We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but expected better for the cost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok, but expected better for the cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business, booked through hotels.com at a discounted £139 for the night.
£10 for parking additional. I'd suggest that the hotel, if they need to charge this, incorporate it in the room rate, as otherwise, it's just another hidden cost. And inconvenience, as I ended up with two invoices for my stay. Breakfast also wasn't included.
Hotel was clean, beautiful, and full of character. Staff very helpful too, and polite, although I had to find someone to serve at the bar at 10pm. Maybe short staffed.
Really good location in the city. I enjoyed my stay, but expected just a little more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear GavinD,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry for the inconvenience with the invoice, we do not add in parking as part of the rate as not all our clients choose to travel to us by car and some also choose to park their cars in the local public car parks.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean, beautiful and full of character and that our staff were helpful, I note that you expected better for the cost and we will of course take your comments on board; we do offer many seasonal pricing variations and operate a competitive pricing policy in line with our competitors.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    502
    160
    63
    24
See reviews for
185
647
51
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We fancied a night away and live fairly locally so thought we would try The Winchester Royal as we had a Travelzoo deal.
The hotel looks very nice, set in beautiful surroundings and our room was surprisingly modern with lovely decor which over-looked the manicured gardens. It is located in the heart of Winchester and has ample car parking at a £10 charge overnight. You can walk to the town shops and cathedral in minutes.
Our deal included dinner. We were seated in a grand room with a few other couples as there was a function in the main dining room. The menu was varied, but somehow left me a bit cold. I chose the seabass with new potatoes and green beans, but felt the measly portion of potatoes was a bit, well, measly. My partner had tuna with noodles which he said was tasty. It was just all quite basic and unexciting although the service was very good.
The room was comfortable, very quiet at night with no noise disturbance.
Our breakfast was nice and we arrived just in time to get our tea/coffee and toast swiftly. Everyone who came in after us had a very long wait and several were complaining. Their 'toast' had barely been shown the grill and looked quite unappealing, but as I said, ours was good.
If you are looking for somewhere in central Winchester then you will have a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CustardV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear CustardV,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt a little bit indifferent towards the Hotel, we always welcome guest feedback particularly at the time and I am sorry you felt the potatoes to be measly, most of our main meals have a small selection of vegetables which are served as part of the actual dish and we have a range of additional side orders available aswell to supplement this albeit at a small extra charge.I am glad that your partner found his meal tasty and the both the service and your room were good. I cannot comment on the hearsay you mention from other guests but I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your own breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future and hopefully we can try and ensure your feeling of indifference on this visit is changed for the better.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Brilliant location for visiting the sites of Winchester. This hotel has lots of character, particularly in the older parts of the building. It has it's own car parking facilities (£10:00 a day), well worth taking advantage of, with parking in Winchester at a premium. The room we had, in the old part of the hotel had recently been refurbished to a high standard. We did not take an evening meal in the hotel, because there are plenty of other options in Winchester, particularly around the Cathedral area. The hotel breakfast is very good, with all the usual options available. The restaurant is very pleasant with a view over the garden. The service is very good. The staff on Reception are very helpful. When visiting Winchester in future, I would definitely stay at this hotel. A word of advise, compare the prices on internet hotel booking sites, with the hotels own website, there are some very good deals available.

Room Tip: First floor, in the old part if the building if you like character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Basle123,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and as many others have found our location is ideal with it just being a short walk from the town centre. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast choice and our newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

After reading dsome of the recent reviews, I was a little sceptical about what we'd find on our visit. However, we were very pleasently surprised. They had obviously taken note of some of the comments especially where food was concerned as both our evening meal and breakfast the following day were outstanding and very good value for money. My wife especially enjoyed the varied buffet style breakfast.The drinks were a little expensive but this is to be expected at most hotels. As otheres have stated, try for a garden view room as it was a delight and very well kept. The negative aspects were that the rooms were very hot and being on the ground floor with no blinds or nets we felt unable to leave the windows open to cool down. The room itself was very well appointed with everything you could possible need. Parking space was at a premium especially as we had a rather large car. There are 2 car park entrances which were down to quite narrow side streets. Ensure you get the barrier code before leaving too.
On the whole, a very nice hote but as stated by others, the rooms need nets or blinds and some sort of aircon / ventilation.

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs garden room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Brian R,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and also that you found the food "outstanding", we have very recently appointed a new Head Chef and I am sure the standard of food will continue to go from strength to strength.

I note your comments in respect of blinds and air-conditioning and this is something I am actively looking into with our Head Office.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Feel sorry for the reviewers who say this is a great hotel. Was given a basement room with broken window catch overlooking car park (security issue), no wifi signal, no extractor working in bathroom. Stuffy.
German coach tour checked in so it was pistols at dawn waiting for the few fried eggs to arrive whilst many in queue.

Room Tip: Avoid basement in new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozone36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Ozone36,

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues in your room and I will ensure these are dealt with, we receive very few issues of this nature given that we have been recently refurbished and we would have gladly attended to this at the time but it would appear that you chose not to mention any of this to us during your stay?

I am not entirely clear why you "feel sorry for our reviewers" who say it is a great Hotel? We value all our guest feedback equally but you seem to suggest your feedback is more pertinent than the vast majority of our reviewers because they have an opposing viewpoint to yourself?

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friendly welcome to the hotel, our standard double had a view of the car park but rooms with a garden view wont be disappointed. Tea menu was very nice, this is a la carte eating dining done with great choices. Wine list was also varied. Location is a very short stroll away from the main town. The breakfast menu could do with a few extra choices, i would have appreciated more choice of egg but fried was the only option. The £10 over night car park fee i find a little steep when i have stayed in other hotel car parks for free. Overall, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphysGirl_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Murphys_Girl1979,

Thank you for you review, I am glad that you were able to enjoy our varied menu choices from afternoon tea to evening meal, I note your comments regarding the breakfast and we do offer a different choice of egg served from the kitchen but I will ensure this is made clearer in future.

As far as the Hotel car-parking, space is at a premium within the city centre and those Hotels that do have available on site car parking all charge and our rates are comparable with our competitors.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to the Winchester Hotel for a girls week end.
We had a lovely stay. The staff are friendly , the breakfast was very good and it was great to sit in the garden after dinner with a Bailys.
Love this old hotel with history to it. Tho we were in the new block, the rooms are a good size.
This was a quiet Hotel, we had our windows open at night and we were not woken up by any noise.
Also it is only a five min walk to the shops ect.
Winchester is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodbod1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear BodBod1234,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you had a lovely weekend at the Hotel and that your were able to make the most of our short distance from the town centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: 21-22 St Peter's Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England (Formerly Winchester Royal Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing