We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for a College reunion.....mobility issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I have poor mobility. The staff at the Wessex could not have been more helpful; from portering my luggage to sorting out the carpark, everything was done with a cheerful efficiency. Nothing was too much trouble. If you have similiar issues, book with confidence!

Room Tip: No walk-in showers or wet-rooms yet (perhaps after the next refurbishment?), but the grab rails arou...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsSmithWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have stayed in Winchester before but not at this hotel. We will never stay anywhere else now. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and were very friendly. We arrived during Winchester Festival and all the roads were blocked off etc. I rang the hotel reception and said 'help' as we just couldn't get to the hotel, I was given some directions and we arrived with no problems. The hotel has a small car-park but we had no problems parking. The room was lovely, clean and had a fantastic view of the Cathedral. We did pay £10 for that - but so what!! The hotel is very central to everything. We didn't have breakfast there, principally because the weather was so lovely we wanted to find a nice cafe and eat outside which we did. To be fair, we cannot comment on the bar etc as there are so many places to go to in Winchester. Would I recommend it to my best friends - yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The building is SO ugly. Probably why I never stayed there & worried even before arriving. Smooth late check in. Thanks Jordan! Clean room, good relatively quiet aircon. Clean.... comfy bed. kettle/ 2 bots free cold water. Bathroom small. Yeah not bad. GREAT location next to Winchester Cathedral. Secure parking .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear ho_sik, Thanks very much for your review. Appearances really can be deceiving. We know we may not be the prettiest Hotel from the outside but inside we really do make up for it and I am delighted that we had the opportunity of proving this to you. I have passed on your comments to Jordan along with my thanks for making you feel welcome. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

10 friends staying for a 50th birthday celebration in 5 twin rooms. The rooms were fine and the staff were fantastic. So friendly and helpful. Luca the maitre d' even arranged buck's fizz when he realised we were celebrating our friend jackie's birthday and couldn't have been more attentive at breakfast times. Excellent serivce.
A great place for a weekend break in Winchester.

Room Tip: public car park opposite good value at weekends
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear gwesty, Thanks for your splendid review. I am delighted that the team at The Wessex contributed to the success and enjoyment of your celebrations. They are always seeking to deliver excellent service,offering that little bit extra to surprise and delightand I am thrilled that this was the case.I will pass on your comments to them. I look forward to welcoming you all back for future celebrations. Kind Regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, but were wedding guests. We were very impressed with the really helpful bar and waiting staff, they were very patient and were happy to go out of their way to keep everyone happy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear gemandjim, Thank you very much for sharing your views. It is really fantastic for the team to receive such great feedback from Wedding Guests who recognise and appreciate their hard work and commitment to offering great service . I will enjoy thanking everyone of them. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Every hotel should have a receptionist like the one on duty when we arrived. ("24/06/11)
She sorted out our booking problems - not their fault.
The whole stay was exceptionally good.
Definately going back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dilizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear dilizz, Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am delighted that your stay was exceptional. I have passed on your comments to Jo from Reception who really appreciates the recognition. She has set the benchmark for the rest of her team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on your next visit. Yours sincerely, William McWilliam,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

A real home from home with friendly management and staff that go the extra mile to welcome you. Rooms are well equiped and clean. Perfect central location in Winchester.

Room Tip: The catherdral side have excellent views
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotels_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Hotels_Steve,Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted that we are a home from home and that we go the extra mile to exceed guest expectations.I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,796 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £69 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing