We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding at Lainston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
bishopstoke
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding at Lainston”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for my daughter Jodie's wedding to hekuran at Lainston on 25/ 5 /14.
On arrival made to feel very welcome by reception and escorted to room , Begonia suite , Wow ! The room was huge , bathroom huge , beautiful room .
On day of wedding , sun shining and we had the
He ceremony in the grounds and then wedding breakfast in dawley barn , staff from start to finish were fantastic , very professional and friendly , worked their socks off . My niece had sinus problems and they even offered to drive to nearest shops to find her some medication , how many hotels would do that !
The hotel is an amazing place and our guests even had the added bonus of seeing hawk display on day .
This hotel is fantastic for a wedding and the staff are amazing especially those that worked I the dawley barn and abi . So thank you so much from the brides parents . Your hotel is beautiful and you made my daughters day go off without a hitch . Will be back .

Room Tip: We had begonia which is quite traditional but lovely , my son had holly which was lovely with affini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear payne5,
Thank you for your outstanding review! We were really pleased to see the day clearing out to allow for a wonderful outdoor ceremony.

I will be delighted to pass your comments to the rest of the team.

We hope to see you all back very soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    206
    86
    46
    19
See reviews for
197
585
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laren, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The arrival is what you would hope for. A 1 mile park lane will bring you to the main gate, where the parked Bentley, Maserati and 15 year old Volvo give a way the kind of guest you will find. After a very warm welcome the interior of the rooms will impress you – brand new refurbished to every detail. At the hotel bar, with stunning landscape views, you are likely to end up sharing travel stories with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is completed by the typical British costumes of the staff. Exceeding expectations! The restaurant did not meet the expectations however.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo-Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ivo-Paul T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience at Lainston House.

I was pleased to see that the team and the atmosphere exceeded your expectations and that you were able to appreciate the staff uniforms and the quintessentially English setting of Lainston.

We are passionate about our food and would welcome your views on our menus. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Book through Secret Escapes for 1 night wish it had been more, when we booked in advised that we have been upgraded to a suite. WOW, Room was the Delft Suite was at the back of the hotel over looking the grounds with window seats x 3. Had a turn down service for the evening that we stayed and was very surprised to find that the towels we had used that evening had been changed. Water in the coffee machine also drained. Curtains pulled. Breakfast really good and plentiful.
Only flaw, piano in the lounge was too close to the seats and I caught my foot on the foot of the piano and also the weekly Sunday falconry display advertised was cancelled due to a wedding but nothing advising this. Only found out after the lady turned up late after waiting around after check out. Drinks Expensive. 1 tea, 1 latte, 1 gin cocktail and 1 vodka cocktail £37.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetsBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JetsetsBrighton,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lainston House. I am pleased to see that you had an overall very enjoyable experience. The Delft Suite is one of our Exclusive Junior Suites and has the benefit of some wonderful views over the Avenue.

I am delighted to see that the team's service, specially the Housekeeping team, were a highlight of your time with us along with the breakfast.

Thank you for your suggestion about the location of the piano - it has not been mention before but following your comments I will be reviewing the layout of the bar with the team. Taking into account that our bar only serves premium spirits and all cocktails are prepared by our trained mixologist I believe any drink in our menu represents outstanding value, especially when compared to other 5 star country house hotels in the local area.

Please accept our apologies for the late cancellation of our complimentary Sunday falconry display due to a last minute booking - I hope you were able to visit the Falconry centre and meet the rest of the birds. Maybe there is an opportunity to enjoy a falconry experience in the future? Our Owls by moonlight events are really popular and I hope you are able to combine it with another visit soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here on a secret escapes D, B & B offer and really enjoyed our stay. The house is set in beautiful grounds and is exceptionally quite and private. it was surprisingly busy on the patio with couples and groups enjoying afternoon teas, over looking the sweeping vista. we had a deluxe room on the top floor, Lilac, more like an attic. its an old beautiful house and there is obviously no lift. 1st floor wasn't too bad with a broad sweeping stair case, but the stairs to the loft rooms are small and tight and not the easiest to manoeuvre with bags for a 4 night mini break. You do get a lovely view over the gardens, but the windows in the roof area aren't big and they didn't open ore than 45 degrees. The bedroom was lovely and large with a super big bed and nice linens. I found the room on the dark side and it wast easy to read in there due lack of natural light. The other main big draw back is it was very warm in the eves of the house. lack of air flow from not being able to fully open the windows, meant we had to have to roof fan on all night. we were only there in May, and although the weather wad glorious, i can image that in summer it would be oppressive in those rooms in the heat. Staff were delightful and accommodating. The dinner was excellent. you don't get a lot, but after 3 courses, we felt replete. our offer only gave 2 coursed, but i paid the 10 pounds extra each to make it a 3 course. lot of lovely choices and some lovely bottles of wine on the wine list. i would love to go back but i wouldn't have a loft room unless it was winter. we had a walk around the gardens and the whole experience felt very special.

Room Tip: Don't have a deluxe loft room in summer, they get far too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Snowdy7,
Thank you for your review - I am truly pleased to see that you had an enjoyable visit.

The rooms at the top of the main house have indeed wonderful views and are full of character and are a favourite of many of our guests. There are other more accessible rooms available and the team is always at hand to help with any requests. Please give Sarah a call on our reservations line so she can help you find the perfect room for you.

I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the evening meal and took full advantage of the menu. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for just 1 night, taking advantage of a Secret Escapes D,B&B offer. This was based on a 'Deluxe' room. We were really surprised at the room as it seemed more like a suite. It was a sort of 'loft conversion' as we were in the eaves on the 2nd floor of the main hotel building. It was huge with great views, quirky decor, and superb views down 'The Avenue'.

Dinner in the Avenue Restaurant was excellent with very good service. The bars and Public areas all had that great ambience that can sometimes be found in British country house hotels. Breakfast the next day was flawless.

Finally, the great hospitality is complimented by the superb setting and wonderful grounds. A short but very nice stay for us. We will go back!

Room Tip: Mulberry Room has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had such a lovely stay at Lainston House Hotel. First thing we noticed was the excellent, accommodating and friendly service, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was happy and there to help. Dinner was gorgeous with lovely service. There was a wedding on but you didn't notice as they used a separate building. We liked the complimentary biscuits when we requested the fresh milk. Loved the room, very tasteful and loved the TV in the bathroom! Really nice toiletries too. We had a wander round the vegetable garden but it was raining heavily so didn't get much time to tour the grounds. We had a brilliant stay here mainly because everything was so tasteful and staff so accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A lovely hotel, lovely and attentive staff right through from checking in to dinner and drinks. Room was beautiful - we were given an upgrade to a suite (willow room) which was a lovely touch for our anniversary. Being quite tall I had to watch my head a little with the sloping roof in the bathroom but this was a minor inconvenience.
Only slight reservations were - the shower was poor with no pressure and a rusty old shower head and the side shower heads barely worked.
Dinner was really nice and service impeccable and friendly although the portion size was a bit small and a lot of the dishes had fish/shellfish so I wasn't able to have a starter as i didn't like any of the offerings.
There was a wedding on site but you wouldn't have known it as the wedding venue was away from the main body of the hotel so there was no noise at all.
It was a shame the weather was poor as we'd have liked to have had a proper walk round the amazing grounds of the hotel.
I would say this is a lovely place to stay - the staff particularly make a difference - nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
999 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing