countryside just outside of Winchester. We didn't eat dinner here as it was a bit expensive, but found the breakfast was tasty. The staff were friendly and provided good service. The rooms are chalet-like, but clean and adequate, without being exceptional. They were good value, perhaps 2*/3* and certainly sufficient for one night, but perhaps limited for a long stay. No WIFI in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    55
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
42
63
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I booked this hotel short notice; it is situated in a beautiful part of Winchester. I will start with the down side. The room was on the late booking site with Wi-Fi in all rooms which it is not so was unable to work in room and had to go into the bar. For the life of me I cannot understand why hotels have such a problem with this. When on business its a must. As for the rest of my short stay it was faultless. The accommodation is chalets which are very modern, double bed, coffee & tea making. Nice TV with DVD input. The bathroom was spotless and a good shower. They give you a complementary bottle of water which I liked. The service was polite and professional. Seating outside for drinks & attracts a nice clientele.
Ordered mature rump stake with a Pate starter which was first class. The beer was superb and sat down happily and watched the England match. Spotlessly clean.
Smoked haddock for breakfast. The manager apologised for the Wi-Fi and gave me a complementary drink.
Left very happy.
£ 92.20 for the stay.

Room Tip: The steak was very very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Arrived for a birthday meal and it took 1 hour before we were served our starters. After we had eaten them we were told that there would be a bit of a wait as one of the chefs had not turned up for work. Waited three hours for the food altogether and were not overly impressed. Perhaps it was because it had taken three hours and our spirits were low because of this. The food seemed to be lacking in flavour. The management and service was definitely not upto standard. Have visited this restaurant in the past and always been happy with food and service so very disappointed that we will now be looking for somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice pub tucked away with superb service and great food. However the accommodation is far from 4* - where the AA got that from I cannot understand. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. Lunch and dinner menu's will cater for all tastes and the pub is family friendly too.

Shame about the accommodation and if you book - make sure you do not get room 3. The very annoying emergency light stares from above the door all night like your own personal "lighthouse" - and the bed is barely a double. The bathroom reflects the room - small and adequate.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadstonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice pub/restaurant, tastefully arranged and decorated, providing a relaxing environment for both drinking/sitting/chatting and eating. The evening meal was a choice between the bar menu and the restaurant menu. Husband chose from bar menu and I picked a meal from the restaurant menu. Both choices were nice, but in retrospect I would have preferred the 'earthier' bar type meal, as mine was a little bit too nouvelle cuisine for my taste. Breakfast the following morning was beautifully cooked and presented and there was a good choice to be had.

Our room was in one of the two chalet type buildings at the back. It was modern, clean, comfortable, functional. We chose a twin-bedded room as we find the standard 4'6 double beds a little narrow after 3 decades of marriage. We slept well.

The outside has nice seating areas, must be lovely on a warm day/evening, with views down to the little village of Littleton, the location is very rural and an easy approx 10-minute drive to Winchester, a place not to be missed.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and all in all I would not hesitate to return to the Running Horse.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamboleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Quaint rooms that look slightly hi-de-hi holiday camp, but decorated tastefully and modern inside. Although the building looks like a country pub, inside the decor and atmosphere is that of friendly good quality restaurant. I did not eat dinner there but had the full-English breakfast and it was delicious. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

It was good... and good value for money. My wife and I stayed to attend a family wedding and enjoyed our stay. We had dinner on Sunday evening, the day we arrived and were a little disappointed. I'm sure this was due to the fact that food was reheated from lunch. We were the only ones dining, along with one other couple. Having said that., we're sure that the restaurant food would be better at other times. Breakfasts were very good... but on our last day the East European waitress wanted to charge us extra for our 'speciality tea' - Lady Grey? This was small minded in view of the fact that we were staying 4 days... and what does a tea bag cost? It wasn't leaf tea or that fine. However, that misunderstanding was resolved and we left happy and would probably return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtLover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchester
2.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
5.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
198 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Running Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Property: The Running Horse
Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing