We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wykeham Arms(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Old Vine(Winchester)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The King Alfred(Winchester)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westgate(Winchester)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveller rating
266
588
412
189
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
588
412
189
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral viewprivilege roomhigh streetcar parkingexcellent locationbit datedgood sizeeggs benedictbuffet breakfastcity centrelovely cityfollowing morninglovely roomfull englishbells
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Unfortunately the location and staff are the best things about this hotel. Being so close to the town and cathedral was truly fantastic. The staff were courteous and helpful.

We paid extra for a view of the cathedral, which was brilliant however, this couldn't quite compensate for the slightly grimy bath/shower, the peeling paint in the bathroom, the hand prints and scuff marks on the walls and graying net curtains.A real shame, as the lobby is immaculate.

All in all, I would expect a higher standard from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the cathedral is highly recommended
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear ledonya, I am pleased to hear that you found the location to be excellent and the team to be friendly and helpful. Our planned maintenance programme will be taking care of the issues you highlighted with the room and everything will soon be looking spick and span. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect; right in the middle of town, overlooking the cathedral, perfect location to view all the tourist sites but also to go out at night to the bars and restaurants. The staff were professional yet very friendly - wanting to get to know you as guests and how they could help you in the stay. The lady on arrival was happy to talk through a map with us and point out the key places to go. This was lovely and unexpected, so thank you. The lobby and lounge were well designed and lovely and clean and welcoming.

We did find the price a bit too much for an executive double room. We accept that when a room is twin/double - you expect two singles to be pushed together. It was a shame to have this in a room that was advertised as a double. The room wasn't in the best of shape which was such a contrast to the immaculate lobby and lounge room which were so nice and welcoming on arrival. There was peeling wall paper, not stocked up fully tea/coffee, flush on loo extremely stiff and noisy, dirty marks on the net curtains, hand prints on inside of window. - those small details you don't expect from a Mercure hotel and wouldn't mind about in a cheaper chain. The walls were extremely thin as well. We could hear everything from the next door rooms. Although we were lucky to have fairly quiet neighbours! All these things may seem a little nitpicking but we have stayed at Mercure hotels before and they are a league above this one.

Parking was luckily not a problem for us however it very much could have been, which was a shame. The reason we went for the Mercure was because even though it was more expensive than others the website said there was parking available on site - no reservation needed at £10 a day. (Something a lot of other hotels in the area don't offer). We arrived just after check in opened at 2. And there was only one or two spaces left. The receptionist mentioned how we were lucky to get a space as they aren't always definite after a certain time. We do feel this should be mentioned on the website, as we would have been annoyed if we had no space after we had paid more, by picking this hotel, to assure this.

Room Tip: Get a view of the cathedral as it is gorgeous to wake up to.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear LaurenM, Thank you very much for offering your feedback. I was delighted to hear that the team were professional and very friendly and were helpfull throughout you stay. LIke most hotels where there is demand fo both Twin and Double bedded rooms we install beds that are designed to be zipped together. I have forwarded your comments regarding your bedroom to the relevant departments who will take the neccessary action to rectify the shortfalls you highlighted.
As per the website, we have 40 car park spaces. Unfortunately we are unable to take advance reservations and offer this facility on a first come first served basis. I am pleased that in this instance you were successful. Once again thank you for your feedback. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the fututre. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Wessex Mercure is at the heart of Winchester next to the Cathedral and the plethora of shops, pubs and restaurants. The staff are businesslike but very friendly when you make the effort. The breakfast is not ideal for anyone looking to lose weight as the Buffet is sensational.

Due to its central location and standard of quality it is certainly the only hotel in Winchester I would recommend in Winchester.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear RickE, Thank you very much for your very kind words. I am delighted that you had such a great stay and for letting us know that we are the only hotel in Winchester you would recommend. I hope you will return to us soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews