We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but terrible parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, but terrible parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Not a bad place, our room had been recently refurbished. Had requested a cathedral view but despite checking in at 11am none was available. Lighting in the rooms is terrible,- too low and moody, not great for putting on makeup.
The bath in our room would have taken about 4 hours to fill, but shower was ok.
there was a wedding going on the night we stayed - meant parking at even more of a premium and had to walk through a crowd of rather rough types smoking and drinking to get into the hotel.
But for £105 it was value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwaitoreturnsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear cantwaitto returnsouth, Thanks for posting your thoughts. I appreciate you taking the time to share them . I hope we will see you again soon, Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    519
    356
    150
    74
See reviews for
191
638
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for one night and could not fault it - excellent location, comfortable, modern and clean! Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.
Room overlooked cathedral, and we didn't have any problems with noise like some other reviews - slept very well indeed.
Staff were very friendly (the night guard in particular), only downside was the large queue at checkout in the morning.

All in all a nice hotel which provides good value for money :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyflower121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear poppyflower121, Thanks so much for your kind comments. Glad you had a nice stay. Sorry about the queue in the morning, Its one down side of being so popular. On the occasion of your next stay why not take advantage of our express checkout and avoid having to wait in the queue. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

all i can say is its the second time we have been to this hotel and yet again have had excellent service!the staff are very freindly and it has a great location to winchester high street for shops and restaurants there was a wedding reception there on the saturday but was informed buy a letter let in our room when i was cleaned in the morning ,the breakfast was excellent as it was the time before and the service from the waiting staff was great ,we left talking about going back a third time as we left ,warren salisbury

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Warren b, Really pleased that you are already thinking of coming to stay for a third time. I am sure that when you do you will once again experience the excellent service from the friendly team that you have grown accustomed too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I took my daughter to Winchester for the weekend to visit our Son who is currently there at University. Our first impressions of the hotel was that it was very dated, however we could not fault the location, other reviews have mentioned that having a room on the road side is very noisey, unfortunately we were on the Catherdral side and between the hours of 1am and 4am we were woken on several ocaasions! I would expect however that if you stay during the week this is not a problem.I did ask the girl on reception if the hotel had any plans to add double glazing to help with the noise but I just got a shrugged shoulders and felt that I was'nt really being listened too. i would stay at the hotel again but I would be taking earplugs especially if it was in the summertime because you certainly would'nt want to have the windows open.

Room Tip: Do not take room 139 if it is allocated to you on a weekend this was a corner room right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Oldjude,Thanks for taking the time to post a review, I am sorry that you were disturbed by revellers during the night particularly as this has has not been an issue of late. I sure that this will not be the case on your next visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel is a little ugly and 60's/70's functional style but could not be better located in the center of Winchester.Parking £8 per night and spaces at a premium..
We stayed Friday & Saturday as a party of four on a 'bed,breakfast,& dinner' rate.
We had booked two 'Executive rooms' (dreadful description!) and asked for a quiet location - they were at the end of the second floor corridor overlooking the Cathedral.While we were very happy with the location I would not have been if they had been on the other side of the building (view of the rear of shops). As other reviewers have pointed out many other rooms are poorly located or noisy..
The rooms were very clean,confortable and well designed. The bed was extremely confortable (other hotels please note how important this is!).One bathroom had a broken light over the shower and a very badly leaking shower screen (why do hotels not tackle these 'little' nuisances?)
The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially on Reception).
We had two very enjoyable evening meals with well presented good quality food with good service.
Breakfast was included in our package and was the usual chain hotel fare with bacon,sausages,etc cooked some while before. If not included it is overpriced @£15 - there are many other better value/quality locations a few minutes away.
Overall 'very good' because of location of the hotel and rooms,the friendly and helpful staff,and the good evening meals.We would return but only if we could be certain of the room location (on Cathedral side).

Room Tip: Only book if your room is located on the Cathedral side - not so much for the view (which is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear BOBOK777, Thanks for your kind words about your recent stay. Im delighted to had a conmfortable and pleasant stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I have passed your comments regarding your enjoyable well cooked meals to the kitchen and restaurant team. I hope we will have the opportunity of seeing you again soon when you are in the area. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in order to provide a base for our granddaughter's Graduation Ceremony in Winchester Cathedral. The choice was a good one. The hotel was adjacent to the Cathedral, yet I was not aware of any noise from bells. My wife and I and our granddaughter and her parents had an excellent lunch in the hotel restaurant before the ceremony, and an excellent afternoon tea in the lounge after the ceremony. We had plenty of time for conversation in comfortable conditions. The hotel contributed to making the occasion pleasant and memorable. Staff were particularly polite and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear George S, Thank you so much for your really kind comments. They are much appreciated by all of us here at Mercure Winchester. I am delighted that you chose to celebrate graduation with us and that we contributed in making the occasion so memorably special. Thanks once again. Hope to see you soon, Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel before and is quiet an acceptable hotel mainly due to the good location with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Prices vary dependent on time of year or if anything is happening in the local area, which limits the times i stay. Breakfast is buffet style and i don't feel is worth £15.50, whilst there is a large variety, the cooked food isn't very hot - for this cost i would expect a freshly cooked meal, piping hot. Also car park costs £8 per night and wifi is only free dependent on what package you have bought, which is very annoying.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Property: Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing