We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location 3-5 mins into the centre of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great location 3-5 mins into the centre of the city.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A really good location in a quiet street, an easy flat walk into the main street. our room was excellent very large double bed, extremely comfortable. The hotel has a really nice fully enclosed garden, ideal for afternoon tea. TIP ask for a garden view room when booking. We had a problem with the dinner on the first evening, you have to order the veg. separately and they are listed on the back of the menu. the first morning there was a problem with the hot plates and the food was not very warm. However both problems were sorted, on the second night dinner was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. the staff were very good and attentive. Would we go back? absolutely, a great value short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorcharlesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Victorcharlesworth,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and I am also pleased to hear that the restaurant team were able to remedy your initial problems.

Thank you for you kind comments which I will share with the team and for recommending us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    620
    189
    70
    28
See reviews for
231
799
58
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the outside the hotel looks a little OTT as it is a green colour, however, when you step inside the hotel it is absolutely beautiful. There are two car parks for the hotel which can be confusing as they are on different streets, the car parks are not big so you may not get a space. There is a charge of £10 per day for the car park. The rooms are a good size a lovely decorated. We were on the ground floor and had a lovely view of the gardens. Unfortunately the room was very warm which made for an unpleasant nights sleep. There is free wifi in the hotel, you ask for the codes at reception. However, we had a great of trouble with the connection and eventually gave up using it. The staff within the hotel are pleasant but not extremely hospitable.

Room Tip: Ground floor is nice and being a back room gives you a lovely view of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicmadness2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MusicMadness,

I am pleased to hear that you found the Hotel beautiful and our staff pleasant, the wi-fi is shortly to be upgraded which will improve signal throughout the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The best part of this hotel is the garden - it is really lovely, however we were allocated a room overlooking the carpark - not so lovely!
The room itself was fine - bright, clean and importantly, a comfortable bed. No air conditioning so it was difficult at night to keep cool with the curtains closed.
Breakfast is adequate - nothing more. It was near on impossible to get a hot water with a few lemon slices at breakfast but on the third attempt I had success. Only fried eggs were available with usual sides. Service was impersonal and hurried.
It is one of those hotels that you are pleased you didn't pay too much for and only staying one night. Nothing awful about the place, but nothing that thrilling.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Lotte75,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you felt let down by the rooms although fully refurbished the rooms do not currently have air-con but there are plans to have these installed.

I am disappointed regarding your breakfast and that you felt hurried and were also left waiting for lemons, I will review your comments with the breakfast team.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel with another couple on Sat 12th July. Beautiful hotel with lovely gardens. We arrived at the hotel 15mins earlier than the check in time of 2pm to find that neither of our rooms were ready, which wasn't the end of the world, as it was such a nice day we sat outside admiring the beautiful gardens. At 2.15pm I went back to reception to find one of our rooms ready. We left our luggage in the one room which was in the new part of the hotel. The rooms were large, spotlessly clean (well done to the housekeepers) and well equipped with flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, iron with ironing board, hairdryer etc. After walking around this fabulous city we returned at 7pm and checked into our own room which was just as wonderful. We had a 2 course meal in the restaurant as part of our Travelzoo package, lots of choice and cooked perfectly, the 4 of us all enjoyed our food which arrived piping hot and very, very tasty. We all agreed the next morning how large and comfortable our beds were. Breakfast was tasy with plenty of choice, 3 of us enjoyed a full cooked breakfast. We did enjoy our stay at the hotel and would return, unfortunately the lack of staff let the hotel down, the staff they have could more friendly and helpful. Also agree with other reviewers that their bar definitely needs some attention, there was a pump for Guiness but they only have cans! also a minimal choice of spirits. Forgot to say earlier the hotel is in a fantastic location right in the City centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the gardens which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carollovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Carollovesstravel,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, your constructive comments have been noted and some changes and improvements have already been made, (The Guiness is a surge can pump, which creates the effect of a poured pint from their specially adapted cans).

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakford, devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a one night stay 12th/13th July in a room in the new part of the hotel, and were sadly disappointed with the standard overall.
My husband wasn't able to gain access to our room until after 4pm, and when I arrived at around 7pm he asked me to get a fan from reception as there was no air con in the room. Apparently the hotel doesn't have fans! which I found unbelievable. There was no info file in the room that I could find, only a copied letter saying that the hotel had gone under a lot of recent refurbishment. obviously this didn't include installing air con.!!
This is not a bargain priced hotel by any means, and for the price we paid £130+ for one room, I would certainly NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear JuliaBlueHayes,

Thank you for your review and I offer my apologies for any inconvenience caused through a lack of air-conditioning, there are plans by the new owners to install air-conditioing in the bedrooms, some rooms are more affected by warm weather than others and we do have a number of fans available but these were all in use. We have also recently purchased new bedroom folders and a bespoke design will be in the rooms withing the very near future. I am not sure what the delay was with you gaining access to your room and the Duty Manager would usually be called upon to investigate this for you if they are not ready for check-in time?

We offer a flexible pricing policy and our advanced purchase rates are very good value, we also flex our rates in line with seasonal demand and as you can appreciate mid-July is a peak time for Winchester.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Feel let down and completely disappointed by our and other guests experiences of what could potentially be an amazing hotel. The original part of the property is a beautiful building which has been pleasantly decorated. We stayed in a small suite which was tastefully decorated with a very large comfortable bed, antique furniture and separate sitting area. The room was beautifully clean ( congratulations to the housekeeping department- you guys are pulling your weight). However... our experience of the rest of the staff, organisation and management was disastrous from check -in to check- out. The receptionist at check-in was completely indifferent. No attempt to "greet" us was made, we were simply asked our name and told a room number. We had to ask for directions to our room and weren't given any information re parking/ dining options/ arrangements / whether we'd like a paper/ wake-up call etc. Slightly baffled we decided to head down to the "24-7" residents bar for a pre-dinner drink. Given the temperature (27 degrees C) we thought a Pimms in the attractive garden would be nice start to the evening. The one young man serving in the bar declared that he had no fruit prepared and it would therefore be a long time. as there were several other guests queuing we opted for a lager instead. once seated outside we were appalled to find out that the foreign visitors at the next table had waited 45 minutes for a glass of white wine and a lager. We did our best to reassure them this was not a reflection on the general state of the UK's hospitality industry. After a lovely meal at a local restaurant we returned to the hotel at 10:30pm hoping to enjoy a post dinner drink on the terrace. The "24-7" residents bar was locked and the lights were out. After witnessing another guest being told the the bar was now closed we resorted to taking sneaking the half bottle of wine we'd brought with us and the bathroom glasses outside. There were five other tables of similarly disappointed guests out there. the only visible member of staff at this time was the night porter/ security guard who by 11pm was locking up and making it quite clear it was time we all went to bed. We were greeted for the self service breakfast by the jolliest member of staff we had yet encountered. Unfortunately our table for two had only one cup/ set of cutlery and we had to ask for butter to go with the toast ( which was too thick to fit in the toast racks provided). The other staff working in the room were noisily clearing up. I'm not sure my other half managed to put his cutlery down before his plate was snatched away without even being asked if he'd finished. Having joined the queue at reception waiting to check out we were not surprised to the other customers as dismayed as us. When one of the guests explained that it wasn't the receptionists fault but having only one member of staff on at such a busy time was unacceptable the receptionist wholeheartedly agreed. I am saddened and dismayed that given the huge potential of such a lovely building the owners/ management are scrimping on both staffing levels and experience to such an extent that none of the other guests I spoke to would recommend what could be a hugely successful enterprise. They are significantly understaffed and the staff they do have are disinterested, inexperienced or disaffected to the point that it is doing their business serious harm. Wake up guys!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old part of the building, otherwise you might as well be in a travellodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear DebraB,

Thank you for review, I am of course very disappointed to receive your comments in respect of the service received during your stay at the weekend and please accept my sincere apologies. I will be taking corrective action with the indiviudal team members who failed to maintain our normal level of standards of service particularly on check in and check out. I am aware that the Food and Beverage team were a couple of team members down due to sickness at some key service times during the weekend and as the Hotel was extremely busy this did put extra pressure on those members of staff who were left. It is certainly not an intention or our policy to "scrimp" on staffing levels.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the room standards and your welcome at breakfast.
We value all our guest feedback and I will be using your comments to ensure re-training is carried out in the areas where we failed to deliver. I am sure you will see from our percentage rating and number of positive reviews on here that we do endeavour to try and exceed our guest expectations and in the main we usually do.

Once again please accept my apologies and if you are planning to visit the area again I would ask that you allow me the opportunity to try and restore your faith in The Winchester Royal and to that end please feel free to email me on gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk prior to any next visit.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel has been very tastefully modernised. There is a large reception hallway leading to most of the public rooms and reception. The check in process was simple and staff were friendly. Had slight trouble finding my room, but once directed by a helpful member of staff, I was very pleasantly surprised by the standard of room. The huge bed was exceptionally comfortable, a great sized TV mounted on the wall, and full width windows creating a real light and airy feel. My only complaint is that you have to pay £10 for overnight parking, so be aware of this, but with two car parks, there is plenty of space.

Didn't use the bar or evening restaurant, but breakfast was adequate as long as you pre book. Wouldn't be worth £16 if you choose to have on the day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear RichardC,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that we were a "wonderful find" for you and that a member of our team was able to assist you when you lost your way to the room.

I am glad that everything was to your liking and I note your comments regarding parking and our policy on this is already well documented on here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: 21-22 St Peter's Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England (Formerly Winchester Royal Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing