We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good young efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good young efficient staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we were attending a large wedding nearby and most of the hotel was occupied by the bridal party.
The room we had was a long way from reception... A little like a mystery tour.... And it was large... Beautiful bathroom... Four poster bed... Beautiful....
Downside.. No internet...hot ...
Afternoon tea was lovely.... Albeit a little slow but they were extremely busy...

Breakfast a little quiet.... But food only ok... A little stingy on helpings on cooked English!,

Overall lovely hotel where the young staff who are helpful and cheerful make the hotel.

Don't expect flash, expect good decent staff and a homely feel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oscardogBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear oscardogBirminghamUK,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lainston House after attending a wedding at the Hotel.

Our internet provision with speeds up to 100MB allows us to guarantee enough bandwidth for our guests to enjoy their devices as they do at home and I am not sure why you were unable to connect. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly (Antonio@exclusive.co.uk) so I can investigate this on more detail.

I am really pleased to hear that the team looked after you and your party and that overall you had an enjoyable experience - we look forward to the next time.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    205
    86
    46
    18
See reviews for
197
584
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful location, fantastic building, gorgeous grounds, extremely helpful staff and delicious food.

I think our room was one of the cheaper ones but it was huge with a lovely modern but old-fashioned looking bathroom (I'm no expert but maybe 1920's looking?). It was on the ground floor with direct access to a semi-private garden.

We spent most of our time exploring the extensive gardens and grounds. I'm very glad that we had big appetites from all of our walking because the high tea, although large, was so tasty that we had to eat the lot. However, if you do partake of the high tea, make sure that you do walk it off so you can enjoy dinner. Often menus sound amazing but the food never quite lives up to the descriptions. Not the case at all here, in fact the food exceeded our expectations. There was even a separate vegetarian menu that offered the same high standard food (not just the usual boring fare that even top restaurants reluctantly churn out to vegetarians).

I wish that we'd had time to stay longer. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Let them know what you like and they'll do all they can to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear iwent,
Thank you for a great review of Lainston House. I am really pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time.

For the description of the room I believe you were in South Loggia, one of our Deluxe guest rooms - every room is different and I am delighted to read that your chosen room was perfect for your stay.

The grounds and gardens are worth a visit and what better excuse than to enjoy afternoon tea on the Terrace (weather permitting!) followed by a nice stroll before getting ready for dinner

We look forward to a longer stay next time!

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Service good, food lovely. We had cocktails outside and then decided to stay outside to eat. It was a glorious day and the gardens are very beautiful and the view from the terrace really peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ann A,
Happy Birthday! and thank you for your wonderful review.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently held our annual company meeting at the hotel and could not fault it. A beautiful hotel in a stunning setting! The events team were fantastic and every staff member that we came into contact with were polite, courteous, and very helpful. The meeting facilities are perfect, the grounds amazing, and the kitchen garden was a fantastic way to end our first day. We have already made a repeat booking for later in the year and are looking forward to it. Thank you to all at Lainston House who made our business meeting and stay the success that it was. We look forward to seeing you again in December.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear HampshireTraveller09,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent meeting at Lainston. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team and look forward to seeing you again in December!

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We discovered this wonderful hotel last year, on our last day of vacation, and, this year, we wanted to stay more days. All the last year impressions became true. Lainston House it´s a superb hotel with a very professional team led by their general manager Antonio Lopez Bustos. If you are looking for discovering the calm and beauty of England countryside, this hotel it´s one to choose. JAVIERKG

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear J K,
Thank you for taking the time to review your latest visit to Lainston. We are always delighted to see our guest returning and becoming ambassadors of Exclusive Hotels.

I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team, they are indeed the people that make Lainston extra special.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon, perhaps for a wonderful winter break.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here last week due to my boyfriend graduation from southampton the following morning. Was a treat from his parents and what a treat it was. Not somewhere we would typically stay (we usual go for modern or boutique style hotels) but it really opened our eyes to how amazing traditional style hotels can be.

We arrived around 8pm in the evening and were greeted by friendly reception staff who quickly checked us in. We were then meet by a very lovely young man (not sure on name) who took our cases and helped us find our rooms, showed us the basics such as the restaurant and cocktail bar, and also small things like where the light switches were in the rooms.

We stayed in what can only be described as a apartment. It was HUGE, i think it was Pine but not 100%! It felt like a step back in time in a very good way. Massive wooden 4 poster bed, soft seating area, table and chairs for 2, dressing table, bathroom with shower room, bath, and double sink area, i could even go as far saying we had an entrance hall to our room. It was just amazing.

As we had an early start in the morning we order our breakfast to our rooms, it was promptly served at 7am (like requested). Huge selection of choices for breakfast and you can have as much as you like i.e. cooked breakfast, pastries, cereal, hot drinks, juices.

For anyone looking to stay in the Winchester or southampton area (only a short drive away), i would definitely recommend Lainston House!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGL_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear AGL_1992,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lainston House and congratulations to your boyfriend on his Graduation.

I will be delighted to shared your feedback with the team, specially to the concierge, for making your welcome memorable. It sounds like you enjoyed one of our Junior Suites, although, not Pine (it is not one the Four poster bed). The Junior Suites are very special and generous on space, boasting some added touches, like spa baths to rain showers.

Thank you for your endorsement - we look forward to seeing you back.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire,UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My second stay at this lovely hotel, this time I stayed on a Sunday afternoon & evening ready for a meeting in winchester Monday morning. Room was ready on arrival luggage was taken to the room for me so I could relax in the grounds. It's a very popular hotel for afternoon tea which is reasonable priced as is the snack and light bites menu. However, the restaurant is extremely over priced as are the drinks. Rooms are all beautiful decorated and very peaceful with lovely bathrooms. I would recommend this hotel for a special break or as I did look out for deals on secret escapes, mid week stays are usually always on offer and perfectly positioned for Winchester and Southampton,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Pippa00
Thank you for your taking the time to review Lainston Following your recent experience. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy afternoon tea and our Terrace menu - very popular on this fantastic weather. The Avenue Restaurant menu, our fine dining option, demonstrates not only our food ethos and the produce from our kitchen garden, but the skills and passion of the brigade of chefs led by Olly Rouse.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
997 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing