We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Wessex is maintaining its standards well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is probably my third visit here over a number of years. While I don't disagree with other reviewers about the hotel being slightly tired in some respects, the location is excellent and prices reasonable if you can avoid the expensive days. Noise from garbage removal In the morning was heard. but was minimal and lasted only several minutes.

As on other visits I found all staff encountered to be particularly friendly and efficient The housekeeping in the room was faultless, with close attention to details and it was completed early in the day.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Vancouver_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Vancouver_ Blue, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for a third time. I am pleased that you once again found the team to be friendly and and efficient and have passed your comment on to them all. WE are looking forward to welcoming you back on your fourth visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Although this hotel doesn't look aesthetically pleasing from the outside, bit like a seventies shopping centre, don't be put off. Slightly run down inside but overall a cracking hotel in a perfect position. The all of the staff were very friendly and efficient. My wife and I were offered an upgrade, for an extra £10 per night, to a 'room with a view' overlooking the Cathedral and grounds surrounding it, beautiful. The room was clean and very quiet with a cracking, comfortable King size bed. Price for parking is a bit of a pain but it is the centre of Winchester and most of the 24hr parking around it is only slightly cheaper, although I still think this £10 charge should be reduced for guests. Hotel bar also needs to reduce prices, but don't they all! We will definitely return to Winchester and will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear 60Paul, Thanks very much for your very positive feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great stay with us and will definitely return on your next visit to Winchester. Look forward to seeing you when you do. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for one evening on Saturday 22 March. Hotel is in a great location right next door to Winchester Cathedral with a short walk to the shops. We were in Room 226 which was a reasonable size with a good Cathedral view. However the bathroom was very dated with poor water pressure. The shower struggled to build up any water pressure and water was luke warm. Bed was however comfortable and room was quiet. No tea and coffee making facilities. The overall décor of the hotel is somewhat dated and needs a bit of an overhaul. Breakfast is £10 if booked in advance, usual buffet style hotel breakfast with the option of some individually prepared dishes. All staff I came in to contact with were helpful and pleasant. The hotel has limited car parking. We had to park in a nearby public car park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Hugo B, Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with friendly and helpful service from the team. I have passed on your comments regarding the water pressure to the maintenance team for action. For future reference the Tea and Coffee facilities in bedrooms on that floor are in drawer of the mini fridge cupboard. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location in the centre of Winchester. I arrived late and parked in the hotel car park to find this was £10 per night. I didn't see reference to this on the website. For a Sat/Sun stay it would have been cheaper to find alternative parking, but I didn't have time to sort this. The room was nice but the water was not very hot from the shower, so I tried running a bath and this was just warm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear DavidB,Thank you for posting a your thoughts. I apologise if there was a problem with the water temperature. Maintenance are looking into the cause and will take the action neccessary to enure we do not have arepeat of the problem. With regards to the unexpected car parking charge I have checked both the Acccor and Mercure websitesand can confirm that they do make reference to there being a charge. I hope you will choose Mercure Winchester on the occasion of your next visit to the area. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel should make more of an effort as it is in the most gorgeous setting right next to winchester cathedral. The hotel is dated with many areas sparse and a bit thread bare. The rooms are well equipped but a little tired. B&B rate was cheap for a city hotel but the place was vertually empty in a city where other hotels were full!! If Mercure spent some money it would be fantastic. The staff need some customer service training especially the car park attendant who barked his instructions at us. Request a room away from the road as winchester council empty their bins at 6am and WILL wake you up!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Janet H, Thank you for your review which I have shared with the team. We are all disappointed that you did not experience the excellent customer service we are recognised for and will ensure that you do on your next visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is one of those standard, dated British hotels... Tatty, antiquated furniture (and not in a good way), worn chairs, scratched paintwork across the room and doors. From that perspective alone it did not deserve the money it was charging.

What you're paying for here is the location. And the location is outstanding: you have no other choices of large-ish hotels in the centre of Winchester, and given that's where I needed to be this worked out very well.

But the rooms were cold. Very, very cold. And whilst in a quiet area, the sound insulation was minimal so cathedral bells, the occasional car movement, etc, were all heard crystal clear. These two facts combined disturbed what would otherwise be a decent night's sleep.

Breakfast costs only £10 in advance, which was about the only bargain this hotel had going for it (and a pretty decent breakfast it was too - good cereal and full-English selection, though not much continental offerings).

In summary: great location, mediocre hotel. If you need the location (like I did) this will do fine; if you want a modern, comfortable hotel - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear unspecified. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and apologise that you were not as comfortable on this visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A very cold unwelcoming hotel
Very noisy in the mornings with the bins being emptied .
Entire hotel is in need of modernising
£10 per night car park charge which is outrageous
Breakfast £15.50 extra
Very well situated for the cathedral and shops which are more or less on the hots doorstep .
Poor value for money
Choose some where else

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Pagey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Pagey57, I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel to be unwelcoming and in need of modernising . As a building of the 60`s the architecture can be a little bit cold but it does have some retro charm. Fortunately we are a bit more up to date inside. Like many city centre hotels we do charge for car parking and the £10 charge is in line with the other hotels in Winchester that do. For future reference we do offer breakfast inclusive rates that represent very good value. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,812 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
652 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £67 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing