We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The minute you walk in you will be greeted with a smile and efficiency all around.we stayed over the week end and we found this hotel to be of an excellent standard.we had dinner and the food was great,the service in the bar and restaurant was second to none.after a good night sleep we went in for breakfast and again we were welcomed by the manager on duty,he was excellent.he explained to us the how everything works .the service again excellent he had everything under control.during our short visit he was around and his presence was everywhere.Our room was great and every member of the staff we came across was very efficient. can't wait to come back.thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surprisetodelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear surprise to delight,Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated. My team will be delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Winchester Wessex Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    512
    350
    149
    74
See reviews for
190
630
79
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

On arrival the hotel does seem to be tucked away ..
However we did arrive early as the web site did state a small car park and were met by a charming car park attendent. Who told us that we were infact behind the main street
with its many interesting shops, restruants and old buildings and alongside the cathedral.
Our checkin was quick and although we were early we were able to go to our room directly.
We asked for a room with a clear view of the cathedral with an room next door for our friends who were delayed. We all received splendid rooms.
The breakfast was very enjoyable.
We were all glad we chose this hotel as it was very good and in an excellant position to enjoy the city.
We will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms we had were reached by stairs if you need a room serviced by a lift they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfwidowKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear golfwidowKent, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our wedding weekend was made a whole more seemless with the aid of this hotel. We had an executive suite which was great but it did lack drawers to put our stuff in (clothes etc.) The staff were helpful and polite and we enjoyed the breakfasts which was great and varied

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphdubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear ralphdubber, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we made youre wedding weekend a whole more seemless through.Thanks alot for acknowledging the helpfulness and politeness of the staff. I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure Winchester soon. Kind regards William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The position of the hotel is unbeatable with lovely views across the cathedral green. Room was large but very dated with wallpaper coming off the wall in places. It was also very dimly lit even with ALL the lights on! A good breakfast. Reception staff friendly. Take a guided tour around the cathedral for an hour, you'll learn a lot. recommend The Bush at Ovington, about quarter of an hour's drive away, for an evening meal and good wine.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear SueY,Thanks very much for posting your thoughts. We are continuing with our programme of redecoration which will attend to the issues with the decor. I pleased that like all of our guests that you found our Reception team to be friendly. Our own restaurant offers excellent value and quality and I hope you will give it a try on your next visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The location is excellent being right next to the cathedral, the breakfast was great and the service much better. We were upgraded on arrival, the room wasn't huge but well decorated, comfortable with a well presented bathroom - all for £80 a night per room inluding breakfast for 2 - amazing value

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear AngelAlace, Thanks for you review acknowledging what good value we can be for such fabulous location. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service it came with. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Winchester soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lestat
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

From the outside did not look like much! however when i entered it was like going through into a veil of bliss, beautiful rooms and what a breakfast!!!! to die for.

I was stranded in Winchester and this haven saved my sanity, Camilla in reception was the most courteous and helpful person I have ever met, staff at breakfast were great and really fed me up, I had continental, Full English and no one complained when I had haddock with poached eggs, No I am not fat, I just fuelled myself up for a 15 hour journey home with no money, lsot credit cards and luggage.

Thank you to all

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda71842003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Linda71842003, Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well and that you had a great breakfast to prepare you for your journey home. I have passed on your comment with my own thanks to Camelia who was as delighted as I to have been recognised for being courteous and helpful. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Location is excellent - right next to the cathedral and very close to the main street and other attractions of Winchester.

First impressions for us were not great - the hotel looked like a box, ugly exterior and just not that appealing.

Inside though, it is quite nice. The staff were welcoming and efficient and our room was adequate. We requested a family room and got a double bed and sofa bed. We folded the sofa bed back up to make a little more space. We had a view of the cathedral which was nice.

The bed was comfortable, there were tea and coffee making facilities but no mini-bar or fridge. The temperature in the room was also unbearably hot. We kept the window open all night, but still felt uncomfortably warm. The decor is a little chinzy and a bit dated. Some of the furniture is also a bit bashed and chipped round the edges, but everything was very clean. The bathroom and overbath shower were also a little old fashioned, but they were clean and everything functioned.

We booked parking in advance - I think you would need to do this, as there are only a limited number of spaces, and parking in Winchester would seem to be quite difficult.

We did not have breakfast included in our rate - it was expensive, so we decided to not bother. We walked the short distance to the M&S food store nearby and bought croissants, fresh fruit and pain au chocolate and brought it back to our room.

There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity - mainly chains though, which I thought was a bit disappointing for Winchester, but there is a choice of cuisine.

Be sure to visit the cathedral - fascinating and full of historical interest. The Great Hall is also worth a trip.

We loved the location of this hotel, but would probably look for somewhere different if we were to stay in Winchester again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Property: Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing