We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced and dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very overpriced and dated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel. We paid too much for the room. It was very overpriced.
We stayed in a basic room (£248 for 2 nights) so we did not have a view of the cathedral, we looked out onto a row of Biffa bins. If we had paid £60 a night, we would have been happy. The room was so dated and worn out, everything felt very tired. We were told that the hotel charged London prices because of the location. It is right in the centre of town. However, Winchester is a very small town, it is very easy to walk from one side to the other, I would not pay extra for a central location again.

We felt that the service was poor, we felt a bit like second class citizens because we were staying in the cheaper rooms. I have never experienced this in a hotel before. Our mini bar was empty, but this was quite handy as we could keep our food refrigerated. The breakfast was lovely and the man in charge of the car park was very friendly and helpful. Although, again I felt that to add on money for parking when the hotel is already expensive seemed a bit greedy. I have stayed in other Mecure hotels and really loved them, but this one just did not match the quality of the other Mecure hotels that I have stayed in.

I have never left a bad hotel review before, so I am a bit sad. I would not recommend this hotel at all unless you get a very good price.

Room Tip: Only book a room without a view of the Cathedral if you get a very good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Hollymoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation s, please accept my apologies. We are recognised for the quality service we offer and do not discriminate on the grounds of room type booked. I am sorry if you felt that this was the case. Mini fridges are provided for the convenience of our guests and at the present time they are not stocked, however this may change in the future. Room pricing is reflective of the local market and it is possible to obtain some exceptionally good value rates on our website. I would recommend joining the Accor “Le Club” loyalty scheme which offers members points for every stay and gives them access to regular super sales when it is possible to save up to 40% on our advertised rates.
On a positive note I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and found our car park attendant to be so friendly and helpful. Thanks for letting us know.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mercure Winchester Wessex in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    519
    356
    151
    74
See reviews for
191
639
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went for family wedding we had 4 rooms in total all different sizes but we all paid same price.

Rooms were clean, bell got on my nerves breakfast good value for money.

Would stay again as it's local to everything.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tanasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tanasha D, I am pleased to hear that you enjyed your stay at Mercure Winchester and that you would chose to do so again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back when you do. I am however sorry to hear that the Cathedral bell got on your nerves as to many of our guests it adds a little something extra magical to their stay. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location depsite being apprehensive about it on account of some of the negative reviews. In fact, the hotel far surpassed our expectations and we could not fault it in any way.
The staff at reception were exceptionally helpful and efficient- the room was lovely and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good.
However it is the location of this hotel that is the real winner here because it is right beside the cathedral and only steps away from the main street.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would encourage anyone who wants a pleasant and decent hotel in central Winchester to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral- it really is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudgonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear maudegonne, Thank you very much for letting us know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure Winchester. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well and that our location was ideal for exploring this great city. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our room had a fantastic view straight onto the cathedral which was superb. It was very clean and presented well. The free mini bar was excellent and we loved the air con! Breakfast was also brilliant and the selection was huge. I would definitely say that this hotel is value for money - but book a privilege room as they're excellent.

Room Tip: Pick a privilege room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Cat P, Thank you very much for your very kind words. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the view of The Cathedral from your Privilege Room. All of us at Mercure Winchester hope you will return in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the Wessex this weekend for a family gathering in Winchester.
Staff were friendly, room was. clean, breakfast was ok. It just felt a little dated and subsequently we left feeling it was slightly overpriced. Would stay again, on a late rooms rate if possible though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodigrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Foodiegrump. Thank you very much for posting a review and letting us know that you would stay with us again. When you do, please bear in mind that you will never find better rates than those offered on our own website. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Although dated 1960's Brutalist architecture it is lovingly maintained, crisp and clean. Complimentary internet access is fast and reliable. A short walk out the front of the hotel places you in the heart of the town for beautiful walks, shops and market. A special mention to Kate from reception who called to confirm the room configuration (we are a family) and who took care of us all the way through.

Nice job - well done to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Martin G, I am delighted to hear that you had lovely stay with us at Mercure Winchester Wessex, thank you very much for letting us know. We are very fortunate to have such a great location and I am glad that it fulfilled your needs. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi. Mercure appreciate how important fast internet with easy access is to our guests, which is why it is now available in all our hotels. Unlike the majority of hotel groups we are also pleased to offer this facility for free.
Thank you also for your special mention of Kate. She was quite rightly really chuffed to have been recognised for looking after you.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Winchester in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent room with a fantastic view of the cathedral. We chose the hottest day of the year and although a fan was provided, air conditioning would have helped us to sleep a little better. The service was excellent and breakfast one of the best we'd had in years. Restaurant also had a beautiful cathedral view. Location in Central Winchester caused my satnav to lock up while trying to find the hotel but eventually got there okay. Take care with the pedestrian zones in the city. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of a stay in Winchester.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Peter S, Thank you very much for your very positive review following your stay at Mercure Winchester. Your very kind comments are much appreciated by the whole team and the recognition of them doing a job well done is a great motivator to them all. We are all delighted that you would recommend us to anyone looking to stay in Winchester and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Property: Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing