We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B in Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ranelagh B&B

Ranelagh B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranelagh B&B
Ranked #35 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B in Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ranalagh B&B is in a perfect location in a quiet residential area ,within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and historical centre of Winchester. Chris and Margot are charming hosts and their lovely house is welcoming and interesting.The room we stayed in was very comfortable. This is definitely a place to stay.

Room Tip: Only saw our room ,which was at the back of the house and very quiet and comfortable and well equipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Needing a single room for one night in Winchester, I came across the Ranelagh on TripAdvisor and booked with Chris and Margot. I can truly say that they made feel at home from the minute I entered their delightful house. Full of interesting and beautiful memorabilia reflecting the interesting and creative lives of its owners, the house was charming, warm and cosy. I had the single room at the top of the house, and it was comfortable and had everything I needed for a relaxing night. Margot and Chris could not have been more welcoming and friendly hosts. I lingered long over the breakfast table after a hearty and delicious breakfast, to chat with both of them, and felt as though I had just met new friends. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Spent a wonderful weekend in Winchester seeing the Christmas market and found a wonderful and charming B&B to stay in. The host Chris was so welcoming and we stayed in a charming and toasty warm home with comfy bed and all mod cons for your stay. Breakfast was fab too. No scrimping on this and good quality. The B&B was a manageable short walk to the center of town. The house is full of Chris and his wife Margo's memorabilia which shows a journey into a long and wonderful life, something Chris kindly told us about (Sound interesting?).

Can't recommend this B&B enough, should you book do it quickly or you'll miss the chance to enjoy somewhere worth staying at. M&L

Room Tip: Only has a double and single room so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We came to Winchester for a wedding and were fortunate enough to stay with Chris and Margot in their home. This is wonderful bed and breakfast. The house is warm and charming, our room was cosy and clean and Chris cooked the perfect English Breakfast in the morning! Chris and Margot are very friendly and we feel very lucky to have found such a welcoming place to stay. We would recommend it to our friends and family and hope to return again soon. Nigel and Katie

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Chris and Margot are very welcoming and friendly people. Their home is very cozy and clean, and the breakfasts were amazing. The single with the en-suite bathroom was perfect for my purposes and the bed comfortable and warm.

I highly recommend this b&b!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judehermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed 3 nights here to coincide with this year's Southern Cathedrals Festival. Mr & Mrs Brown couldn't have been more charming and helpful as hosts and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in their home. It's situated about 10 minutes' level walk from the centre of the city.
Breakfast each day was excellent and freshly cooked, tea & coffee were available at all times, and the arrangements for coming and going were very easy and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntyKezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This could easily become one of Winchester's undiscovered treasures. The location is excellent, a quiet and pleasant side street which is just a 15 or 20 minute walk from the cathedral. There are only two guest rooms so you get the feeling that you are almost a member of the family. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is hearty. The price is right. What is wrong? The plumbing is stuck in the early 20th century. Please bring it up to date.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear one overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evanselisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Just a B
Just a B
#22 of 54 in Winchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Little Mead Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 54 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
31 Queens Road - Winchester
31 Queens Road - Winchester
#26 of 54 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranelagh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranelagh B&B

Property: Ranelagh B&B
Address: 4 Ranelagh Road, Winchester SO23 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margo Brown offer a warm welcome to our elegant, character victorian family home. Both cosy bedrooms are well furnished with comfortable beds and have their own bathrooms ( one en suite ) and flat screen TVs, drinks making facility and Wi-Fi. A 'Full English' or 'Continental' breakfast is included.There is free parking outside, and a frequent bus to the city centre. Level walking takes 10 - 15 minutes. Winchester offers a whole range of historic sites, restaurants, pubs, and, of course, our wonderful cathedral.Naturally, we aim to help our guests as much as we can with local information and suggestions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing