We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but falls short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice enough but falls short”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place looks great online, but most of the rooms are in a new wing that is excruciatingly corporate in style. Everything is modern, yet a tad bland. The corridors to the rooms were often full of cleaning gear, making the place seem eternally unkept. Unfortunately for us, there was a large wedding reception at the hotel when we stayed and the staff seemed preoccupied with them pretty much. Whilst they advertise that they have wifi, it did not work in our room and I suspect it would not work in any of the rooms down the end of the modern wing. It did work in the lounge and the garden, but these were swamped with the wedding party and we could not concentrate. In any case, why should we have to sit in the garden at night to use the internet! The hotel has parking, but at GBP10 we think it is a bit steep on top of the room price, and breakfast is much better value over in the town. All up we found the place OK, but not special and Winchester warrants a special place to stay in because it is a fabulous town.

Room Tip: If you want or need wifi check it will actually work in the room you are going to stay in. Also, av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Goldrichie,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you had dificulties with internet access in the newer part of the wing we are in the process of updating our system to provide a better service in this area. I regret to note that you found this part of the Hotel "excrutiatingly corporate" in style, these rooms are indeed favoured by our corporate client base aswell as many other guests. May I recommend on your next visit requesting one of the feature rooms in the main part of the original 16th Century building? They do carry a slight premium in room rate but they be more to your taste? Our car-parking charges are in line with our competitor Hotels in the town centre.

As a Hotel we are a business that has to cater to guests from all walks of life which includes weddings and a large number of this party were also residents in the Hotel and I am sorry to hear that their use of the gardens detracted from your stay.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    622
    189
    70
    28
See reviews for
231
802
58
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for business purely due to its location. Having seen reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. When I arrived and negotiated the car park (bit tight) I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Check-in was not so good the staff were very brief providing little or no information. Didn't check where I'd parked, as if I needed a hand, told about facilities or breakfast. Just sign here and here is your room key.

Walked to my room in the Garden Wing (bit of a walk) and pleasantly surprised by the room. Nice overlooking the garden and good size. All the features you'd want. Had a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was same staff attitude no more information than they absolutely had to give you. The food was okay but didn't excite and was certainly not the best by a long way.

Check out was efficient but again abrupt and I had to ask about car parking etc.

I'd definitely stay here again as the hotel and location are good. I'll survive the staff.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPH_EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear PPH,

Thank your for review, I am sorry to hear that our staff were not as enthused as they should be, our reception have a number of key criteria that they are always required to ask on check in and they are normally very good at dealing with all types of guests and conversing whilst requesting this information and providing relevant information to you on check in. I am again sorry to hear that the breakfast team did not give you further information either albeit I am not entirely clear what you may have been asking?

Thank you for your feedback and we will of course use this to carry out corrective training where appropriate, if you would like to email me at gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk prior to your next visit I will be pleased to meet with you to discuss your observations in more detail?

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent one night here in a room in the modern hotel annexe overlooking the garden.The room was comfortable,clean and quite large. Bedroom doors impossible to close quietly.Breakfast good with lots of choice .Pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear YorkJean,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I attended a wedding here. The staff were friendly and efficient at all times. At both the wedding breakfast and the buffet during the evening party the food was excellent. Everything ran very smoothly which led to an enjoyable, happy occassion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valashby2,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the Wedding and that our staff were friendly and efficient, we pride ourselves on delivering a high level of customer service and in particular our reputation for weddings is earned by our loyal team and the quality and range of food on offer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

After three tries at getting key card to open our room door it opened only to contain another guest!!! Reception didn't even apologise, just told us another receptionist had given us wrong room number. Weird stale biscuits in room. Room miles from reception in 'new wing' that is not like the quaint pictures. Location is really all that this place had. Ground floor rooms overlooked by garden so no privacy unless you close curtains. VERY over priced! Not much better than premier inn. Is very central, so it gets points for being dry and well located.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingohols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Bingohols,

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies for the difficulties experienced during your stay, I have reviewed your comments with the Reception Manager and I regret that an error by one of our trainee receptionists caused this issue, it is most unusual for any of my staff not to apologise if any error has been made.

We supply home made cookies in the upgraded rooms and these are freshly baked daily and are usually commented upon favourably by our guests, the only other biscuits in the room are the wrapped shortbreads with the tea & coffee making facilities so I not entirely clear which you found weird or stale?

I note your comments in respect of the rooms and pricing, we have rooms located nearer to reception had this been requested and our pricing is comparable with similar Hotels in the town centre.

Once again please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and we will of course use your feedback to carry our corrective training where appropriate.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice central location nice modern room although mine needed a net as it was large and overlooked by houses meaning when inside I had to live in a twilight world of false light or shock the neighbours. Free wi fi and nice enough breakfast. I ate dinner twice the cob salad was nice as was the Welsh earring starter stand out was the belly pork. Staff were great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Iantoes,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that you particularly enjoyed the food and that the staff were great.

I will pass your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I held my baby shower at the hotel on Sunday 18th May and couldn't have been happier with the service, food and general event!
I decided to go for afternoon tea for food and it was beautiful. Plenty of sandwiches and cakes provided and the scones were the biggest I had scene and tasted great!
I cannot fault the staff either. From the looks of things they had a big tour group in but were so attentive to us and made sure we were well looked after.
Overall the Winchester Royal made my baby shower very special and I am already planning my next event with them! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Rachael2424,

Thank your for your review and congratulations on your impending arrival! I am delighted that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea, I will pass on your feedback to everyone concerned.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: 21-22 St Peter's Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England (Formerly Winchester Royal Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing