We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay - superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel en-route to the Isle of Wight festival. Staff fantastic and welcoming, bar service good, rooms recently invested, clean and well appointed, with great bathroom. Superb breakfast buffet, open early just after 6.30am which helped our early departure. Really good central location with secure car parking - no hesitation in recommending this Hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeerMonsterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear BeermonsterSteve,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us. I will share your kind comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,686 - 1,692 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having lived in and around Winchester in the past for many years, I've visited this hotel a few years ago and was not impressed. Last week we hired 6 rooms for a few days as I'd been informed that the hotel had improved since the new management. Not so. The reception staff were hassled, short staffed and not particularly efficient. On arrival I was checked into room 180 - the new wing - the room decor was fine but without a fridge and overlooking a car park it was not a good start. The wifi did not cover this far end of the hotel so I asked to be moved - the only room available was a disabled room, which I accepted.
The housekeeping was substandard - toilets nor the bathroom cleaned. On the third day after being out for 8 hours I returned to find a towel and toilet roll outside my door. My room had not been made up. I queried this with reception whose response was an incredulous 'what exactly did I want'. After asking to speak with the duty manager I was informed that the housekeeping staff were not available to make up the room. After a rather drought discussion the manager agreed to make up my room.
However, the real clincher was that I had a rather expensive bottle of wine stolen from my room/reception. Four wine bottles had been delivered by a friend to reception which I has asked to be taken to by room but only 3 arrived. The hotel has denied responsibility and as I had to fly out of the UK it was difficult to chase this up. I'd suggest staying elsewhere. Be warned.

Room Tip: Stay in a newer room close to the main building for better wifi and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal_Winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sal_Winchester

Thank you for your second review, having deleted your original to which I had already responded? I apologise once again for the lapse in housekeeping standards and I am pleased that the Duty Manager was able to attend to this for you.

As far as your wine is concerned we have no way of actually knowing what was delivered, my staff delivered this to the room as requested and having checked our CCTV I am confident that my staff did just that and nothing was taken as you allege.

I do find it strange that guests who are confident in their assertions that something has been stolen from them choose to report it on Trip Advisor rather than go to the police and report it? As previously stated we are happy to assist with any such enquiry should you wish to pursue such a claim directly with us rather than through the medium of Trip Advisor.

Regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a second floor room overlooking the garden. The room was good sized, attractive and comfortable. The only problem was that we wanted to leave the curtains and windows open to enjoy the beautiful garden, but that would probably allow the houses, or flats across the street to see in.
I don't remember having any problem with the wifi, but I may not have used my iPad during our stay.
The breakfasts were excellent, but the staff got a wee bit testy when we wanted to come in a few minutes early.

All in all, we found the Royal to be one of the nicest that we stayed in during our two weeks in the UK.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear MVFollowup,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found us to be one of the nicest Hotels you visited during your two weeks in the UK.

I am pleased to hear that you found the breakfasts to be excellent and I can only apologise if any of our staff appeared "testy" with your requirement for an early breakfast and I will ensure that this is reviewed by the Food & Beverage team.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay here, our room was very nice and clean with an enormous bed which was very comfortable. We sat and had a pre dinner drink in the garden which is very nice as the weather was lovely, then we went and had dinner which was very good indeed. I have to mention Elliott our waiter who was attentive and very professional.
Breakfast was very good although they had run out of butter which is something that should never happen!
The only real downside to the decor of the Hotel was the lounge area ,it looks like an old peoples home, but apart from that its not bad at all :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelesnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Michelesnails,

Thank you for your review and I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding Elliot which I will pass on to him. I regret to hear that we ran out of butter at breakfast for short while but I believe this was quickly replenished.

I note your comments regarding the decor we believe it is tasteful and in keeping with the style of the Hotel but we fully appreciate that every person has different tastes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have just organised a two day conference at this hotel with most of the delegates staying overnight. The rooms were absolutely fine with lovely decor and were very clean and bright. The room I stayed in overlooked the gorgeous garden, but agree with one of your other reviewers, that a voile or net put up at the window would be preferrable as you are overlooked by people sat in the garden or other rooms. I would like to say a huge thank you to Debbie, Jessie and Lyn on reception who were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help with last minute changes and demands. I would also like to thank Chris, Seb and Jilly who helped with the conference requirements, making sure we were comfortable and replenished with catering needs. Every member of staff I encountered were all friendly and would recommend this hotel and will definitely be using their facilities again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden would be my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Chrissy,

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted to hear that we were able to look after your conference and that it went really well. I will certainly pass your comments on to all the team members mentioned and we look foward to welcoming you back next year.

Best regards

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I'm happy to pay for quality. Paying £150 for a pretty average double room, with no aircon, and a view of a carpark does not make me happy though...! Breakfast for two? £20-£35 extra. Parking? £10 extra. Wifi? Free - but not working properly?!?! The Hotel does have potential, however it is currently operating as a very average 3 star, completely at odds with its pricing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear CR,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you found the pricing for your room to be an issue, our rates are reviewed daily and in line with our competitors in the area. I am not clear if you have booked with us directly or via a third party website? If you would like me to investigate the rate you were paying and the room type booked please feel free to email me on gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk

Breakfast if pre-booked on check in is £10.00 per person and parking charges are also the same and sometimes cheaper than other Hotels in the city centre and those that do actually have onsite car parking all charge.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely hotel with stylish interior and light spacious rooms. Most staff very helpful.
Breakfast was good but not fantastic and at £10 each on top of the room rate I would have expected better. Bedroom could do with some net or voiles even if they can be drawn as required, as some rooms are overlooked and we therefore had to pull main curtains during the day! I would stay here again if a reduced price offer was available as the location is fantastic and we had an overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in the main hotel, if only available in the wing ask if a garden view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Annette P,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel. Our breakfast charges are comparable with a number of of other Hotels in Winchester. I note your comments regarding voiles and we are currently looking into this with our Head Office.

We do have a number of offers that run throughout the year so please keep an eye on our new website for which will launch shortly for further updates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: 21-22 St Peter's Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England (Formerly Winchester Royal Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: £61 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing