We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 6 August 2011

City centre location ideal. We stayed in an executive room with cathedral view. Good quality room but faulty air conditioning made sleeping difficult the first night. We had 3 dinners at the hotel. Standard of food was of a consistently high quality. Bar service was also excellent. Service from all levels of staff was good/very good. Car parking needs better management with guests given priority. It is unacceptable for longer stays for parking not to be guaranteed.

Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Michael Bailey

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Mike Humber,I am delighted that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of service and food you experienced, which I have shared the team. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soom. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,443 reviews

An Accor traveller
London
11
Reviewed 6 August 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Efficient friendly service (although the parking attendant was having an "off" day when we visited) and well-appointed, comfortable rooms.

The parking right in the centre of Winchester behind the Cathedral is ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_from_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Mike_ from _Wirral, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you experienced our friendly and professional team and well appointed and comfortable rooms. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for one night - not that impressed.
Service/ hotel/ food room was all stunningly average. Very hard to believe that its four stars.
Pluses - its very convenient for the centre of Winchester.
Negatives - its a refurbished 1960s hotel with quite small rooms. We were upgraded and even the upgraded room was quite small for two people.
Very disinterested staff, (only exception was the dining room staff who were excellent).
Expensive for what it is.

We'd stay there again if we had to - but there must be somewhere better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyberce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear cyberce, Thankyou for posting your thoughts. Recent reviews have been most positive, indicating that we are the first choice hotel of many of our guests. I am sorry that in this instance this is not the case. I have passed on your comments to the team to highlight the importance of maintaining excellent service at all times. Kind regards, William McWilliam General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip, and had chosen the hotel because it was located right in the heart of the city of Winchester. On arrival, the receptionist was charming and helpful, and the rooms were well thought out, modern and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath and overhead shower, with lots of hot water too. Despite recommendations from the manager, we did not have supper in the hotel, but the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious, with everything there that you could want. Unfortunately, some people sat down near us and had their first meeting of the day over breakfast, which was noisy and unnecessary (that's what meeting rooms are for). There is a wide selection of food on offer for breakfast, including hot and cold meats, eggs, cheeses, fruit, juices, yogurts, bread, toast and tea or coffee. The other great thing about the hotel is its location, next to the ancient Abbey and the city centre, which meant everything was within walking distance. The hotel is definitely aimed at business people (although wifi was not free) and prices in the bar are high (£35 for 5 double whiskies), but its location, location, location, the professional welcome at reception and the trusted 'Mercure' brand that make this hotel a treat to stay in.

Room Tip: I paid £61 for a room (bkfst not included) by booking a month ahead, and when we arrived the hotel w...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Steviecee,Thank you very much for your very kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed our professional hospitality. We are proud that The Wessex represents all the good things about a trusted brand such as Mercure and hope that we will have the opportunity of "treating" you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We paid the extra to stay in the executive room here but were very disappointed. The extra large bed was simply two single beds pushed together. This was very uncomfortable because the one mattress was ever so slightly lower than the other and was noticable when in the bed, as was the ridged edge of each mattress. The nice dressing gowns - used as a selling point on the hotel website - were not soft and fluffy but crisp and would have been more like exfoliating gowns had we been brave enough to wear them! Our Shower screen leaked so our bathroom floor was soaking wet after a short shower and our bathroom was not as clean as I would expect for a room labelled 'executive'. On the whole, a disappointing experience in a tired, shabby room in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxonGardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear OxonGardengirl, Thank you very much for your feedback. I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with your room. Would you be kind enough to let me know which room you stayed in so that can investigate your comments with the housekeeping and maintenance teams who can then address the issues you highlighted. The email address is h6619@accor.com.Kind regards William McWilliam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Ideal location next to the cathedral gave a rich flavour to our stay and so convenient for everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Jef_10,I am relly pleased you had a brilliant visit to Winchester. Thanks for choosing to stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex. We truly are blessed with a great location for investigating the local area. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,796 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £69 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing