We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lainston House - Fantsatic weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
cyprus
1 review
“Lainston House - Fantsatic weekend break”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Dear Lainston Staff,

My Girlfriend and I travelled to this hotel for a romantic treat after i recently returned from Afghanistan, we were imediatley impressed with the garden, house and heli-pad!

The reception was warm efficient and friendly, no too much fuss which I liked. We were showed to our room given a quick tour and were left speechless, we were very surprised by the size, space within the suite, quite beautiful, elegantly furnished and modern with a hint of old world charm, we loved it especially the bathroom :-)

During the afternoon we had a walk of the immaculate grounds, visited the pigs, herb garden and sundial terrace. On a sunny March day it was a perfect way to work up an appetite, enjoy each others company and get some exercise.

During the evening we dined in the restaurant and were once again impressed with the service, friendliness of staff and decor. The food was prepare to the highest standard and tasted out of this world. Many thanks to chefs and restaurant staff for a fantastic meal.

After dinner we retired to the bar and sampled a simply amazing martini, so good I had several. Once again the staff were impeccable, charming and generous.......

I must thank all the staff for making out stay so memorable. We left the following day with smiles beamig all over our faces.

Many thanks

Jon n Jo
Cyprus 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon-n-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    201
    84
    46
    16
See reviews for
190
572
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

A lovely hotel with a very good restaurant, and excellent staff. Set in beautiful grounds and we had a gorgeous room overlooking the long sweeping gardens. Excellent staff and pleasant service. Winchester is a very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murrayhill
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The experience at this hotel is consistently uneven, with some of the staff completely disconnected from their job and others always seeming to be interrupted by any and all guest needs.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The location is wonderful, secluded in magnificent green heaven, peaceful and quiet. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. Personnel is extremly nice and polite. The only service which was slightly below expectation is the restaurant. The menu is not too varied ( personally I found that pork meat was in almost any dish you could look for), the dishes are good but slighly overpriced, the service is not up to the price: despite the politness of waiters, one is often left unattended (table is not cleared during breakfast when dirty plates are put aside on the table and, perhaps because they are too busy, waiters do not show up for too long). That said we would recommended as a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Beautiful exterior and fantastic traditional english manor house interior with great food. However we were led to a part of the hotel which is more akin (at best) to a travel lodge with the most disapointing room I have ever paid for. Small, cramped and very cold with cheap flat pack furniture and "fawlty towers" feel in the hallways. The last straw was exposed wiring in the bathroom. Be careful when booking, especially if this is a treat for a special occassion as our bedroom left me in tears.I cannot believe that a representative of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" Guide ever saw this room because the hotel would have never made it into its pages if they had. However on complaining to reception we were swiftly moved without any drama to a beautiful suite which was exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachesHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHasler, Cliff Hasler, General Manger at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
Thank you for your recent review and although we did not get off to a great start I am very pleased that we actioned your concerns and redeemed ourselves. Our Traditional Guestrooms are our entry level room and have been recently refurbished with many positive comments. I have noted your preference for a future visit and am glad we had one of our upgraded suites available on this occasion. Health & safety is of key importance to us and your observations of the light covering being detached was replaced minutes after reported. I can also confirm that a full audit of all rooms and public areas was completed with no action required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

First went to Lainston for a champagne tasting evening back in November 2009 and was blown away with the service and atmosphere. Francesco, the barman, is a absolute legend with his stories from Italy and his amazing cocktail making, the martini is a true must!
Returned in Jan 2010 for a birthday and the hotel really excelled itself. As a family we had 3 rooms and all were perfect. If I could recommend a room it would be the Chapel suite.
The staff are all excellent and extremely welcoming and I will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbyachts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

1. We booked our stay through the SLH website. That is when disappointments began
a. The emailed invoice did not have the full address of the hotel – how to programme satnav then? Well, go back to the SLH website.
b. The post code from the web site lead our TomTom to a place 4.5 miles from the hotel. We had to call the reception twice to find it.
c. Check it is only at 3pm (checkout at 11am) – it’s hard to make the most of your weekend this way
2. The building looks ok, except that if you turned off all the lights and broke the windows it would look as if no one lived in it for 200 years – moss on the roof, broken mortar and tiles and discoloured bricks
3. the door bells are actually real proper bells that are so loud they caused my blood pressure to jump every time room service came with food – it is not easy to unwind in such an environment
4. the tv has freeview, no proper satellite – that is hardly a luxury. Moreover, the bathroom has a small tv which has no freeview, just a few terrestrial channels.
5. the coffee set and a kettle are great but annoyingly the closest electrical socket is in the other part of the room. Try finding it out on a Sunday morning after a late Saturday night.
6. the bathroom is large but there is no exhaust fan – how much humidity can those walls take?
7. The bathrobes are great but slippers are not provided
8. There was no mini bar in our room
9. Wireless is free (great) but feels more like a dialup – try booking your next holiday from your hotel room – you will give up
10. try asking the receptionist to give you a local map – you will get hand drawn A5 piece of paper which we found useless (after a 10 minute walk you were ‘outside’ of the map).
11. The walks are the main activity but the paths are poorly marked – the hotel is not trying to sell you exciting things to do (where are horse rides?)
12. The doors are thin – we were woken up at 7am on Sunday morning by a loud family of 4 leaving their room. No signs of ‘be quiet when leaving in the morning’
13. The gym is very rudimentary – heaviest dumb bells are 8kg (the set had heavier ones but these were removed). There are no weight lifting machines, only a treadmill, rowing and step machines.
14. Food – in general tasty BUT
a. Portion sizes were small
b. Drinks were ridiculously expensive (£15 for a ‘holy water’ martini)
c. Deserts were disappointing – both chocolate and a cheese platter
d. A dinner for two (2 aperitifs, 2 glasses of wine, 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 deserts) cost us £200
e. I did not like that we were not presented with a bill after every meal
15. The business centre, or ‘the study’ is a waste of time
a. Try printing a pdf file – you cannot as it is not installed on the desktop PC. The wireless printer is not shared so bringing you laptop will not help
b. Try charging your iphone or bberry – well, you cannot unless you have a coin
16. What we liked: Bed size, room size and a big study desk
17. Overall - not a luxurious hotel and poor value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podroznik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffHasler, Cliff Hasler, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry that we have clearly failed to meet your expectations on this occasion especially as we had upgraded you to one of our finest deluxe rooms. Although I do not agree with some of your points raised I am pleased to confirm that action has already taken place regarding points raised and as a direct result of your constructive feed back.
• Some Satnav’s do have difficulty finding our entrance. Newer models seem to be OK but we now suggest entering “Woodman Lane” to be on the safe side. I will ensure Small Luxury Hotels have this on their details too.
• Tea/coffee has been relocated next to a power point
• I have just signed paperwork for Sky package throughout hotel including movies and sports.
• We have also invested heavily into our IT and can confirm that a new 100mb line will be installed in the next few months.
• The printer in the Study has been re-installed with pdf reader.
• New walking maps are being completed along with cycle routes to use with our mountain and tandem bikes.

I do believe that Lainston offers excellent value for money at a four red star level and continue to focus on making the difference with excellent customer interaction and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,718 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing