We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Running Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Running Horse
Ranked #14 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived a little before booking in time and in need of a beer and a sandwich - it was Sunday lunchtime. Although they were only really serving lunch they went the extra mile and rustled up a sandwich for us without any fuss. Then they helped with the luggage as my husband has a bad back. Just everything you could want was offered. Room quite small with not much hanging space, but fine for an overnight stop. Still you do get a cafetiere and proper coffee in the room. All of the staff were obviously taking their lead from the Manager(ess) she had a lovely manner. The food was great too with plenty of choice. Was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good. Set in chalets around a grassed area with seating. May be a problem if chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    53
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
37
57
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently stayed in a family room at The Running Horse, we really enjoyed our stay. Not only was the room very well kept, clean and of good proportion, the service was amazing. The members of staff were very accommodating to our needs (our children are 2 and 3). The breakfast ( which is included in the price), was really lovely and atmosphere in the restaurant was very relaxed ( even when trying to feed young children). Our evening meal was delicious. All in all a really great experience, a hotel that I will be recommending to my family and friends. Thankyou!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayflowerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just had a very pleasant two night stay. The place has a very nice and friendly feel to it. Seperate bar and dining area, good choice of local ales, with tasters readily offered
As we were eating there on our first night I downloaded a sample menue which looked somewhat limited in choice although there was something for every taste.
All eight of our group were delighted with the food, quality, portion size, and service.
The hard working staff are out to please.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only reason for not giving an "Excellent" rating is that the rooms are set in an L around the rear garden seating area and I was disturbed early morning by people talking outside. More to do with inconsiderate people than the Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high number. 1 is nearest the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We came upon this pub/restaurant by accident and were so glad we did, the initial reaction on entering was 'wow'! beautifully decorated combining modern and traditional, friendly welcoming staff and excellent menu choices. It was a Saturday evening, we hadn't booked but were accomadated without a problem even though the restaurant was busy. The outside eating space was also very inviting and this establishment also offers accomadation within the grounds. On checking this out online, these chalets are presented to a very high standard with stylish decor. Our plan is to return and stay overnight in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was always reluctant to eat at The Running Horse as it never seemed to know what it wanted to be. Was it a posh wine bar, a pub, a restaurant or a wedding venue. The pub was bought out by the Upham Brewery though, who now have a number of pubs throughout the south. The Runner has been redecorated and is now a proper pub with a separate restaurant. We ate there last week and what a change. I believe that the old chef has gone, along with all the old staff. Upham really know how to run a good pub now. The staff were friendly and attentive and the place had a lovely atmosphere. You still get the crossword crowd at the bar, which adds a nice bit of localism. They always seem to enjoy themselves!

For anyone who has used this place before, but were put off, give it another go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campfreddie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my family went here for my birthday meal. We went on a Saturday night.

Admittedly the pub was very loud and hot, luckily we were sat near a window.

The serving and bar staff were quite scruffy, I think a uniform would make all the difference and it would be in keeping with how clean and smart the place is.

The food was delicious and the portions were generous. My mum wasn't too keen on her main meal and she was given a refund of her meal without even asking, which was completely unexpected.

The maitre d was excellent - very observant, witty and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Booked pub as I needed to stay somewhere to support my sons work week. Booked via late rooms, but read the reviews..I travel a lot with work and don't normally risk pubs with rooms, especially Sunday to Friday..have to say it worked a dream. Good rooms. Good food. Good location. Really great staff who care and understand what personalisation means.
Well done... Will be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCGwheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Running Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Property: The Running Horse
Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing