We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quintessentially English setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A quintessentially English setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from this breathtakingly secluded location in glorious Hampshire countryside with outstanding cuisine. It was nice to experience such beauty and also to experience elegant dining at the same time.

Stayed in The Wolseley Suite which benefits from dual aspect grand sash windows that provided a fabulous position to watch their Summer Sunday concert of Pirates of Penzance, and also a prime position to see the Falconry display with the hotels resident Eagle Bella!

My room tip: This room has a luxurious bathroom with a superb shower and it's own Steam Room!

Room Tip: The Wolseley Suite for it's views down the lawns and it;s own in room steam room / shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear monster007
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that your experience met all your expectations and that the location of the room gave you the opportunity to enjoy our Open Air Theatre performance - one of our Summer Garden events. The next one will be our Swing into Summer Jazz concert (dancing encouraged!) on the 3rd August.

The Wolvesey Suite is indeed an fantastic room, it used to be the Master bedroom when the house was a private residence, but with the added benefit of some fantastic features as the Steam room you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your comments. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    199
    84
    46
    16
See reviews for
190
571
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at Lainston and everything was perfect - accept the weather! The barn is a stunning place to get married and the food was perfect. All our guests commented on how nice the venue was and the men's toilet game was a real talking point - let the competition begin!

If you are trying to decide whether to choose Lainston or not for your wedding venue just go for it you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Shaun M
Congratulations, once again and many thanks for posting your review - I will be delighted to share your comments with thethe team who looked after you and your friends and family. Thank you for your endorsement.

I look forward to seeing you both very soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Been meaning to write this review for a while now, stayed for a couple of nights in March with my wife as an anniversary getaway.

We were placed in the main house which was well appointed and spacious, everything you would expect to see was there and given the age of the house I thought it was maintained to a high standard. There was a nice view down the avenue but the trees were still quite bare when we went. The bathroom was great and was very welcoming after a long day exploring the area. No issues on the housekeeping as everything was very clean and I felt they were thorough during our stay.

One downside was the room could get chilly during the night as the windows are obviously not double glazed (understandly it wouldn't be in keeping with the house and probably not allowed) so a draft can be felt. Further to this the soundproofing was not great as you could hear conversations people were having in the courtyard below. However neither of these points prevented us from having a pleasant stay and would choose the same room again to be in the main house.

The restaurant itself was empty when we went except for a family. The children were being quite noisy and I appreciated the offer to be moved to the adjacent room however it did not bother us. Food was good but not great given the expense and we actually preferred ordering from room service as it seemed to offer better value than the restaurant (portions were bigger).

Afternoon tea was very popular, we enjoyed the selection of sandwiches and cakes but again quite dear.

All in all it was a pleasant stay but I do feel that the pricing was a little aggressive (I didn't feel cheated, but didn't feel I was getting the premium the pricing would indicate), even so I would recommend Lainston house especially for afternoon tea or if you manage to get a deal on accommodation that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear pk0,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is fantastic to hear that you had a enjoyable time at Lainston and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We are working on the notes to improve and I am looking forward to welcoming you back for what I am sure will be another great experience.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The gardens and grounds are simply beautiful. I look forward to our next visit. The food in the restaurant is everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality. Our bedroom was spotless with a bright modern bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Peter H,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lainston House - I am delighted to see that you thought the experience was a fantastic one and that you enjoyed both the food and accommodation.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a lovely weekend in this hotel. It is a stunning building set in beautiful countryside with very good customer service. We parked in front of the hotel and they then parked our car for us. Reception was very friendly and our room was ready, which was as described and very clean. Getting drinks outside in the sun was very slow and would be our only complaint. Our dinner was okay, but the service was very good. We missed breakfast as we got up late, but had coffee in our room. Family joined us for lunch and that was very enjoyable and at the end we met two of the birds – a sparrow hawk and a lovely young owl. It is worth walking around the grounds and also to the vegetable and salad gardens where the birds are also based.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sabine M
Thank you for reviewing Lainston House. I am really pleased to read that you had a lovely time with us and that the accommodation and grounds, specially at this time of the year, were the highlights of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We got a secret escapes deal here for one night in May and it was great. I think we were upgraded to a suite a the room was just ridiculous - massive walk in shower, TV in the spa bath, giant bed! The staff were excellent, really helpful and really friendly. Breakfast in bed only cost an extra £3.50 which is cheaper than most average hotels. Slight downside is that the cocktails were expensive and not that great, but I'm yet to have a decent cocktail anywhere in the world!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rekrabwuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Rekrabwuh,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the accommodation - It seems that you were staying in one of our Deluxe guest rooms which have a more modern feel to them. I suggest you try one of our Junior Suites next time, they are something quite different and very romantic.

I agree with you, breakfast in bed is one of those extra bits of luxury we don't usually find at home - I am delighted to see that you enjoyed it.

The Cedar bar has quite a reputation for Martinis and Bellinis and only premium spirits are used for all our cocktails. Other ingredients are sourced either from our own Kitchen Garden or the highest quality suppliers at the peak of their season. I confident next time the team will be able to mix that perfect drink for you.

Once again, thank you for your comments

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to the hotel as we were so impressed on our first visit. Once again lovely room, welcoming staff nothing too much trouble, yummy breakfast to start the day can't wait to book again. Many thanks to you all and well done.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John D,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that, once again, your visit was a memorable one.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing